We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely way to spend an hour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Gallery of Western Australia

Art Gallery of Western Australia
Ranked #13 of 179 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1895, the Art Gallery of Western Australia has the pre-eminent holdings of Western Australian art, craft and design from 1829 to the present. Our collections and exhibitions offer visitors exciting encounters with the art of Western Australia, traditional and contemporary Australian Indigenous art and the art of the world. Entrance is free, donations are welcome. We’re located in the heart of the Perth Cultural Centre and easily accessible from the Perth Train Station.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend an hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We escaped the heat of Perth in the afternoon with lovely hour and half of browsing the ground-floor galleries in air conditioned bliss. Some really interesting works in a nice spacious environment. Cheap at 'donation for entry' as well.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShandyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    208
    71
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Something for Most People”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Art Gallery is located near the Museum of WA and is easily accessed from Perth Railway station. The building is modern and spacious with a good layout. When I was there the top floor was being set up for a future exhibition so was not accessible but there was more than enough to see on the ground floor and basement areas.I must confess to have not understood some of the paintings at first sight but there are very helpful descriptions alongside each exhibit which helped me get some understanding of what the artist was saying. Clearly art is a very personal enjoyment but I do believe there is something here for most people. Worth a visit or two.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“overpriced cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

cafe service is non existent. Order at counter, Limited choices but some GF and veg. chips come in large portions only. Been many times more than 5, has got worse over past five years. Gallery is OK

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank lorigow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I like nothing more when I have an hour or two to kill when up in Perth than spending them in this gallery. I always see something new, learn something new and feel re-energized by my visits here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“There but for the sake of WA having a gallery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Probably the least impressive of all Australian state capital galleries. I'd happily give it a miss.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tori171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Art Gallery of Western Australia also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Art Gallery of Western Australia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing