We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Oaks on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks on Collins
Ranked #128 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Shepparton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with the Oaks on Collins. Especially after our last disastrous stay at a hotel that we had booked over the internet. It helps to read the reviews before booking.

We stayed in a balcony room which was quite nicely decorated and clean.

We have some negatives which could be easily resolved.

Bathroom basin in the kitchen not at all suitable, mattress had quite a dip in the middle and there is definitely a need for an overhead light over the desk for reading and computer work.

Location very handy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nothappy660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for commenting on your stay at Oaks on Collins. We are glad we could accommodate you and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    357
    391
    206
    140
See reviews for
110
396
88
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The room was old, tired and stuffy. The tv was a joke, hanging above the end of the bed with an amateurish remote receiver stuck to the front. Usual remote with no battery cover - how do these get lost ?!? The bed was comfortable but this did not make up for the dated fittings cheap toiletries ( those horrible round soaps) . Very limited storage space in the bathroom. Horrible shower - either hot or cold. Breakfast was buffet and again poor quality product.
Reception staff robotic in approach and attitude - response to my concerns - rooms are in process of refurbishment - clearly not mine. Oh and no WiFi in rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poluanaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank for commenting on your stay at Oaks on Collins. We are sorry to read that the facilities were not up to a standard that you desired. We hope you reconsider and choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Monrovia, Liberia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed here for business due to its more or less proximity to the convention centre. So, I didn't stay here by choice. That said, it's OK. It has a rather spacious kitchen area and the world's smallest bathroom - not sure who planned that. It was clean but quite hard to maneuver yourself in the bathroom. They also have this gauze curtain around the bed which is a bit cheesy but I suppose makes you feel as if the room is partitioned. Staff were fine and the elevator area is a bit like a train station. I've stayed at Oaks on Market which is a lot classier. I wouldn't stay here if I was on holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NibblingNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for commenting on your stay at Oaks on Collins. We were disappointed to read that you did not like the size of the bathroom but hope we can welcome you back to one of our Oaks Hotels or Resorts in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed 2 nights in the Studio for business and was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the negative reviews.

Location: It is conveniently located on Collins Street close to public transport and the city centre. The check in was easy and the staff was helpful.

Room: The room was clean and comfortable. It is a little bit dated and the bathroom is on the smaller side and there isn't too much storage area near the sink.
The bathroom has green glass walls, so it doesn't provide a lot of privacy if you are travelling as a couple but I actually liked this contemporary feature.
The bed is very comfortable and the room had a balcony with a table and chairs. The bed has a sheer curtain around it which may not be to everybody's taste but you can pull it back ;-)
The kitchen is well equipped and you have a large desk to work on with a wired internet cable for your laptop.

The hotel: The hotel foyer is clean. The reception staff is helpful but quite busy and I had to wait a little to check in and out.
The hotel has a bar, restaurant, gym and pool but I didn't get a chance to use the gym and pool areas and can't commend on them.
The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was ok but not spectacular but the restaurant itself was nice and comfortable.
The hotel seems to be more for business travelers than holiday travelers.

Cons: I must agree with some other reviews that the hallways smelled a little funny but the room did not smell at all. What really bothered me was the lack of wifi internet in the hotel and the reception staff directed me to the McDonalds next door which has wifi.

Pros: Great location, decent and clean rooms, friendly staff.

Before you get disappointed, keep in mind that this is not a 5 star hotel but it is absolutely sufficient and the price is a good value for its location. The rooms are a bit dated but they were exchanging some of the couches while I stayed there. The staff is very helpful and if you aren't happy with your room just ask for another one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony as not all rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kardo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Oaks on Collins. We very much appreciate your detailed feedback on our facilities and hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

In summary this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in Melbourne!
We booked for 4 nights based on the location and the fact that we had, stayed at Oaks on Market previously which was of a great standard. We failed to check tripadvisor...big mistake.
We checked in at 10pm to room #1..after walking through a white pebble Zen type garden (I think to calm you down after you see the room) we discovered a filthy, smelly, cramped room. The carpet looked like a Pro Heart TV commercial and the room smelt, the TV reception was poor.
We complained to reception staff who politely moved us to another room...this room was worse, at least it didn't smell but had moldy shower, old and run down decor, the couch was 'peeling' and looked like it had just come from the Salvo's skip bin. The kitchen bench on one side was a foot lower and had a bathroom sink! 
After a further complaint we were told we would be upgraded to an Executive Room the next day. Room #3 ended up being slightly bigger and cleaner than the first two, didn't smell and had a nice view of Collins street. The room still had its problems, cramped shower, mouldy joins and that awful porn movie sheen screen around the bed.
In general this hotel should either re-brand a s a Formula and charge accordingly, or get in an architect and renovate from the ground up with some more suitable rooms., and amenities.  1/10.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumpytex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Oaks on Collins. We have taken your feedback on board and will pass your concerns on to the Hotel Manager. We apologise that you were not satisfied with the rooms but are pleased to hear that our hotel staff tried to accommodate your concerns. We hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future as we would be happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
1,198 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#45 of 160 in Melbourne
1,410 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 160 in Melbourne
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,086 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Collins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Property: Oaks on Collins
Address: 480 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,705 - ₹ 22,888
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing