We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a city stay”
Review of City Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Park Hotel
Ranked #154 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for a city stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed as were attending a wedding close by and it was cheaper to get a room than pay for a taxi to and from Doncaster.
This is not your high end luxury hotel and it does not advertise to be, but it was clean friendly and execllent value for money. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and we had no complaints.
If you are looking for a city bed for a few nights it is well worth it, we will be staying again...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    20
    13
    19
See reviews for
9
20
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2011

A one night stay after visiting the casino and AFL footy match. The service at reception was friendly, but unfortunately overshadowed by the awful state of our room. A large crack in the brickwork, a substance smeared on one of the bed sheets, and some sort of gelatinous mass in the middle of the floor (probably a food source for the large cockroach we found in the bathroom the next morning) was overlooked as our heads and bodies suffering from the day's festivities just fell into bed. Not worth the money!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arrrrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Friendly staff but room was not what I would expect from a Best Western hotel. Bathroom was really old and dirty. The place needs a good reno. Won't stay there again

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kalliekieterkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYJD_22, General Manager at City Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Hello Kalliekieterkat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel and our sincere apologies that the room wasn't what you would expect from a Best Western hotel. I strongly agree that our bathrooms require a good renovation, however as the business has just come under NEW MANAGEMENT in the last six months, we are still in the process of updating all the rooms and amenities. As you would have noticed in the rooms, we have replaced the ancient TV's with brand new 32" Flat Screens, and are definitely looking to make more changes in the next 12 months. Again, we do apologize for the bad experience you had during our transition phase, however we do hope you stay with us again in the future and experience first hand the changes we aim to make. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I have just arrived back from a 4 night stay at this hotel as a group of my friends and I were attending the grand prix and I am extremely delighted with our stay.
When we arrived our two rooms that we booked were not on the same floor.. within 5 minutes they had arranged our rooms so they were directly across from each other.
I couldn't have been more impressed with their hospitality.
They were so friendly and helpful when suggesting where to shop and calling taxi's for us.
It is also in a fantastic location - a short walk from albert park and the tram and 2 doors up from a delicious pizza deli and pub.
The rooms were spacious but modest. Perfect for a short stay and we were given clean towels everyday and the whole room re-made even when it wasn't neccessary.
We will definately be staying here again for Grand Prix next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzAsh7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We used this hotel twice recently, after and before taking the ferry to Tasmania. Neither time disappointed us in any way. The rooms are large and nice. Despite our room overlooking a very busy main city arterial road, the excellent double glazing guaranteed us a peaceful stay! The bed was very comfortable, and the linen and pillows of excellent quality. Probably the only down-sides were that the TV set was of poor quality and reception is marginal, and there is a fairly expensive charge for internet access - which so many hotels now offer free of charge.
The desk staff were very friendly and helpful, and uniformly gave the impression of being real hosts rather than just someone doing a job. It's a pity more hotels don't have such excellent staff - nothing was too much trouble and they greeted us like friends every time we passed them on the way in or out. It really adds to the experience.
The location of this hotel is quite excellent from a travellers point of view. Being on Kings Way, you can go to the East or West of Melbourne readily without being snared by the Toll Roads and the nuisance of having to pay tolls (no booths - electronic collection only), and is also an easy walk from many reasonable restaurants and pubs. It is also an easy 5 minutes drive away from the Spirit of Tasmania ferry terminal, and so is perfect as a place to "drop anchor" after/before the nine-hour sea trip.
We plan more motoring trips on the mainland of Australia, and we will definitely use this excellent, convenient hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 159 in Melbourne
113 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#114 of 159 in Melbourne
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#116 of 159 in Melbourne
132 reviews
Magnolia Court Boutique
#144 of 159 in Melbourne
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Hotel

Property: City Park Hotel
Address: 308 Kings Way, Melbourne, Victoria 3205, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,172 - ₹ 7,708
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your City Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing