We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in Melbourne hands down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #19 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“The best in Melbourne hands down.”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I live in Melbourne but have stayed here several times. The reason being - consistency of staff and quality of rooms.
The rooms are extremely spacious , comfortable and most importantly very clean.
One of the times stayed involved being unable to sleep due to a group of app 10 people (found out later they were from another hotel) , brought it up with the manager who advised many other guests have also complained and offered as much as she could as the hotel was fully booked.

The bathroom is spacious as is the spa comfortable. The plasma tv can be rotated 360 degrees which helps. The staff are always polite, smile and most importantly speak fluent english.

Breakfast is good, nothing to rave on about. For the same price you get a room half the size at crown.
Location wise its slightly out of the cbd but only a short cab ride , regardless chapel st has everything you need.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,


It is a pleasure to learn that you had such a wonderful experience with us during your recent visit to Melbourne.

We do pride ourselves on our friendly team here at Como. I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities - the spacious rooms and level of comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    274
    87
    28
    15
See reviews for
139
441
75
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We usually stay in the Art Series hotels which are hard to beat but the Como did a good job at matching the competition. We stayed in a garden suite after a recomendation not to stay in the standard rooms. The room was fantastic and the garden area added a little piece of sanctuary in the hustle and bustle of Chapel Street. The room was expensive but we're glad we paid for it rather than the standard that did look basic. The outstanding feature of the hotel was the friendly staff who were welcoming and provided great advice. The hotel does need a bit of a facelift as it does look a bit worn out in areas (especially when compared to newer hotels) but we'd recommend especially if you manage to get a good deal on the garden suites.

Room Tip: If you can get one, the Japanese garden suites offer a much nicer experience with a peaceful and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmoral78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Friends made our booking & we were very pleased with their choice. Very comfortable beds & HUGE spa bath!

Restaurants, cafes and shops just a short stroll away. Easy access to trams to visit the city & St Kilda.

Will stay here again on our next trip to Melbourne

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

It is a pleasure to learn that you appreciated the service we offer at The Como. It is also fantastic to hear that you appreciated the location.

We agree that South Yarra is a great suburb ! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Best Wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife and I have  been staying at this Hotel, on and off for at least 20 years. 

In that time we have stayed in pretty much every 5 star hotel in Melbourne, on business or pleasure. Usually we choose the hotel depending on where our meetings are and to give ourselves a bit of variety, as a treat for being away from home so often.

This trip was going to be a long one! We were going to be in Melbourne for at least 8 weeks, in one stretch, so we needed a nice hotel to call home. We didn't want to stay in the CBD, as it can be a little 'sterile' particularly on weekends. We chose South Yarra and another Hotel, not the Como.

Within the first week we knew we had made a mistake and changed to the Como and we're glad we did!

The Como currently offers some great deals for 'residents' staying for a month or more. Their website has details about the resident pricing and inclusions.

We stayed at the Como for 6 weeks and were so sad that we had to leave. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were so obliging, going out of their way to assist in every detail. 

The location is brilliant and so convenient to a variety of restaurants and eateries. We particularly enjoyed going to the Palace cinema, on our days off, without having to leave the building. Signing up for a membership at the Palace was a great deal too!
 
The rooms at the Como are getting a bit tired and have seen better days, but we are told they are currently in the process of a full renovation, which will be good.

In our view, the Como is still the pick of the crop for regular visitors to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_and_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to relay your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us in one of our Japanese Garden rooms.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the room and in particular the service and friendliness of the team here at Como. I am also delighted to learn that you appreciated the peace and quiet due to the location of your room.

We look forward tro welcoming you back.

Best Wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Como Hotel is located in a delightful urban area called South Yarra. There are many shops and restaurants nearby. The rooms are quite large and recently renovated. The gym has a swimming pool and is well equipped. It is a short taxi ride to the center of Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback in relation to your stay with us at Como.

We appreciate your comments and agree that South Yarra is a wonderful location in particular for shopping! As you mention it is also only a short taxi ride into the CBD area from the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,347 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,868 - ₹ 17,639
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing