We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best brunch we've had in a long time”
Review of Paris Butter

Paris Butter
Ranked #5 of 2,456 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Paris Butter elegantly combines classic bistro ambiance with refined dining. Chef Nick Honeyman and his team create innovative and interpretive French cuisine, adapted to New Zealand ingredients which are sourced locally.
Restaurant details
Description: Paris Butter elegantly combines classic bistro ambiance with refined dining. Chef Nick Honeyman and his team create innovative and interpretive French cuisine, adapted to New Zealand ingredients which are sourced locally.
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We stopped here on our weekend morning walk and were blown away by the beautifully presented and delicious food. I had the tartin with goats cheese and petite pois and Al had the open croque Monsieur with homemade champagne ham which was bordering on sweet pulled pork. OMG yum. The coffee was also very good and there was great outdoor seating for us and dogs. We'll have to stop here more often.

Thank PonsonbyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at Paris Butter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely review!
The Croque Monsieur is a personal favourite, it's always good to hear it work its magic!
Hopefully we'll be able to see you back in for dinner some night soon as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 182 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017

This place is one of our favourites so we returned last night for a late dinner. We focused on the classics - chicken liver pate, Parmesan soup, beef cheeks and truffle mash, rice pudding. All of the dishes were sublime and Irene and her team took very good care of us.

We tried the 1993 Bandol from Bordeaux - old but still drinking well.

Highly recommend you give it ago but be warned the food is addictive.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at Paris Butter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you Michael, it is always a pleasure to have you!
Consistently delivering to a high standard is very important to us, so it is wonderful to hear that you have had yet another positive experience with us!
We'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The chicken liver parfait was top notch to start with and my main, the coq au vin blanc, was so tasty! Had to have dessert so for the chocolate mousse lovers I would recommend the Café au Chocolat :)
The setting was intimate and relaxing - great customer service from the staff who were attentive, friendly and knowledgeable (especially when I asked where we could buy the delicious French Syrah we had with our meal). Great night out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at Paris Butter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for your review Tania!
It was a pleasure looking after you and your group, it's wonderful to hear you had such a positive experience. If you need any help finding that wine, please don't hesitate to give us a call!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Wow...what a great place...We dined here for an early dinner... The lovely girl who looked after us was amazing

We started dining with Entrees of Salmon and Calamari...Wow...

Then I dined on special of the day...Lamb rack...was the best I have had. My family had Beef Cheeks and Duck Pie...all of the same great standard...

Certainly have the fries...and the cabbage....

We finished with bread and butter pudding. Chocolate mouse and Lemon tart...Fabulous to the last mouthful...The bread and butter pudding had to be a stand out...

Keep up the great work guys...a truly amazing restaurant....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at Paris Butter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you Jayne for your lovely review.
Sounds like every dish was a winner! Hopefully we will see you and your family again some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Daughters both out for the night so a late decision was made to try a new (for us) restaurant. Wanted modern but intimate enough for the two of us. Got exactly what we wanted. Although there is certainly space for groups, we didn't feel like we'd lost the atmosphere we were looking for. Husband (a dedicated vegetarian of 30 years) had the best soup he'd ever had. I (pescatarian) enjoyed the clams but wish I'd had the soup and we both thoroughly enjoyed the bread and truffle butter and the vegetarian ravioli. The interior design is perfect and the staff friendly without being overbearing. Will be back for the soup and to try the fish main :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at Paris Butter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
The soup wins another fan! :)
I'm so happy to hear that you and your husband had such a positive experience with us, especially with your dietary requirements.
We look forward to seeing you both again soon, with or without daughters!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paris Butter also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Paris Butter? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing