We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub standard room”
Review of Mantra on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Hay
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sub standard room”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

One wall had filler, another was badly scuffed, the wash basin was cracked, the ceiling light cover was cracked, the hairdrier didn 't work, and there was an outer door which, if inadvertantly closed, meant we and the people in the next room were locked out and had to get staff to open up.
I have emailed all this to the Mantra but have had no reply.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Hi Fiona E

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping/maintenance and our Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager will certainly address this with their staff. I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    434
    205
    78
    57
See reviews for
339
270
49
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Radeberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

even if you like travelling by air, none likes more than 24 hours of travelling time. To me Australia begins at Frankfurt airport entering the QF006. But every minute of enjoyment will be taken of you after crossing Europe, Middle East, India on your way via Singapur to Downunder. You long for stretching, walking and relaxing. What a wonderfull idea it was to do the booking of an appartment at Mantra on Hay. Even at very early hours the receptionist was effective and wellcomed the late coming guest. The Appartment offered everything needed upon arrival. Immediately I felt like homme and went asleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny-A-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Hi Sonny-A-H

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear of your positive experience and that we were able to accommodate you to the point where you felt like being at home.

Sonny it would be a pleassure welcoming you back to Mantra on Hay.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpfull, the room we had we nice and large, Beds were great with one King and one queen, The A/C was a but loud but was very good at keeping to room cold, The windo view was looking our over a car park but that was fine, Great access to the free CAT busses

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deansmith18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Hi deansmith18

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you also for your notes on the air-conditioning, this is something we are looking at upgrading in the near future.

With regards to the CAT service, this really is a great FREE service and being within meters of the hotel provides guests ideal transport to the city centre.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

A/c filter was filthy. A/c so noisy it you could hardly hear tv at full volume, no way could you sleep through the noise and it has been over 30 degrees each day. Cutlery was dirty, dryer did not work, shower walls mouldy, hole in wall and noticeable patching throughout bathroom. Oven took 1hr to warm up, no oven trays in room. Outdoor table and chairs filthy. Tv reception poor, no freeview. Reported all issues to reception, friendly but no remedy to core a/c issue or other less critical issues. Unfortunatley still here for another 2 nights if anyone from management are interested feel free to do something more than just respond to this posting.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbdb2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Hi Jbdb2006

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the delayed response as it was not intentional.

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. We do have a scheduled maintenance programme in place and it was unfortunate that we had not completed your room prior to your arrival.

I have spoken with the respective managers regarding the points made by you, who will ensure action and additional training take place.

Jbdb2006, I hope that we will be able to accommodate you in the future and provide the experience that meets your expectations.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gosford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment after researching and reading many reviews I was pleasantly surprised and happy with our choice. The beds were very comfortable, the apartment was quiet and clean, facilities were very good, swimming pool very inviting and staff were very helpful and friendly, I would definitely stay again and reccommend this establishment to my friends.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms reccommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reduja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Hi Reduja

Thank you for taking the time to express your gratitude with regards to your recent stay with us here at Mantra on Hay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mantra on Murray
#24 of 64 in Perth
1,459 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Mercure Perth
#22 of 64 in Perth
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Hay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Hay

Property: Mantra on Hay
Address: 201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Perth
#25 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,877 - ₹ 12,787
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Hay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, perfect for business and leisure travellers alike. Located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, Mantra on Hay Perth is close to several of the city's major local attractions. Mantra on Hay Perth offers guests Hotel Rooms and 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all stylish and well-appointed with some featuring private balconies. Apartments have fully-equipped kitchens, bathroom and laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Guests will enjoy the on-site leisure facilities including a rooftop swimming pool and gym equipment. Cornerstone Bar & Kitchen is conveniently located onsite and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. If multicultural cuisine and vibrant bar and nightlife are on your wish list, you will also find Perth's burgeoning dining precinct a short stroll away. Mantra on Hay Perth is an ideal base for business and leisure travellers visiting the lively city of Perth. Haig Park, the WACA cricket ground, Gloucester Park, Burswood Casino, the sparkling Swan River and lush Queens Gardens are all within easy reach as are Wellington Square and a host of boutique stores for premier shopping. Ideally located near Perth's CBD and tourist attractions, Mantra on Hay Perth is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break away or convenient base for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Hay Perth
Mantra On Hay Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing