We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Suites Gateway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks on Market(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks on Collins(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveller rating
612
396
97
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
396
97
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyarra rivercrown casinogreat locationa river view roomone bedroom suitefull kitchenwilliam streetdouble glazed windowstrain noiseflinders stwashing machinesouth banktrain linethe sofa bedshort walksmall balconylight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was a great location for the tennis, shopping and a view of the Yarra and Southbank. It is virtually on the corner of Flinders Street with a Circleline tram stop just around the corner. We were only there for one night - Sunday for shopping and Monday for the tennis. We used the Circleline to take us to Harbourtown, Victorian Markets and the Direct Factory Outlet precinct. The next day, we caught the special free tram to the Australian Open from just around the corner and it took us directly to the tennis - very convenient. On arrival at the hotel (9:30am) we had hoped to drop off our bags. instead we were allowed to settle into our room. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean with adequate amenities. I booked our accommodation through Wotif, and got a great deal which included
a "free" bottle of wine which we enjoyed while watching the display of flares on Southbank from our balcony. It was fabulous. I would recommend this hotel to others and will have no hesitation in going back.

Room Tip: I would recommend overlooking the Yarra.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear valued guest,
The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We also award our frequent stay customer with a complimentary bottle of wine, so do enrol in our One William Club to stay connected to us. We look forward to seeing you return in the future. We’d like to thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon!

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

If you are a tennis fan then this is the place to stay. Melbourne City puts on a free tram No 70A ( a 2 minute walk from the hotel ) to take all visitors to the open. We asked for a room midlevel floor over looking the Yarra River and was not disappointed, the view was amazing especialy at night looking along the Southbank. The room was clean and tidy and contained a small kitchen which was adequate for breakfast and small snacks preparation. The staff where all very friendly and helpful during our stay. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street Station and Federation Square where people tend to be on the long summer nights watching the street performers and having a cool beer.Melbourne is a city easy to get around either by the tram system or simply by walking. I would recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in coming back. One day I will

Room Tip: Choose a mid to high level floor room with view of the Yarra River
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DABJILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne! We really appreciate your positive comments about our location and rooms. We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed there last night and found the the room was lovely. We booked this through "Wotif" mystery accommodation. My only let down was the room could have had some more attention. A dirty mug. A dirty and very sticky guest directory book that I looked through. Found a kit kat wrapper on the floor beside the couch. The net curtains did not close completely for privacy even though we were on the 12th floor. Then when we went to bed, found a childs pair of socks on the floor beside the curtains. Most of those you could not miss as we did not.
Over all, it was still a nice place and close to crown. Was just a bit disapointed for $185 for a night. Would I stay there again? Perhaps if I was going to an event at Crown then I would as it is very close.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorryAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, we appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review. We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach full expectations on this occasion.

The quality of service provided at the Clarion Suites Gateway is the utmost importance to us and I would like to assure you that we will ensure your feedback is addressed earnestly with our housekeeping team.

In the event that your travel schedule does bring you back to Melbourne, I would be delighted if you would contact us at info@clarionsuitesgateway.com.au, so that we may have an opportunity in restoring your confidence in our hotel and services.

Regrettably we do not have your contact details as we would like to extend to you a return welcome.

Kind regards,
Tony Cakmar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

i had never previously thought of staying in this part of town.
Normally I stay in what is called the "Paris" end o Melbourne within say 1 or 2 blocks of the centre and my favourite shops, laneways and restaurants.
The Clarion was perhaps 5 blocks away but as I had arrived a day early for my committed stay at the Westin and arrived late at night, I took what was available on Wotif.

What a surprise - for perhaps half the price, I had a suite with a view over the Yarra river - a very comfortable room plus separate living and dining room - exceptional value and high quality.

Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade - perhaps a river view
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Ron,

Thank you for your recommendation; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and looking forward to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Close to nice parts of the city and easy to get to from the airport. Nice sized room, microwave and mini bar, plus the all important comfy bed :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonnieSears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you return in the near future.


Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews