We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Nearby Hotels
US$ 143
US$ 130
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Art Series - The Olsen(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 174
US$ 138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 252
US$ 114
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 129
US$ 120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 96
US$ 89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Jasper Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 105
US$ 96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 268
US$ 152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
39
74
22
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
74
22
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree car parkingstayed hereroom with excellent facilitiesgreat locationwalking distance to the cityself catermelbourne experiencekitchen areamelbourne museumvic marketsprincess theatrevisiting melbournespa bathgreat place to staywould stay here againgood sizepublic transport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This place is overpriced. The good thing is the location, it´s right in the middle of Lygon St.
However rooms are very basic and you´re much better off staying at one of the other places in the area for not much more. Downtowner on Lygon was a better choice.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank Reisefoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Looks like they are at the end of refurbsihments with a few minor things to complete in reception and hallways. Room was of good quality and clean as well. Looked like a new bathroom. Only paid $120 but quality of room was better than that.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a new room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank NeverBloodyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I booked here after looking at the website. When I arrived it didnt look anything like the site photos and the front desk staff were very unhelpful. The whole place was a building site. Like the others have said on here there were wires hanging from walls, peeling paint on the walls, it smelt and the furniture, walls and carpet were all old and dirty. I asked if they had another room as this wasnt a 3.5 star that they advertsied. The owner used more swear words than I care to report and ultimately said said he would bash me if I complained. I checked out and went to the Quest 500 meters up the road for $20 a night more. Dont stay here unless your on a very tight budget and can only afford $50 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xyzxyz123255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

'When I arrived at Lygon Lodge I was surprised by the amount of renovations going on as when my work had booked me in here to attend a conference no one had mentioned it being under reno's. In fact my colleague, who checked in separately, initially commented to staff that she thought there was a mistake as they didnt look operational. They assured her the renovations would have no impact. She didnt sleep at all due to noise ( which may or may not have been drilling in the night) and light coming in above and below an ill-fitting door. There was a lot of work going on...wires hanging down and stuff where we had to access our rooms from as the lift wasnt operational due to the renovations...it felt like being in a building site. But the worst bit was returning to my room to find it empty...they had packed up all my personal belongings from all over my room...bathroom (including bras and undies and stuff), cupboard,tables, floor,bed...and moved it all to another room on another floor without request, permission or even discussion. Then they went through my stuff a second time to unpack it all in the other room ....I was gobsmacked...such an invasion of privacy and trust and they don't even think they did anything wrong! Terrible

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AuntyLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Over the past two years I have stayed at Lygon Lodge about 5 times.

Each time the staff have been friendly and helpful.

My room has been average in size and clean.

Since it is right on Lygon Street there are heaps of restaurants to dine in.

There is no restaurant on the premises, but breakast can be taken care of in any one of the numerous restaurants and cafes that do a breakfast trade in Lygon Street.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IronchefAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews