We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Hotel Claremont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Claremont
Ranked #102 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We only stayed here one night, as we waited to move into another hostel, but the Hotel Claremont was an absolute delight! Although we found it listed as a hostel, it really is a hotel, and feels very posh and grand! As we had been staying in some real dives for a while, this place was a very welcome break for us, and everything was superior to anywhere else we'd stayed.

The staff were wonderful, we received a very warm welcome, and they were happy to help in any way. The communal area was very nice, and offered free tea and coffee at all times, as well as a very good free continental breakfast. Our room was a little small, but very clean and comfy nonetheless. The bathrooms were communal, but were individual bathrooms, so you had it to yourself!

The hostel is easy to find, right next to a train station, and also in a lovely area with loads of trendy shops and bars!

Wish we could have stayed longer in the end, but this place offered a lovely break from the usual suspects travelers face. Not only was everything excellent, but all the small touches, like free coffee, or free soap, and lovely towels, or the safest bag storage we've had, was all very much appreciated!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    186
    67
    25
    9
See reviews for
33
131
87
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I thought this place was great value compared to elsewhere I've stayed in Melbourne. It's a bit basic, but everyone was friendly, the place was very clean (including bathrooms), and for the price the breakfast was pretty good... Rooms are small, but the location is great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This hotel is a little find for a city break. The hotel is in a perfect location, next door to a train station a 3min walk to all the bars, cafes and restaurants. We booked 2 couples 4 of us in total in to a larger room for the weekend which worked out perfect, ( if you are planning to do activites rather than be in a hotel) They have 24 hour check in which is great for arriving on a late friday night flight. The breakfast is just plain and simple cereal and toast, but a nice little start to the day. There is also free wifi that comes in very handy.

All in all if we are in Melbourne again we will defintely stay here, perfect location, nice and clean rooms and shower rooms all you could ever want - save your money for enjoying Melbourne!:)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainemcc807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toytown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

It's cheap (for a city in Oz!), it's clean and it's next to a train stop. The Breakfast is good and the kitchen facilities are ok.

We stayed here for 5 nights. We had two rooms, both were extremely small - not big enough for two to move around in and not at all like the photos on the website.

Be warned that the doors slam loudly up and down the hallways here, very early in the morning and very late at night. I can appreciate the importance of having good solid fire doors that close, but they don't have to slam shut and shake the bedroom walls!

Half the staff were very friendly and helpful, but the rest were just plain rude. These people need to remember to respect polite paying guests.

In particular, one member of staff was very strict and stingy with the Wifi password tickets (each ticket allowing 100mb download over a 24hr period). The Wifi is advertised as 'free' but this chap was restricting guests to 2 password tickets a day. Not good.

I don't think we would stay here again. I would recommend paying just a tiny bit more to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sota8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Location: Very good as it was just a 3 minute walk to the South Yarra train station and right by the 8 tram. Less than 15 minutes from CBD.

Room: Small, however it is a hostel so not surprising. Small TV with 3 channels. There is a fan so if you catch a hot day you may be uncomfortable. Two fresh towels with soaps were provided which was nice. Clean.

Bed: We were in a bunk bed room. I don't like bunk beds at all but this wasnt too bad. They were fairly wide, nice sheets and comforter. I just wish they were anchored so that you didn't need someone sitting on the bottom bed in order to climb up or down the top bunk.

Bathrooms: Shared however there were 6 on our floor and I only waited once for a few minutes. They are cleaned twice daily. They arent all consistent as one had bad water pressure and another had uneven temperature (would go from freezing to hot). There were always fresh packaged soaps for use, however for enviornmental purposes I always felt bad using a new soap each time I washed my hands. If they put in soap dispensers they'd save money and would be "going green". Not a downside but just an observation.

Breakfast: Included in your stay. Mon - Fri 6:30 - 9:30AM and on weekends until 10AM. There were pitchers of orange juices. Bottles of light and whole milk. Hot water. Tea packets and hot chocolate available all day long. Filtered water also available all day long. A big bowl of canned peaches and another of canned pears. Four different types of cereals. Plenty of seating although it does get crowded. I thought it was just fine for me. I most liked being able to drink water anytime.

Internet: Wifi is also included in your stay however it is only up until 100MB so it's really just a couple of hours of browsing at most. For Australia, some internet included is better than nothing.

Customer Service: Really great. All the individuals at the desk were pleasant and I can't say anything bad about them at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxjohnnysangelxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#117 of 159 in Melbourne
207 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#114 of 159 in Melbourne
585 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#146 of 159 in Melbourne
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claremont

Property: Hotel Claremont
Address: 189 Toorak Rd | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,199 - ₹ 7,037
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claremont 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing