We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, functional rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Ranked #114 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, functional rooms”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Just had a great stay here, right in the heart of Lygon St and only two blocks from the tram. Beds were a little uncomfortable, but that might be just me. Staff were very friendly, room was clean an tidy though front of house could do with a lick of paint. A great alternative to right in the CBD and a fair bit cheaper too.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank trw1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    69
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
58
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This place is overpriced. The good thing is the location, it´s right in the middle of Lygon St.
However rooms are very basic and you´re much better off staying at one of the other places in the area for not much more. Downtowner on Lygon was a better choice.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Reisefoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Looks like they are at the end of refurbsihments with a few minor things to complete in reception and hallways. Room was of good quality and clean as well. Looked like a new bathroom. Only paid $120 but quality of room was better than that.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank NeverBloodyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I booked here after looking at the website. When I arrived it didnt look anything like the site photos and the front desk staff were very unhelpful. The whole place was a building site. Like the others have said on here there were wires hanging from walls, peeling paint on the walls, it smelt and the furniture, walls and carpet were all old and dirty. I asked if they had another room as this wasnt a 3.5 star that they advertsied. The owner used more swear words than I care to report and ultimately said said he would bash me if I complained. I checked out and went to the Quest 500 meters up the road for $20 a night more. Dont stay here unless your on a very tight budget and can only afford $50 per night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xyzxyz123255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

'When I arrived at Lygon Lodge I was surprised by the amount of renovations going on as when my work had booked me in here to attend a conference no one had mentioned it being under reno's. In fact my colleague, who checked in separately, initially commented to staff that she thought there was a mistake as they didnt look operational. They assured her the renovations would have no impact. She didnt sleep at all due to noise ( which may or may not have been drilling in the night) and light coming in above and below an ill-fitting door. There was a lot of work going on...wires hanging down and stuff where we had to access our rooms from as the lift wasnt operational due to the renovations...it felt like being in a building site. But the worst bit was returning to my room to find it empty...they had packed up all my personal belongings from all over my room...bathroom (including bras and undies and stuff), cupboard,tables, floor,bed...and moved it all to another room on another floor without request, permission or even discussion. Then they went through my stuff a second time to unpack it all in the other room ....I was gobsmacked...such an invasion of privacy and trust and they don't even think they did anything wrong! Terrible

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AuntyLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#40 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#117 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#152 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lygon Lodge Carlton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Lodge Carlton

Property: Lygon Lodge Carlton
Address: 220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,624 - ₹ 7,951
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lygon Lodge Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lygon Lodge Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing