We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fran from Kalgoorlie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountway Holiday Apartments
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
1 review
“Fran from Kalgoorlie”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Both my mother and I had a comfortable stay at Mountway! The views of the city from the self-catering apartments was awesome! The apartments are not new but very serviceableand comfortable for the price! Bothe Sue and John, the managers, were friendly and extremely accomodating. There were a few minor repairs to be done e.g fixing the blinds and handle on outside window etc. The handyman saw to the jobs immediately! The flats do border the motorway though and earplugs were needed, but thats a small price we paid considering the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    100
    69
    33
    60
See reviews for
73
60
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Came up from the country for an overnight stay on Australia Day not for the fireworks but to attend family gathering.We have stayed in Hotels all over the world so feel we can give a fair comment .The service was great advised us to arrive a little earlier for good parking we arrived at 11.00am the room was ready thats a first hate waiting around in lobbiesalso they gave us one overlooking the river .Well equipped kitchen with decent sized fridge and a modern split system airconditioner thankgoodness as we are going through a heatwave.Yes these apartments are old but clean and thats all you want when your just there to put your head down.Will stay again as it is very central to everything.Dont expect 5 star and you wont be disapointed just a little gem in a spot on location.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a view over river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Mountway Holiday Apartments are situated in an old and not isolated building near very noisy highway. We stayed there 3 nights and we couldn’t sleep few hours.
Main entrance to backyard, elevator and stairs which leads to apartments is without any fence and during the night access to apartments is available to anyone from the street.
I felt very uncomfortable when 2 drunken guys knocked at my door at 2 am... Loud speaking and quarrelling was also in apartment above ours.

I don’t understand that owners can not assure any housekeeper or security during the night to protect their guests.

On the other hand, internet is extremely expensive: 20 AUD/day and very slow. A small shop in reception (which operates from 8 am to 5pm) sells articles without prices. Management of MHA should definitely do something about very low standard of their apartments.

Room Tip: Perhaps in the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank VladoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Thank you for bringing to our attention your 3 night experience at Mountway. Yes it’s an old building and the walls are 8 inches thick concrete which keeps out noise and unwanted visitors if you keep your doors and windows closed. All areas are accessible 24 hours a day which guests generally find convenient. I have to say your comment “I don’t understand why owners don’t employ security to protect there guests” is misplaced. I understand that in some countries some residences are behind “fences” with barbed wire and security guards patrolling.. Some million dollar properties in Mount Street and other areas of Perth and Australia have very sophisticated security set ups. The occupants pay for that. We will not employ a security guard to stand-by as it would create a false impression. We do not have plans to employ law enforcement personnel to “protect guests” as you put it as this would also create a false impression. I understand you felt very uncomfortable when someone from and upper level was knocking on your door on New Years morning. Is there a way to stop people drinking or knocking on the wrong door on New Years morning? Everyone knows as far as I know that if you want ‘security’ you need a 4-5 star Hotel. Security personnel in any property are there to protect property and call the police if there is a need to protect guests from some unpredictable situation. Any offended person anywhere anytime can call police if they really think it necessary. We have 2 caretakers on site. Mountway is heavily booked most of the time due to the very competitive rates and convenient location. You can get a good deal from 5 star hotels at the moment. In October they were asking $500 - $1000 per night. Five Star properties don’t provide the kitchen or shop at reception as we do. Those 5 star hotels don’t want you to buy anything from a shop. Just use the mini bar, room service, and restaurants. On the other hand you get 24 hour security. The internet is only $20 a day if you stay connected for 24 hours. That’s 83 cents an hour. Why not take shorter sessions over a number of days by way of log-in log-out. It’s slow when downloading movies because that’s not what it’s there for. Regarding your statement “MHA should definitely do something about very low standards”, I say this. Everyone’s ability to purchase accommodation is governed by their ability to pay. That’s why you have backpackers where you can share a kitchen, dorm and shower with no security for $30.00 a night. On the other hand you might meet someone nice. Then you have the 5 stars mentioned earlier. But for $200 per night you can take the middle of the road like we do when travelling. Interested persons can look at our latest addition to standards of service, the Perth Mountway Map. Mountway is the only property known to give a localised map to guests. Also check out the video on Mountway. It’s a great way to find out before you book it. Kind regards J & S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We had limited choices due to our last minute decision to have an extended break in WA (we are from Sydney) after spending most of our time in the Margaret River our last night was to be in Perth, the same time that the International yacht racing was on out of Fremantle. This resulted in a high demand for accommodation and with limited availability the larger more well-known chains were demanding a premium which we could not justify. The MHA was a good alternative for us as we wanted to be close to the city and Kings Park (which it was – walking distance to both) and the price was fair under the circumstances. The rooms were basic yet clean & functional with a great view over the city; bed comfortable and the shower was perfect with plentiful high pressure hot water. Yes, it’s on a freeway yet that did not bother us the noise was not noticeable. The unfavourable comments seem a bit unfair based on my experience. If you are on a beer budget don’t expect to drink champagne.

Room Tip: Geth there early to get off street parking. Rooms basic yet functional with good views and close pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael.in.Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The apartment's location is fantastic. It's about a 2min walk (uphill) to Kings Park and probably a 15min walk to CBD. We booked a room for 4 pax, however found it a little crampy. The kitchen's a bit small but well equipped to do your cooking. The key word is budget, So don't expect a 5 star apartment. What's good is that it's clean and location wise, it's hard to get anything better for the price paid.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#50 of 64 in Perth
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons of Perth
#48 of 64 in Perth
355 reviews
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#55 of 64 in Perth
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Property: Mountway Holiday Apartments
Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,231 - ₹ 4,975
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing