We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Ranked #8 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

nice cottage style place but a bit far out town, good staff

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    32
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
19
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Having read the horror stories of hostels in Perth we were not expecting much. However, we spent two nights there and were pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly, the communal areas were clean and the room was good quality. Despite there being a large amount of people staying there noise wasn't a problem.

Although slighlty out of the city centre there is pleanty of decent restaurants and pubs nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bat185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoolibahLodge, Manager at Coolibah Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hi,

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us!

It is currently peak season in Perth therefore we try our best to accommodate all of our guests and we are sorry if you found that annoying, unfortunately due to being licensed we have set rules that we have to abide by because of the liquor act.

Our internet is Global Gossip which fixed prices $15 for 7 days unlimited is a very reasonably price and not very expensive at all for Perth.

We keep mail for every person who lets us know that they are expecting some. If you let us know at reception to keep your mail we would contact you when it arrives.We are sorry about the misunderstanding, but we also do not throw any mail in the trash . All mail is return back to the sender at the end of every week!

Coolibah Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Although the hostel is at the far end of Northbridge it is worth staying here.

We were greeted on arrival by friendly staff who told us where the supermarkets were and about the bar that they have at the hostel, they also ahve happy hours and there is a pool table area where you can drink late in to the night and not disturb any guests.

Our room wasnt ready as we arrived very early so we stayed in the lounge area which is very large with lots of comfy seats and a huge TV, everyone is friendly and it has a lovely atmosphere.

The Kitchen was also a very decent size, they do charge you a $3 deposit to use the crockery which you get back when you hand it in, this is a good idea as you can always find a plate and know it will be clean. They also offer a free breakfast which is great.

The Wifi was very cheap and when we had problems with ours not working one night the receptionist rang global gossip and gave as an extra 24 hours for free.

I rented a double room which was lovely with a fridge, sink and storage space, there is also a nice courtyard, beware this is where alot of smokers go,guests have to leave the area at 10pm so as not to disturb guests and this was adhered to the whole time we were there which was nearly a week.

The hotel was extremely clean and there was always someone cleaning

All the staff were so friendly they even rembered your name and if I hadnt found a permenant place to live in Perth then I would have definately stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Speaking from experience of staying in loads of hostels in Australia it has to be said that Perths offerings are fairly disappointing. However we really enjoyed our stay at coolibah, the Irish girls on reception are incredibly friendly and helpful (the German/European guy less so unfortunately). There is always someone cleaning here even throughout the night so you can be assured that hygiene wise this place is top notch. The double room beds are a bit uncomfortable, but the rooms are reasonably priced. Noise levels are fine and people are made to move to areas away from rooms at 10pm. Overall a good stay, one downside is that the place is licensed so they sell their own booze which is more expensive than bringing your own but I guess that helps them maintain a level of control over people who may go mad drinking copious amounts of goon!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

Had a really good time... The staff were warm friendly and always helpful. For a Hostel the place was really clean you always see someone cleaning. The Tv area was large with comfortable sofa to relax and watch a movie or tv. It has a mixture of long term people and new but everyone talks to you the feeling is like a large home were everyone welcoming.The noise level wasn't so bad considering the had a going away BBQ quiet by 12 on a saturday night.Loved this place I would liked to of stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbabe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 59 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
East Perth
Wickham Retreat Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolibah Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolibah Lodge Backpackers

Property: Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Address: 190-194 Brisbane St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price range (per night): ₹ 924 - ₹ 3,355
Hotel Class:2 star — Coolibah Lodge Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coolibah Lodge is a vibrant, fun, fully licensed hostel. Catering for the young and young at heart, we offer an affordable, clean and comfortable stay in a homely hostel located 5 mins from the heart of Northbridge. Accredited with the Tourism WA and a Finalist in the 2015 & 2016 TNT Golden Backpackers Award , the hostel has a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We cater for those hot balmy summer nights and cool crisp winter evenings with climate control conditions and heated comfort. Free Breakfast! Free WiFi Now Available Limited 2 hours free daily. Paid internet available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Coolibah Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing