We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”

Art Gallery of Western Australia
Ranked #13 of 178 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1895, the Art Gallery of Western Australia has the pre-eminent holdings of Western Australian art, craft and design from 1829 to the present. Our collections and exhibitions offer visitors exciting encounters with the art of Western Australia, traditional and contemporary Australian Indigenous art and the art of the world. Entrance is free, donations are welcome. We’re located in the heart of the Perth Cultural Centre and easily accessible from the Perth Train Station.
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I like nothing more when I have an hour or two to kill when up in Perth than spending them in this gallery. I always see something new, learn something new and feel re-energized by my visits here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    214
    72
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“There but for the sake of WA having a gallery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Probably the least impressive of all Australian state capital galleries. I'd happily give it a miss.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tori171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Art Gallery of WA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I am a frequent visitor to this gallery and love to pop in to see what is new and spend time admiring favourite pieces. Never miss the Year 12 Perspectives. I am in awe of the talent that is displayed each year. The special exhibitions from overseas are also not to be missed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sherry223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radeberg, Germany
Level Contributor
354 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“dont miss out on glass and the 12 exhibition!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

even if the Art Gallery was only partly accessible due to rearrangements for next exhibition, those two mentioned special events are a must from my point of view. You will be surpriesed by the creativity of the artists show in wide open rooms at the first floor!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonny-A-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A small art gallery with a good range of Australian and Eurpoena art works”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

A well presented gallery with a reasonable range of Australian Art - eg McCubbin, Roberts, Lindsay etc and a collection of European art works/

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilK049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Art Gallery of Western Australia also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Art Gallery of Western Australia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing