We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for Girls Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Ranked #94 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location for Girls Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed weekend of 22/10/11 & found the perfect set-up for a girly get together. Had a 3 bedroom apartment which was 1 & 2 bedroom apartments combined. So we had 2 lounge areas & 2 kitchenettes. Clean, tidy & perfectly appointed. Location perfect for restaurants, cafe's & lots of shopping. Nice & close to South Yarra station which is great when coming from the burbs. All in all very impressed & won't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    109
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
80
53
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeanette005
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

This place could have it all, if they had reasonable expectations of there guests, we have traveled all over the world and stayed 5 to 2 star but have never had to leave a $300.00 bond , maybe a credit card imprint but never a bond. So many rules and regulations never felt comfortable for the 3 days we were there. Broke a glass and had a heart attack. Melbourne is such a great place with so many options will definately find another apartment. The guest directory is full of do's and dont's such a shame clean tidy and spacious but the staff were so inexperienced that we gave up in the end.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SXYSOUTHYARRA, Manager at Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear Jeanette,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Quest SXY South Yarra Serviced Apartments.

In response to your issue with the amount held on your credit card, please allow me to explain the process for you.
Upon check-in we require a pre-authorisation of $300 on a valid credit card to cover any extra charges to may incur during your stay (ie phone calls, meals, internet, car parking)
A pre-authorisation gives us authority to charge a guests credit card (up to the amount of $300) if they incur extra charges during their stay – however the $300 does not leave your account.
Your bank holds this amount for 2-5 business days (sometimes longer depending on your bank) and is then automatically released back into your account if no extra charges have arised during your stay.

We at Quest SXY South Yarra pride ourselves on being open & honest with our guests, hence why you were advised of the pre-authorisation amount upon check-in.
This is normal practise in hotels, motels & serviced apartments, however unfortunately not all accommodation providers will notify you of the pre-authorisation and it is not until you check your account do you realise. This is usually communicated as an imprint, which can be very misleading.

We pride ourselves on having high quality, well maintained apartments and apply certain policies and proceedures to uphold these stardards so that all our guests enjoy there stay with us.
We do hope that this explanation has help you better understand the processes and that you do choose to stay with us next time you’re in Melbourne.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
483 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

My friend and I booked a two bedroom two bathroom apartment for two nights. SXY is really well located close to South Yarra Station, so close to transport to the city and the museums and galleries - the purpose of our visit. The building is quite new and the rooms are clean and spacious and of modern design. However while trying to work out the airconditioning we didn't notice that there was a constant hum from one of the bathrooms. When we came back late that night the noise was such that it was hard to sleep as the door to the ensuite was right next to the bed and the exhaust fan could be heard through the closed door. I asked at reception for it to be fixed the next morning but when we came back at 5pm still nothing had been done. The maintenance man had looked at it and confirmed there was a constant noise but had done nothing, saying that he needed an electrician. This was a week day and still he didn't attempt to get it fixed. We wanted to move to another apartment and each one we looked at had the same problem in one of the bathrooms. We finally moved to one where the room configuration placed the bathroom at a distance from the bed. The receptionist was very obliging and helpful but couldn't stop the noise. If you stay there, make sure that the exhaust fan in your bathroom turns off after a short period otherwise you will have a sleepless night. The beds a very comfortable and all kitchen and laundry facilities are there. They charge for the internet however and I believe the parking charge is quite expensive too. Otherwise the SXY Quest is good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at Quest SXY for 2 nights. The staff were welcoming and helpful, and our two-bedroom apartment well-equipped, spacious and clean. The apartment complex is in a great location away from the bustle of Chapel Street/Toorak Road but still within a couple of minutes' walk. Only downside at present is the nearby construction although this is at worst a minor inconvenience when stepping outside, and no noise or dust invade the apartments.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenwren57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

We loved staying in this apartment. It was clean and spacious and in a great neighborhood within walking distance of our friend's apartment, restaurants and shopping. The price was very reasonable. The small kitchen was perfect for breakfast and came well stocked. The washer and dryer were an added plus. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#74 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#33 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#82 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra

Property: Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Address: 27 - 29 Claremont Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Quest SXY South Yarra)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#85 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,616 - ₹ 15,525
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amity Apartment Hotels, located in the prestigious South Yarra suburb of Melbourne, is your home away from home. Featuring contemporary yet comfortable furnishings and upscale extras, any length of stay is a pleasure.Close proximity to established suburbs of Toorak, Prahran, Windsor, Richmond, Malvern, St. Kilda, and Melbourne City Centre, Amity Hotel is ideally located for the corporate traveller, leisure guest and tourist or family in transition. Accommodation includes a variety of apartment style rooms from studios to four bedrooms. Each apartment is stylishly designed with a contemporary but functional flair. Secure undercover parking and the on-site swimming pool and gymnasium are among the many amenities offered. You'll be as comfortable as you are impressed by your surroundings.Public transportation is conveniently located just around the corner near Chapel Street and Toorak Road's chic boutique shops. Cafes serving delicious coffee and good food are plentiful when you need a break and refreshment. Amity Apartment Hotels is near Toorak, the best leading private and public schools, major universities as well as Etihad Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Stadium and the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Whatever the reason for being in Melbourne, you will have a lovely home away from home during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Sxy South Yarra Hotel Melbourne
Quest Sxy South Yarra Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing