We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,221)
Filter reviews
1,221 results
Traveller rating
333
500
216
97
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
500
216
97
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location bedroom loft apartment david jones shopping trip natural light hardware lane your doorstep bourke st living area short stay would stay again late check public transport great room comfy bed easy access emporium
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 1,221 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great Location, central to everything. We had a 2 year old with us and the room we stayed in had plenty of room. Being from outback QLD we were not use to the city noise at night, so sleeping was difficult as there was a lot of road noise. Rooms were clean and sufficient for what we needed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CassieC483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Cassie C,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review,

I am particularly pleased to hear that you found your room to be'toddler friendly' and that you were able to make the most of your trip to Melbourne. I am saddened to hear that you found that the street noise detracted from your stay. I am happy to inform you that we are currently making changes to the windows in the very near future which should improve the level of street noise.

I do hope that you will consider us next time you visit Melbourne for our accommodation needs, as we would be delighted to have you stay again.

Kind regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Melbourne has a split personality. It’s grungy but gorgeous. It's eclectic mix of sights weave harmoniously to create a unique type of liveliness. Buskers beat bins and saucepans instead of drum kits, soloists croon with voices like angels, a flutist's melody neighbours the booming bass of a rock band’s subwoofer. Artists sketch to scrape a living, and all are hoping to impress somebody (you & I) for a few bucks. These sights & sounds mingle with the aroma of food from every part of the globe whilst tram bells announce their rhythmic arrival & departure. Cigarette smoke swirls & the footpaths move in a sea of human cargo. And this isn’t a quarter of the story. So much to survey, contemplate and entertain. Mantra City Central is perfectly positioned within Melbourne's lively hub of activity. Close to China Town, The Emporium, Swanston and Bourke Street, visitors are literally on the door step of Melbourne's buzz. We stayed in a room on the third floor and were lucky enough to enjoy fireworks from our apartment window on New Year's Eve. Apartments cater to all visitor's needs and in the instance that there is something you require (we needed a larger frypan), staff were friendly and prompt in responding to our request. Reception friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michellegralike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear michellegralike,

What a genuinely poetic review!

I am so glad that we were able to be a part of your journey in Melbourne; you have painted the city very vividly with your choice of words. We are very lucky to be positioned close to the 'chaos' of the city centre but we try to create a welcoming retreat for our guests to return to.
I am very happy that our staff were able to assist you in a friendly and prompt manner and will be sure to pass on your feedback.

We hope that you do stay with us again the next time you visit Melbourne and it's unique charm.

Kind regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Great location - easy to walk and get around. Discovered good eateries close by. Great service by Reception staff. Quaint rooms to fit in the historic building. Would be very suitable for a shopping trip!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lesley0147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Lesley0147,

Thank you for your kind review.

Location, location, location! We are very lucky to be placed so close to all the amenities that can fully immerse our guests in the Melbourne experience. I do hope that you found the rooms to be of a positive 'quaintness' that match the beauty of the heritage listed building. I am also very pleased to be passing on your gratitude to our staff at reception, who will be grateful to have been recognised for their efforts.
Should you stay with us again, we would love to hear about these eateries you have discovered, so that we might share the secret with other guests as well.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for all your shopping trip accommodation needs.

Kind regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Love this place the location is perfect for anyone who prefer a city central location.
Clean Room with lots of space.
Friendly Reception staff.
Close to shopping centres and China town is just down the street.
Tram station is very close to the Hotel

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Sven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Sven H,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us,

We are so lucky to be in such a central location, and nothing makes us happier than to have our guests utilise and enjoy this asset!
It sounds as though on your recent trip you were able to do just that. I am also pleased that you found your room to be to your liking and that our staff were able to make your stay warm and welcoming.

Please think of us next time you need somewhere to stay in the centre of Melbourne, as we would be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had a great time.It was so good to be close to all the public transport.We had very helpful staff and they showed us all the key places to visit.Being in the center of town worked out very well for us. Also did the cleaners find a medicine bag in the fridge.many thanks Clive

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank clivecleaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear clivecleaning,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a such a heart-warming review.
Our location is by far our biggest asset, and we are so glad to hear that you were able to make the most of this during your stay.
I will also personally pass on your kind words to our housekeeping and reception staff who will be ecstatic to hear that they have been recognised for their efforts.

We hope that you have fallen in love with Melbourne and will visit again, in which case we would be delighted to have you stay with us once more.

Kind regards,
Brandon Park
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews