We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes eat this!”

Jimmy Grants Emporium
Ranked #77 of 204 Quick Bites in Melbourne
Cuisines: Greek
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

This has to be the best lamb souvlaki I've had in Melbourne (Yarralumla shops in Canberra still takes my Australia wide vote) but gosh darn the lamb is superb. It's the proper stuff - not the sit all day on a rotisserie and turn into a dried old tyre stuff. And the bread is soft fluffy and everything you could ever want. Add some delicious sauce and some hot chips IN (you read that right) IN the souvlaki! Do yourself a favour, avoid the traditional fast food and eat here instead!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Beautiful example of delicious Greek Street Food. Owned by George Columbaris. Can get quite busy & servings are on the smaller side (as it is in Greece). Saganaki soldiers & chips are soooo yummy

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

The souva's are definitely small, there's no doubt about that. And the prices are very expensive to even go a fraction of a size higher.
The selection of fillings are nice and tasty. However, the first time I was pleasantly surprised, the second time, it was average.

The saganaki cheese soldiers are absolutely disgusting. Fried to the point that they were, does not fit the type of cheese it is. Also, incredibly pricey for three pieces with a unpleasant dipping sauce. Skip that entirely if you can!

Their drink options are good (Noah's juice is amazing and I highly recommend those!)

Overall, worth the try and I definitely think one should decide for themselves whether or not they should go back, I won't be rushing to.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We did not like it at all. The meat tastes like its been steamed and has a jelly like texture. A bit of steamed meat and soggy chips, a bit of a rip off for the price. We felt sick towards the end of the
Mr Papadopoulos. Not Greek at all. Makes you wonder what he is doing on MasterChef!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We grabbed a couple of souvlakis whilst in the Emporium and couldn't have been more disappointed, we waited a good 15 mins and paid about $12 each for three bits of meat and two chips on each one. Take your $12 and visit one of the other places to eat there, wont be going back.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Grover1665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy Grants Emporium also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Jimmy Grants Emporium? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing