We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oaks on Collins
Ranked #124 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location, but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Terrible beds - really terrible. My partner ended up choosing the floor for the two nights we were there. And the showers /bathroom could do with a really good clean. Have stayed in better accommodation for similar price in Melb CBD and would choose elsewhere next time. Same applies to the breakfast in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mskeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    335
    375
    202
    135
See reviews for
104
377
82
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in room 1018

Positives
• Clean
• Self contained apartment with kitchen facilities, fridge, stove, oven, microwave and basic utensils.
• Close to station, food outlets, shopping and business district.

Negatives
• Small room
• Small bathroom and odd set up, next to the bed. There was no shower curtain so bathroom area got wet really quickly.
• There was no ventilation in the bathroom
• The bathroom sink was small and plugged. Did not know how to unplug the sink so filled up quickly so I stopped using it.
• No power point in the bathroom or close to the bathroom for hair dryers or hair strengtheners.
• The smoke alarm light was flashing all night (and throughout the day too). It was like a mini camera flash every 30 seconds. I don’t know if it was flashing light was due to the emergency alarm that rang all morning.
• From 6.30am an emergency alarm was ringing outside the building. I don’t know if it was coming from the apartment or another building but it was close enough to my room to make me question whether it was our building.
• Room smelled musky. I think this use to be the smokers room it had that “smell” that they try and hide but someone who doesn’t smoke can distinguish,
• TV is small and mounted in an odd spot in the room. You could swing the tv around however to watch in bed you had to lie sideways. Also the reception was poor resulting in blurry output.

Overall did not enjoy my stay at the Oaks. I was in Melbourne for work and there were 2 other colleagues booked in this apartment. My room was the smallest on the floor when I looked at the Emergency Response Plan posted on the back of the door. You would think they would be a bit more generous if they wanted returned business.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cestella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Many thanks for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Collins.

It is disappointing to hear that you felt some aspects of your stay were unsatisfactory. We always aim to provide a stay that is both enjoyable and exceeds guest expectations and we apologise that we did not achieve this during your stay.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future to experience the best that Oaks on Collins has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great hotel will walking distance to everything in CBD and Crown Casino.

Perfect for leisure or business

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janineg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Collins.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of our hotel to be convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The room is tiny. The customer service is extremely poor. Stayed here in March and made a complaint. Still waiting for the manager to get back to me. The room we stayed in was on the 20th floor and the lifts only go up to level 18. Not sure why. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Collins.

If you would like to us to address particular aspects of your experience more thoroughly, please do contact our Customer Feedback Representative via email; customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We like to stay in apartment style accommodation when travelling which is why we chose Oaks on Collins.
The apartments are tired and in need of a makeover. The worst thin is the dreadful bathroom set up. A tiny section is glassed off as a bathroom. It is not much bigger than a wardrobe and so close to the bed that it is impossible to use the toilet without your companion being exposed to every ablution.
We would not stay there again due to this problem with all rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms are larger fronting Collins st ,however the lack of bathroom privacy problem is the same in al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Many thanks for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Collins.

It is disappointing to know that you felt some aspects of your stay were unsatisfactory. We always aim to provide a stay that is both enjoyable and exceeds guest expectations and we apologise that we did not achieve this during your stay.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future to experience the best that Oaks on Collins has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#91 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#78 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Collins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Property: Oaks on Collins
Address: 480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,993 - ₹ 18,235
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing