We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #31 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed one night only, Saturday night 25th February 2012, but we cannot fault this wonderful hotel...we dined there Saturday night and I think I had the best steak of my life! the room was perfect and the staff were superb! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your recommendation; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We’d like to thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon!

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    357
    88
    25
    16
See reviews for
229
395
67
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was a great location for the tennis, shopping and a view of the Yarra and Southbank. It is virtually on the corner of Flinders Street with a Circleline tram stop just around the corner. We were only there for one night - Sunday for shopping and Monday for the tennis. We used the Circleline to take us to Harbourtown, Victorian Markets and the Direct Factory Outlet precinct. The next day, we caught the special free tram to the Australian Open from just around the corner and it took us directly to the tennis - very convenient. On arrival at the hotel (9:30am) we had hoped to drop off our bags. instead we were allowed to settle into our room. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean with adequate amenities. I booked our accommodation through Wotif, and got a great deal which included
a "free" bottle of wine which we enjoyed while watching the display of flares on Southbank from our balcony. It was fabulous. I would recommend this hotel to others and will have no hesitation in going back.

Room Tip: I would recommend overlooking the Yarra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear valued guest,
The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We also award our frequent stay customer with a complimentary bottle of wine, so do enrol in our One William Club to stay connected to us. We look forward to seeing you return in the future. We’d like to thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon!

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

If you are a tennis fan then this is the place to stay. Melbourne City puts on a free tram No 70A ( a 2 minute walk from the hotel ) to take all visitors to the open. We asked for a room midlevel floor over looking the Yarra River and was not disappointed, the view was amazing especialy at night looking along the Southbank. The room was clean and tidy and contained a small kitchen which was adequate for breakfast and small snacks preparation. The staff where all very friendly and helpful during our stay. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street Station and Federation Square where people tend to be on the long summer nights watching the street performers and having a cool beer.Melbourne is a city easy to get around either by the tram system or simply by walking. I would recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in coming back. One day I will

Room Tip: Choose a mid to high level floor room with view of the Yarra River
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DABJILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne! We really appreciate your positive comments about our location and rooms. We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed there last night and found the the room was lovely. We booked this through "Wotif" mystery accommodation. My only let down was the room could have had some more attention. A dirty mug. A dirty and very sticky guest directory book that I looked through. Found a kit kat wrapper on the floor beside the couch. The net curtains did not close completely for privacy even though we were on the 12th floor. Then when we went to bed, found a childs pair of socks on the floor beside the curtains. Most of those you could not miss as we did not.
Over all, it was still a nice place and close to crown. Was just a bit disapointed for $185 for a night. Would I stay there again? Perhaps if I was going to an event at Crown then I would as it is very close.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorryAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, we appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review. We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach full expectations on this occasion.

The quality of service provided at the Clarion Suites Gateway is the utmost importance to us and I would like to assure you that we will ensure your feedback is addressed earnestly with our housekeeping team.

In the event that your travel schedule does bring you back to Melbourne, I would be delighted if you would contact us at info@clarionsuitesgateway.com.au, so that we may have an opportunity in restoring your confidence in our hotel and services.

Regrettably we do not have your contact details as we would like to extend to you a return welcome.

Kind regards,
Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,145 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,845 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

i had never previously thought of staying in this part of town.
Normally I stay in what is called the "Paris" end o Melbourne within say 1 or 2 blocks of the centre and my favourite shops, laneways and restaurants.
The Clarion was perhaps 5 blocks away but as I had arrived a day early for my committed stay at the Westin and arrived late at night, I took what was available on Wotif.

What a surprise - for perhaps half the price, I had a suite with a view over the Yarra river - a very comfortable room plus separate living and dining room - exceptional value and high quality.

Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade - perhaps a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Ron,

Thank you for your recommendation; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and looking forward to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,794 - ₹ 15,275
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing