We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Claremont
Nearby Hotels
US$ 227
US$ 210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 157
US$ 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 158
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 165
US$ 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 111
US$ 108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 278
US$ 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
99
193
73
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
193
73
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth yarra train stationbunk bedschapel streetguest housefree wifishared bathroomtoorak roadno liftsingle roominstant coffeesmall tvcontinental breakfastminute walkconvenient locationlocation is fantasticstreet noisepublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I thought this place was great value compared to elsewhere I've stayed in Melbourne. It's a bit basic, but everyone was friendly, the place was very clean (including bathrooms), and for the price the breakfast was pretty good... Rooms are small, but the location is great.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This hotel is a little find for a city break. The hotel is in a perfect location, next door to a train station a 3min walk to all the bars, cafes and restaurants. We booked 2 couples 4 of us in total in to a larger room for the weekend which worked out perfect, ( if you are planning to do activites rather than be in a hotel) They have 24 hour check in which is great for arriving on a late friday night flight. The breakfast is just plain and simple cereal and toast, but a nice little start to the day. There is also free wifi that comes in very handy.

All in all if we are in Melbourne again we will defintely stay here, perfect location, nice and clean rooms and shower rooms all you could ever want - save your money for enjoying Melbourne!:)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainemcc807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

It's cheap (for a city in Oz!), it's clean and it's next to a train stop. The Breakfast is good and the kitchen facilities are ok.

We stayed here for 5 nights. We had two rooms, both were extremely small - not big enough for two to move around in and not at all like the photos on the website.

Be warned that the doors slam loudly up and down the hallways here, very early in the morning and very late at night. I can appreciate the importance of having good solid fire doors that close, but they don't have to slam shut and shake the bedroom walls!

Half the staff were very friendly and helpful, but the rest were just plain rude. These people need to remember to respect polite paying guests.

In particular, one member of staff was very strict and stingy with the Wifi password tickets (each ticket allowing 100mb download over a 24hr period). The Wifi is advertised as 'free' but this chap was restricting guests to 2 password tickets a day. Not good.

I don't think we would stay here again. I would recommend paying just a tiny bit more to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sota8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Location: Very good as it was just a 3 minute walk to the South Yarra train station and right by the 8 tram. Less than 15 minutes from CBD.

Room: Small, however it is a hostel so not surprising. Small TV with 3 channels. There is a fan so if you catch a hot day you may be uncomfortable. Two fresh towels with soaps were provided which was nice. Clean.

Bed: We were in a bunk bed room. I don't like bunk beds at all but this wasnt too bad. They were fairly wide, nice sheets and comforter. I just wish they were anchored so that you didn't need someone sitting on the bottom bed in order to climb up or down the top bunk.

Bathrooms: Shared however there were 6 on our floor and I only waited once for a few minutes. They are cleaned twice daily. They arent all consistent as one had bad water pressure and another had uneven temperature (would go from freezing to hot). There were always fresh packaged soaps for use, however for enviornmental purposes I always felt bad using a new soap each time I washed my hands. If they put in soap dispensers they'd save money and would be "going green". Not a downside but just an observation.

Breakfast: Included in your stay. Mon - Fri 6:30 - 9:30AM and on weekends until 10AM. There were pitchers of orange juices. Bottles of light and whole milk. Hot water. Tea packets and hot chocolate available all day long. Filtered water also available all day long. A big bowl of canned peaches and another of canned pears. Four different types of cereals. Plenty of seating although it does get crowded. I thought it was just fine for me. I most liked being able to drink water anytime.

Internet: Wifi is also included in your stay however it is only up until 100MB so it's really just a couple of hours of browsing at most. For Australia, some internet included is better than nothing.

Customer Service: Really great. All the individuals at the desk were pleasant and I can't say anything bad about them at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxjohnnysangelxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed in a dorm room and was plenty comfortable during my stay in Melbourne. The location is pretty good and there are plenty of restaurants in the area. It's a very old building, but they keep it quite clean. I can't say I was very impressed with the staff, however. I stayed over Christmas and expected a little more friendliness and help during that week.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl6126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews