We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy air conditioning and filthy filter. Overall a real disappointment.”
Review of Mantra on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Hay
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy air conditioning and filthy filter. Overall a real disappointment.”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

A/c filter was filthy. A/c so noisy it you could hardly hear tv at full volume, no way could you sleep through the noise and it has been over 30 degrees each day. Cutlery was dirty, dryer did not work, shower walls mouldy, hole in wall and noticeable patching throughout bathroom. Oven took 1hr to warm up, no oven trays in room. Outdoor table and chairs filthy. Tv reception poor, no freeview. Reported all issues to reception, friendly but no remedy to core a/c issue or other less critical issues. Unfortunatley still here for another 2 nights if anyone from management are interested feel free to do something more than just respond to this posting.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbdb2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Hi Jbdb2006

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the delayed response as it was not intentional.

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. We do have a scheduled maintenance programme in place and it was unfortunate that we had not completed your room prior to your arrival.

I have spoken with the respective managers regarding the points made by you, who will ensure action and additional training take place.

Jbdb2006, I hope that we will be able to accommodate you in the future and provide the experience that meets your expectations.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    434
    205
    78
    58
See reviews for
339
271
49
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
gosford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment after researching and reading many reviews I was pleasantly surprised and happy with our choice. The beds were very comfortable, the apartment was quiet and clean, facilities were very good, swimming pool very inviting and staff were very helpful and friendly, I would definitely stay again and reccommend this establishment to my friends.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms reccommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reduja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Hi Reduja

Thank you for taking the time to express your gratitude with regards to your recent stay with us here at Mantra on Hay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This was our first accommodation on a trip around western australia and the most expensive and easily the worst. Staff friendly enough but room dreadful. Oddly tucked away behind a set of other doors that were being painted whilst we were there, it was more like a closet. Watching out for the wet paint the room was small and dark. It had a little window at the end looking over some roofs with just enough room for a bed. Very basic all round including bathroom and all very dingy. Breakfast was poor with not much on offer although they did rustle up an espresso. At the end of the trip stayed at the Seasons of Perth which was far superior all round and just over half the price. Go for Seasons - or Rydges which is good - and avoid the Mantra to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy121066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Andy121066

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. As an older 4.5 star property some of our facilities and fixtures are a few years old, however clean and in good working order, therefore I regret the shortcomings in not meeting your expectations. As mentioned in other responses we are progressing through scheduled maintenance to enhance the overall presentation of our property. I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

very helpful staff here at this well situated apartment hotel, but the room was disappointingly shabby and the kitchen and bathroom needed an update. We would have liked to have been able to open the window in the bedroom and a flyscreen on the balcony door. Also, it's irritating to have the fridge stuffed full with minibar things which I had to remove to put my stuff in. The bathroom light needs a new bulb and the shower is a farce in this day and age. But overall we had a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannybHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
grannybHertfordshire

I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. The apartments are currently scheduled for a refurbishment; this will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and also the guest experience.

I understand your frustrations in regards to the minibar items. This is a brand standard offering and should you return our staff are more than willing to remove these items for your convenience.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 couples and were willing to pay average of $400 a night for a four night stay. We expected better value for what we received. Pat Rafter's Mate's Rates - I don't think so! What a joke.

The room was tired and we were informed by staff that this room had been listed as in need of refurbishment. Burn holes on the kitchen bench, very noisy plumbing in the kitchen with undrinkable rusty water, lack of overhead lighting, poor lighting in the bathroom, a lamp without light globes, dryer would not work unless you propped the door shut and bathroom tiles in need of replacement.

We found the staff to be helpful, courteous and friendly.

On check-out beware of the 2% surchage for payment by means of any credit card.
When we arrived home and checked our account an incorrect amount had been debited to our credit card and after a number of emails this was rectified.

I think we will give any Mantra hotel a big miss in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Hi Sarts

I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. As mentioned in past reviews the apartments are currently scheduled for a refurbishment; this will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and also the guest experience.

On a positive note, it is pleasing to hear that the staff professionalism and general helpfulness was delivered to you during yourt stay.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mantra on Murray
#24 of 64 in Perth
1,458 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Mercure Perth
#23 of 64 in Perth
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Hay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Hay

Property: Mantra on Hay
Address: 201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Perth
#25 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,738 - ₹ 12,895
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Hay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, perfect for business and leisure travellers alike. Located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, Mantra on Hay Perth is close to several of the city's major local attractions. Mantra on Hay Perth offers guests Hotel Rooms and 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all stylish and well-appointed with some featuring private balconies. Apartments have fully-equipped kitchens, bathroom and laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Guests will enjoy the on-site leisure facilities including a rooftop swimming pool and gym equipment. Cornerstone Bar & Kitchen is conveniently located onsite and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. If multicultural cuisine and vibrant bar and nightlife are on your wish list, you will also find Perth's burgeoning dining precinct a short stroll away. Mantra on Hay Perth is an ideal base for business and leisure travellers visiting the lively city of Perth. Haig Park, the WACA cricket ground, Gloucester Park, Burswood Casino, the sparkling Swan River and lush Queens Gardens are all within easy reach as are Wellington Square and a host of boutique stores for premier shopping. Ideally located near Perth's CBD and tourist attractions, Mantra on Hay Perth is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break away or convenient base for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Hay Perth
Mantra On Hay Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing