We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very practical and well located!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Ranked #90 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
183 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very practical and well located!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

A clean functioinal serviced apartment set up well for the business person and those needing longer term accommodation. Well located in one of Melbourne's most fashionable suburban precincts. All facilities and transport connections are located nearby.
Furnishings are pleasant but practical and each apartment is well equipped. Garaging is plentiful and easy to access - it does attreact a daily charge.
We were very comfortable...

  • Liked — Clean practical apartment; garaging; location
  • Disliked — Distance between bedroom and bathroom; bus traffic along the small access street -- not big issues that really mitigate my enthusiasm for the property.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Barratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    103
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
76
51
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

We stayed three nights in a two bedroom apartment, Thursday - Saturday nights. The rate was $270 for Thursday, and $280 for the Friday and Saturday nights. Car parking was an extra $12 per night, and is limited. There were four of us, and we had a king size bed in one room, and two singles in another. As other reviewers have stated, it is a very new property, very nice and clean. Heating is in all rooms which was good.

Our apartment was very spacious, with a large bathroom with shower in the main bedroom, and another large bathroom, with shower over bath, washing machine and dryer in another. Lovely lounge area with long modern kitchen, hot plate, oven, dishwasher, microwave and fridge. We had a balcony off of the main bedroom and another in the lounge area -this balcony was on the same side as the car park entrance, and we had a view of the train tracks. There was a bit of noise with the trains, however it wasn't an issue for us once we were asleep, I didn't hear them, I don't think they ran after a certain time at night.

One issue was that there was only one 2 (2 1/2 ?) seat sofa in our lounge area, so that meant that only two people could sit on that and the other two had to sit on the dining room chairs. Also on the Saturday night, there was a bit of noise with people talking outside from another balcony however you get that anywhere.

Staff were efficient and helpful. Would certainly recommend this property and stay here again.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank TCSSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart Tasmania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

I cannot complain about the interior of the room itself. The room was clean, comfortable and warm. However the situation of the room was annoying to say the least. To get to our room we had to take a lift and then walk through the car park open another door and then enter into our room. The car park was freezing cold and could potentially be a risk to women on their own. The room also backed onto the railway which ensured a rather miserable outlook. The trains could be heard inside the room but they were not a problem for a heavy sleeper like myself. The reception staff were pleasant and overall we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — The room was very comfortable
  • Disliked — The situatuion and outlook from our room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank byza2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
127 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

I was supposed to be staying at the Claremont up the road but they sadly had a engineering issue and sent me here. The staff were so very helpful on arrival and made me feel really welcome. I told them a friend was arriving on Monday and could they make a note to have the second bed prepared that morning. Usually when front desk staff enter things like this into their computer it goes to some void. Sure enough though Monday they called to gain access so the house keepers could make the bed. Internet in the room is $20 per 24 hours (Australian hotels are expensive). Parking is $12 overnight. I know the property havea few different room options and they did have wheelchair access if that's important. Loved it and can not wait to stay again. Especially liked the washer dryer in my room and LARGE balcony with table and 4 chairs.

  • Liked — The space and facilities
  • Disliked — $20 internet
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dreamonixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
786 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

I have been staying at the Quest on Chapel for about five years and got to stay in this new Quest property recently when the other Quest was full. It is new and clean but as I was only in a Studio room with no particular view I dont think I would want to stay in that type of room for more than a day or so.

The kitchen in the studio room is very limited and yes if you are on vacation you might be more into sampling the local restaurants than doing any cooking so maybe that isnt an issue - but as a constant business traveller I would find the limited range of utensils etc a bit annoying if I was on any longer term stay. Maybe the other rooms are a bit better. I understand they have quite a configuration of different apartments.

The thing I didnt much like was that the walls seemed to be very thin and I could hear people in the next apartment (which I cant recall happening to me before at other hotels I stay at). I also got woken up several times by people talking whilst walking down the corridor or standing in the lift lobby.

However, I have always found Quest properties to be clean and well set up and never been dis-satisfied with any of my stays at their properties whether in Auckland, Melbourne or Sydney so I would say to any travellers that wanted to stay in a place other than the City then they cant go wrong with a Quest property and if they want clean and new then this is the place.

  • Liked — It was new and clean
  • Disliked — Beds too hard, kitchen too small, no view
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#80 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#44 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#60 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra

Property: Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Address: 27 - 29 Claremont Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Quest SXY South Yarra)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,992 - ₹ 18,644
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amity Apartment Hotels, located in the prestigious South Yarra suburb of Melbourne, is your home away from home. Featuring contemporary yet comfortable furnishings and upscale extras, any length of stay is a pleasure.Close proximity to established suburbs of Toorak, Prahran, Windsor, Richmond, Malvern, St. Kilda, and Melbourne City Centre, Amity Hotel is ideally located for the corporate traveller, leisure guest and tourist or family in transition. Accommodation includes a variety of apartment style rooms from studios to four bedrooms. Each apartment is stylishly designed with a contemporary but functional flair. Secure undercover parking and the on-site swimming pool and gymnasium are among the many amenities offered. You'll be as comfortable as you are impressed by your surroundings.Public transportation is conveniently located just around the corner near Chapel Street and Toorak Road's chic boutique shops. Cafes serving delicious coffee and good food are plentiful when you need a break and refreshment. Amity Apartment Hotels is near Toorak, the best leading private and public schools, major universities as well as Etihad Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Stadium and the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Whatever the reason for being in Melbourne, you will have a lovely home away from home during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Sxy South Yarra Hotel Melbourne
Quest Sxy South Yarra Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing