We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!!”
Review of Alderney on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alderney on Hay
Ranked #50 of 64 Hotels in Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again!!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Dont ever stay here. The staff attitudes are absolutely Disgusting. My father was called a fool to his face. On arrival (after traveling from Sydney since 4am) we were met with some sullen faces, we were asked our car rego number, handed a pile of papers and told to "sign here", all that was verbally highlighted to us was the code to access the carpark, the code to get inside the building and told not to park in a colored or reserved spot. Being exhausted we went to our room and went to sleep. The following morning when we went to go out, our car wheel had been clamped we had to pay 140 dollars to have it removed. The hotel told my father he was an ignorant fool for not reading what he signed where it stated that the pile of papers that were handed to us included a permit that we needed to display on the dash even though we already were given the code to enter the carpark. The whole situation was handled disgustingly. The lower review that says there are signs all through the hotel elevators, and your room is not true. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    66
    49
    43
    70
See reviews for
120
28
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was without a doubt the worst accommodation I have ever stayed, a rating of 1 out of 5 isn't low enough for this place.

Looked like someone had lived in it for a week before I had got there. There was hair in the bed, used soap containers in the bathroom. The whole place smelled like smoke, and the front door had obviously had someone kick it in at some point. There was no shower gel in the bathroom and the bed was destroyed.

I would never stay here again, biggest mistake, and really brought my otherwise excellent Perth experience down a lot lower.

Room Tip: Doubt there's a good room in the entire establishment, avoid at all costs, or better yet sleep o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyPandy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We haven't stayed here for quite some time and wont be staying again. The apartment itself was clean and tidy with all we wanted it was just the getting there that was the problem. We arrived just on 5pm so it was bordering on after hours. 3 groups of people were all trying to get in the back door and nothing worked. When we rung, we were told we had to use a different door which meant dragging our bags down a ramp and round a corner, very inconvient when the boom gate was in the way. The lift was dirty with no air con and with everyone in it by the time we got to the top floor it was hard to breathe. It appears that this place has been taken over by another company who haven't got the same standards as the previous owners. Not going back as when we rang with different requests, it just wasn't happening.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice. I was attracted to its proximity to the city, reasonable room rates, and fair condition of rooms.

The staff were not overly helpful nor cheerful, but I guess this is typical of Perth, as I ahve experienced similar service in other Perth hotels.

Breakfast was served in a adjoining cafe, and the catering staffs were quite friendly and efficient.

This is a cheap hotel near the city, and is ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My family of 5 stayed here for two nights recently. The reception staff completed our check in with the minimum of interaction. We were pleased with the size of the apartment and generally the living areas appeared clean. Unfortuately, when we later opened the toilet door, we noted there was a strong odour. There was also water leaking from the base of the toilet, which we reported. As we were not intending to do more than sleep in the hotel we did not check out, but we would not rebook. The pool provided some entertainment for our children on one morning, but the gym was very light on equipment and what was there did not seem to all be working. Not one we will rush back to.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelledownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Mantra on Hay
#25 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#48 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderney on Hay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Property: Alderney on Hay
Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Perth
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,327 - ₹ 8,590
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing