We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackson's Restaurant - CLOSED

Jackson's Restaurant
Cuisines: International, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Perth CBD
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

1st time visitor to this icon, and wish I hadn't waited so long. Albeit it was a special 'Gourmet Traveller/Georg Jensen' night, the evening was superb. The welcome was cute, the canapes never stopped slowing along with the bubbly, and we were seated at 'communal' tables. The 4 course meal with matching wines was superb, only surpassed by the outstanding yet unobtrusive service form the 4 waitstaff. The bathrooms were small but delightfully decorated and kept fresh throughout the night (take a leaf from this, other restaurants). I'd be proud to take anyone here and for one that has travelled to many countries, this stacks up with the best of them.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prince_siam2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    39
    11
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a special occasion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Really love Jackson's. It has been around for a long time, but it continues to have great food! Reservations are a must, and it is the perfect place for a birthday or anniversary celebration! A good place to "dress up" for! : )

The "Dego" menu is lovely, but it is quite a lot of food! The last time we were there, we enjoyed the a la carte, which was a bit less filling, but delicious.

If you are ordering dessert, bear in mind that they very kindly provide ample "petit fours" with a coffee / tea order.... so if you are already feeling a bit full, I'd skip the dessert and just order the tea/coffee and enjoy the petit fours!

Bon Appetit!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tamaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Divine food, excellent service, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My family and I go to Jacksons as much as we can. It has been consistently excellent every single time, I've brought visitors from overseas and interstate, including other restaurant owners. The service is outstanding, each waiter is attentive, but not hovering. The food is divine, my favourite is the mash with truffle oil and bacon! Great choice of wines and the cocktails are mixed to perfection. Absolutely faultless!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 123Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trading on past reputation. In a word - Terrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

People rave about Jackson's. I've been there twice. The first time it was ok, but not great. The most recent time it was with another couple. It was terrible. The service was slow. Communication was very poor and even the basics (like spoons for soup!) were seemingly too much to expect. We had the vegetarian dego and they had the omnivore dego. There were very few highlights in either menu, but after only getting 3 of our 7 courses in two hours we started not to care. If people recommend this to interstate and overseas guests then I don't wonder why people laugh at the quality of restaurants in Perth.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c_7889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
137 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Longest dinner ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

It was my birthday and after a lot of research on the internet (we live in Spain) my husband chose this restaurant. We met up with our daughter and son in law for a nice birthday dinner. Lovely fresh linen , nice atmosphere , obviously a good standard of restaurant. We had our starters and then waited--and waited--and waited! Other people actually came in had thier food and left and we were still waiting. Eventually , after we asked where our food was it arrived. Why didn´t they tell us there was a problem , not just leave us sitting , and waiting. We did get free wine , which was a considerable amount as we drank whilst we waited.
Lovely food , high standard restaurant but very poor communication skills.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank maxandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jackson's Restaurant also viewed

 
East Victoria Park, Perth
South Perth, Perth
 
East Victoria Park, Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing