We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“southside quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“southside quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Ver pleased with our 4 night stay here. Arrived early morning after a 24hr trip so were happy to be offered immediate check-in at small cost to an upgraded room- one of the corner king rooms with plenty of space and huge windows giving views out of the city. As someone else said, a better view when lit up at night.

There`s and edge and cool to Melbourne that you won`t see reflected here but it`s a comfortable modern hotel with friendly staff.

It`s a short walk onto the Southbank walkway of the Yarra with lots of entertainment and public art. We were lucky enough to be there for Chinese new year celebrations too which took place outside the Crown complex.It`s possible to stroll down the riverside to the botanical gardens and only cross a couple of roads, or be across the bridges and into the city in ten minutes. We printed off a couple of walks and easily explored the city from here on foot.

If you`re in `cruise ship` mode you could do a lot of things without really leaving the accommodation- it`s connected to the rest of Crown Complex with numerous restaurants, cinema, casino and (fairly soul-less) bars. You`re not too far from the heart of things though with a tram stop outside (can connect to St Kilda etc) or a short walk to the tourist circular tram stop
The small infinity pool was a lovely and unexpected touch and it`s a great spot to relax with some outdoor seating/loungers too.
Recommended.

Room Tip: king corner rooms are higher and bigger so worth a few dollars more if offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TopHat121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    781
    161
    33
    41
See reviews for
343
771
79
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days in February and in many respects the hotel is faultless. It is in a good position and the staff a efficient and friendly. However, they still charge for Internet access - can you believe it! I would not stay again since I find this unacceptable in this day and age. Not even open access in the lobby area. However, walk down the road to the Southgate Centre and it is free all day and every day. Such a pity for a hotel which is otherwise good. Very backward looking.

Be sure to visit the Immigration Museum and the Jail - both excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be efficient and friendly. In regards to our internet pricing we are continually reviewing our products and services to ensure they are competitive and your comments have been taken on board.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed overnight with my wife for a night out in the city. The hotel was excellent with facilities aplenty. Breakfast was included which was pretty good but not anything different. We had dinner at Mesh on Saturday night which was a seafood buffet. Good value for $65 but Friday night is better value. Overall satisfied and would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brunodani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I shared 3 nights in the Promenade and were not dissapointed. Had a corner king room on level 19 with a nice view (better at night). Rooms looking to the Southbank would be better though.
Rooms were nice size, clean and comfortable.
To me, the value of this place is its close proximity to the Southbank (about 300m walk) where we spent time eating and drinking and enjoying the entertainment. We walked across the river a number of times into the City. For the gambling addicts the hotel is part of the Crown complex so not far to walk undercover to the tables and pokies!! there is a shopping mall within the complex with brand label shops.
Only had breakfast one morning at the hotel, which was a nice buffet style- ate on Southbank at other times (better value and ambience).
The infinity pool is very nice and you can actually swim laps. The gym is well equiped with friendly staff.
Would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I took my husband to the Promenade Hotel for his birthday last weekend and we were both very happy with the friendly efficient service. Checkin was a delight with a smiling face and helpful advice.

Our room was spacious and well equiped with an extremely comfy bed and views overlooking the river and city. My husband appreciated the "birthday gift" of a bottle of sparkly and a box of choccies - thank you. The bathroom was lovely, with a double walkin shower and a large vanity unit. Plenty of counter room for our toiletries. In so many hotels I have to place our vanity bag on the floor.

There is direct access thru to the casino via a skywalk which was great as it was extremely hot outside and we didn't have to suffer the heat at all. The Crown complex has it all, shopping, restaurants, bars (as well as the casino) so you could spend the whole weekend without leaving if you desired. Thank you Promenade, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as the views are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherm43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thanks for the great review.

It was a pleasure to read that we made your stay such a memorable one, and that our "special touches" with the sparkling wine and choccies assisted with the birthday celebrations.

We pride ourselves on our service delivery and your comments in regards to our staff being efficient and happy with a smile on their face will be passed onto them.

We continue to receive positive feedback about the hotel being connected to the Entertainment complex via an air bridge, we now also have an additional connection to the west end of the complex which is perfect when travelling with children under 18 years of age.

Thanks again for the positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#75 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,705 - ₹ 26,592
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing