We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No ventilation but otherwise great.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Space Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Space Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No ventilation but otherwise great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Overall this hotel is great, the location, value, facilities are all fantastic.
Rooms are clean, a bit on the small side, but if you're booking this hotel i doubt you're planning to spend much time here - there are more expensive options for that kind of holiday.
Internet is pricey ($10 for 24 hours), but pretty much the same as getting a mobile/wireless telstra usb modem.
Kitchen, laundry, gym, lounge room are all excellent.
My partner and i both got sick from the constant air-conditioning that can not be turned off in the rooms, meaning we avoided our room as much as possible. Lucky there are two open air rooftop areas to hang out in when you want some down time.

Room Tip: No opening windows on foods 1 through to 5 means constant air-conditioning is legally required at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_Heart_Delicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    307
    112
    32
    34
See reviews for
43
149
277
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Needed an inexpensive room for a couple of nights prior to a relocation. Found the Space Hotel online - they had a single-room rate of around $85 (it was Melbourne Cup time, so this rate was higher than usual). When I arrived at the hotel, they provided me with an "upgrade" to a twin-room at no extra charge (twin-room is slightly bigger, apparently).

The room was simple but newly-renovated and clean. It had two good-quality single beds, a 26" LCD TV, iPod docking station, small wardrobe and basic study desk. Big window let in a lot of natural night, and with pleasant a view outside. This was a bonus; normally you would expect the window to be facing a wall or a carpark! Bathrooms are located just down the hall on each level - I never had a problem getting one when I needed it.

Because I was there for a short time and in the process of moving, I didn't get involved in the extras they provide eg. movie room, cafe, rooftop bar etc. But I thought that these extras looked very interesting and great additions for backpackers/flashpackers etc.

Having traveled extensively and seen how the "flashpacker" market has developed, I would definitely recommend the Space Hotel. It is amongst the better offerings that I've seen in this segment of the market.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Made_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have been at Space 3 times and I believe it is great. Location is ideal and the rooms are clean and nice. I like that they have different amenities in each floor (gym, library, movies, etc).
I would stay there next time I go to Melbourne

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clenaranjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

First impression of space hotel was really good until I was bitten by bed bugs and the staff there did nothing about it, no apology, didn't offer to swap rooms or even change the sheets. All we were told was that they had mattress protectors and they cldnt see anything wrong.
Complained again one home and still no apology. This let the whole place down for us. Everything about it was good

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steph_goodare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is the second time I have used the Space Hotel for a School group and can highly recommend. It is a safe and affordable place to stay in the heart of the city. It makes getting around very easy as most things are walking distance and public transport is very close. The rooms are neat and clean and each bed has it's own locker. The kitchen space is large and has great facilities. However one oven was out of action when we stayed. All staff are friendly and requests are handled quickly and efficiently. Would reccomend to any other school group (Senior School Students, mine were Years 11 and 12). I will be staying again later on in the year with a group of Year 10 and 11 students.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinotFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,302 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Space Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Hotel

Property: Space Hotel
Address: 380 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,646 - ₹ 9,827
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Space Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Hotel is where luxury meets budget. Being a traveler doesn’t mean you have to choose between a great experience and a good night’s sleep. At Space Hotel, you can have both. Enjoy modern, comfortable accommodation right between the vibrant Melbourne CBD and Lygon St, the city’s most famous restaurant & bars district. Relax, have fun and explore, it’s your space to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Space Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing