We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Regent Theatre

The Regent Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 55.70*
and up
Melbourne City Sights Morning Tour with Optional Yarra Cruise
Ranked #40 of 425 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The landmark Regent Theatre holds a key part in our city’s history since opening as a grand picture palace in 1929. Having survived a fire, a flood, 20 years in darkness and many threats of demolition, the venue reopened in August 1996, meticulously refurbished and returned to its breathtaking former glory.Today it stands more lavish and grand than ever and continues to host some of the world’s most renowned theatre productions.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Love never dies for the phantom of the opera and Sir Andrew Lloyd Weber. Loved it! Exceed my expectations!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank guestfromlanghus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    161
    40
    12
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kids Shows”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Have taken my grand daughters to many kids shows and I'm not impressed with the behaviour that is allowed to happen during this time. More authority needs to be visible to prevent teenagers disrespectful behaviours

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarbarasBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
753 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Stand back and enjoy the detail - the interior design is from a time we don't see any longer.”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My first visit to this theatre was in the 1960's to see a James Bond Movie - my second visit was 14/4/12 on quick trip over from Perth- over 40 years between. As a teenager I had no idea of the significance of the building.

Yesterday I was engrossed in the detail - it is worth a visit for the building itself.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAC6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Grand and beautiful venue”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Saw Tony Bennett here and it is just the most beautiful theatre, so ornate and grand - a venue truly befitting such a iconic superstar. The chandelier hanging from the theatre ceiling is magnificent and the seating and spacing between rows is also very generous and patrons can pass each other easily to get to seats. If you are a fan of architecture, it is worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank pandagirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I went to see Tony Bennett here last week , and although I was sitting at the very back. I could hear every he said and sung. A very comfortable theatre with a old world feel.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fitzer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Regent Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Regent Theatre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing