We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best hostel in perth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #2 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hostel in perth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

It was my first experience in a hostel and it was really good. All the people inside was friendly and i had good time in the backyard. Anthia, the manager was really frendly and helpfull as well and i like also the place that was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    69
    19
    18
    3
See reviews for
5
41
99
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was the first hostel that i stayed in when coming to Oz and it was actually recommend to me by a friend who now lives Perth and i'm so glad that i chose this hostel to stay in. Firstly value for money defiantly!! $33, I've stay in a lot of hostels for roughly the same money and this one is so clean, rooms clean, lockers, bathrooms best that I've used in oz, great common rooms. Secondly the feel of the place chilled, relaxed and very homely also such a great vibe it just makes you wanna get up and enjoy every day!!!! and last but not least the staff again amazing!! makes you feel so welcomed, as helpful as anyone can be to whoever you are and such a great laugh and when the staff are that good it always makes the hostel that much better as well. I've made some amazing new friends since I've stay here and also friends for life!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney_K211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is one of the better hostels I've stayed in anywhere in Australia... and I've stayed in a few! I booked this at the last minute, and was not disappointed. Clean, tidy and with a really good vibe and a great location, can't really ask for more! The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The manager Sky was nice, friendly and helpful and the coffee shop up the road is nice. The hostel offers a range of social events and their BBQ night are well worth it! It's a shame they shut the common room at 10pm, because I was having a great time! But all in all, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unknown
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

You can get to this place taking the airport shuttle bus.

We arrived late, but informed the owners in advance, so no issues there.

There was a curfew, but we were awaken by some people stomping around in the corridor.

Overall, a great experience if not for some inconsiderate guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayellearezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed at the hat for a week in may and i just loved it. The staff were friendly and amazing and the rooms and facilities are the cleanest if any of the previous hostels i've stayed in. On friday night there was a free BBQ with an adventure tours speaker who gave out bottles of wine :) My overall stay was awesome and the atmosphere was brilliant. Definatly a hostel i will be returing to in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 79 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 79 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#4 of 59 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
East Perth
Wickham Retreat Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel

Property: Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel
Address: 148 Palmerston St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,332 - ₹ 3,996
Hotel Class:4 star — Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel is a beautifully restored 4-star, backpacker accommodation and travellers hostel located close to Perth's shopping, dining and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Witch`s Hat Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing