We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but very over rated!”
Review of Flower Drum

Flower Drum
Ranked #32 of 4,065 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice but very over rated!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We booked well in advance for our 1st wedding anniversary. We were seated next to the waiter's bar service area which provided no privacy with many male waiters buzzing around everywhere like flies around a BBQ. More waiters than patrons!

Walk-in costomers on the evening were provided with more spacious and private tables which wasn't appreciated. While the service was very attentative, it can be over bearing.
Food was different and generally very nice but not worth the money you pay for it.

We feel it survives in it's reputation alone but we will definitely not be rushing back again.

Not even a mention of congratulations for our 1st wedding anniversary demonstrated they are programmed to a set service standard with no individuality or personal recognition.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikes-Wine-Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    215
    143
    46
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Exceeds in Quality, Style and Service”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Went there for lunch with a friend and we loved it.
It's a classy place and your should prepare for something different from your average Chinese around the corner.

What I liked very much is the fact that they managed to tell me that actually my flip flops are not OK in terms of dress code, WITHOUT being arrogant about that.
They immediately invited us with a smile into the restaurant nevertheless.

The service was very formal while being extremely nice and warm at the same time.
It is very rare that restaurants achieve this balance, as too formal places often appear arrogant. Not this one. We felt extremely comfortable all the way through.

Every single dish presented was made to perfection. Having visited several outstanding Chinese restaurants on this trip alone, I can not say that this was the best Chinese food I've ever had, but for sure I can say: It can't get any better than this!

We left happy and satisfied and with about 90 USD for lunch for two, it was not even expensive.

BRAVO!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamen_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Still the best Chinese food we've ever had”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We ate lunch at the Flower Drum last week. We hadn't been there for a year as it's both very special and expensive or booked out, so lunch it was. We had the 4 course lunch and the food was, as always, fantastic. The wait staff outnumbered the customers (we were early lunch). The staff are just sensational, hovering just out of range but ready to help you in every way possible if they see you searching or wanting in any way. It's really just great old fashioned 10/10 service. Tip: If you're thinking of going...book! This was the first time we've ever just showed up and got in. Tip #2: Bring your credit card. I read they lost a chefs hat a few years ago (from 3 down to 2) but to me it's still as good as always. We saw the "top 50 in the world" plaques on the wall dated in the early 2000's and guessed they're off that list now, so if there is a better Chinese restaurant in Australia I'd love to try it. The best dishes in our opinion were the peking duck and the san choy bao (sp), but it was all excellent so still a special occasion fav.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passdeplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We ate here for lunch and have been here on 5 previous occasions.
The atmosphere at lunch is quiet and the service can seem over bearing if not busy.
I agree it is not cheap but we have never found fault with the food - lunch or evening. The recommendations from the wait staff are usually spot on.
Wine is very expensive.
I have read a few poor reviews about FD but as I said - we have never been able to fault it,
Definitely go if you want quality food and fine dining service.
Kaytee

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaytee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old-worldly”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The atmosphere is a little stuffy but the food was quite good. Very attentive waiters... perhaps even a little too attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Jjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flower Drum also viewed

 

Been to Flower Drum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing