We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Affordable in Perth” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alderney on Hay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alderney on Hay
Ranked #69 of 79 Hotels in Perth
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Affordable in Perth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have stayed a number of times at end of 2011 and early 2012. This is affordable spacious accomodation in Perth. The location is OK with a small supermarket and restaurants nearby. Quiet area one block to buses 15 minutes to trains. The apartments are slightly run down that is not in the best state of repair. Worn out laminex damaged mirrors etc. To be honest I find most accomodation in Perth not up to standard and very very expensive and hard to get. This place offers good value.

Room Tip: Refurbed rooms at ends of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    60
    47
    43
    69
See reviews for
114
22
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I would like to preface this by noting that it is firstly very difficult to find accomodation in Perth and secondly, it's incredibly expensive so to find accomodation for business reasonably priced is something all on it's own. For that the Alderney rates well.
we rented a 2 bedroom apartment for a business trip. the size of the apartments is substantial and the location isn't bad. It also included parking so that was a good plus.
However, the lifts as a start are absolutely disgusting. The carpets are so badly stained and filthy in the lift that even though the apartment was incredibly average, I was thankful *perhaps that's their strategy!*
The room smelt terrible and is so dated it's beyond 70's. The beds are terribly uncomfortable, I think sleeping on the floor would have been more suited. the chairs around the table were a hit and miss as some were broken so badly that when you sat on them, they just fell apart (much to my delight and entertainment, but not so much my collegues!).
The pool is a joke...plunge pool would have been more aptly stated and you need a key and a code to everything - there are rules and restrictions for everything which makes you feel quite uncomfortable. ie: PLACE SIGN ON CAR DASH OR YOUR WHEELS WILL BE CLAMPED or NO MORE THAN THE VISITORS LISTED OR YOU WILL BE CHARGED $50 PER HEAD EXTRA. all of these things are in capital letters and quite abrupt - which is just not pleasant. The people on reception are miserable. and I mean miserable. Smiling was extra I think ...

All in all - i will NEVER stay there again. However, for the price we paid for a 2 bedroom apartment in Perth - if my expectations were set for LOW then I would suggest it. It's cheap accomodation..that's it that's all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acculligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a great option if you are looking for some affordable family accomodation in the centre of Perth. Yes, it's a bit old and needs some updates but location is good and the rooms are quite big. Parking is also a bonus but the reception is closed too early.
Rooms are ok, cleanliness is not as it's best.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same but the lower floor can be a benefit if yiu can't find the onkly trolley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I booked an apartment here because I was travelling for work and was desperate to find accommodation in a terribly overbooked Perth.

The pros:
- the location (East Perth) isn't bad although if you were staying here for extending periods, you'd probably want a car to get around - it's about a 20 minute work to get into the Perth CBD proper
- the apartment was very large and would have plenty of room for families. It had full kitchen and laundry facilities which would be good for people who like self-contained accommodation.
- as opposed to previous reviews, my room didn't smell like smoke at all

The cons:
- the apartments (or at least the one I stayed in) are not new nor are they amazingly clean. I have pretty high standards where cleanliness is involved and I wouldn't have described the room as out and out disgusting but it wasn't super clean either. Things like dirt/dust in the corners in the rooms and slightly stained bedspreads in one of the rooms (the sheets themselves seemed ok) spring to mind.
- the reception closes and is locked at around 7pm and then you're pretty much on your own. After checking in before 7, I later wanted to leave the apartments to have dinner with a friend and had to get another guest to show me where the exit door was as I couldn't get out through the reception entrance.

This place is cheap and I think it's fair to say you get what you pay for. Overall, I wouldn't say the experience was terrible but I certainly wouldn't hurry back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erin1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Awful - the worst place I have ever stayed in - apartment was old, shabby and had stained bed linen. Never again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#65 of 79 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Mantra on Hay
#25 of 79 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#38 of 79 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderney on Hay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Property: Alderney on Hay
Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Perth
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,574 - ₹ 8,874
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing