We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #46 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here for a girls long weekend. Upon arrival we got upgraded to an executive suite ... 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, it was clean & the living area was spacious, serviced daily. Perfect for what we needed & well priced in comparison to others. Staff were lovely & check in/out was quick & painless. Quest Southbank is10 minutes walk to both the Casino & Federation Square in opposite directions ... we did a lot of walking but didn't mind it as it balanced out our eating & drinking quite nicely. No complaints ... would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunRae1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear SunRaeGoldCoast,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property.

It is great to hear you had a wonderful long weekend and that you enjoyed both your stay with us, and your time in Melbourne.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    350
    112
    33
    21
See reviews for
234
179
20
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just spent 2 days in Melbourne with a group of friends. We stayed in 2 x 2 bedroom apartments that were perfect for what we wanted and well priced. Apartments were clean and functional and the location is excellent with only a 5 minute walk to Southbank and 10 minutes into CBD. Will definitely use these apartments again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pparko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear pparko,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am pleased you and your friends enjoyed your stay and your time in Melbourne.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Am currently staying at the quest southbank and to say that I am disappointed is an understatement .Checking in was very tedious and long winded.Couldnt get into our room at 1.00pm so we said we would come back later.got into the room and while on first appearance it looked quite good it didn't take long to find out the faults.

Digital box on Television not working so restricted to minimal Chanel's which does include some foxtel but no Afl Chanel in the home of footy !!!!!!!!!

Then to flush the toilet we have to stand there with finger on the button for 2/3 minutes to ensure that it flushes.

have a room lamp that we can't switch off unless we pull the plug out from the wall

I could go on but I have never been in jail but I reckon that it would be easier to move around in there than this place, example to go to the Gym you have to go downstairs to reception and get in line to ask for the key but you will only get it if you leave your room key with reception.

When you finish your workout down you go again and wait in line with the new arrivals so you can get back to your room.

I have travelled all over the world and have never had this happen to me before,as I mainly stop places that have a gym????

Would I stay here again NO NO NO !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear walasia,

Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our service and product and are continually making efforts to improve our property and reputation. I have taken your comments about obtaining the gym key, and have since changed our initial procedure to make the experience less tedious.

I’ve done some investigation into your stay, and it seems your remaining complaints were resolved as quickly as we could and to the best of our ability: I’m sorry you had to wait for your apartment however, we do state that check-in time is guaranteed from 2pm - we can’t usually grant early access on a Saturday.

Upon hearing of your complaints on Sunday, we replaced the digital set-top box. The toilet and lamp had to wait until Monday for maintenance to attend, but instead we upgraded you to an Executive 2 Bedroom Apartment free of charge, in which you stayed for 3 nights.

We also have all three Fox Sports Channels to offer a variety of sports. An entire Foxtel package would mean a higher cost passed on to our guests, and we do try to keep the cost of accommodation as low as possible.

I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced on your first two nights, and I do trust the effort made to give you a free upgrade somewhat compensated for this.

Again, I thank you for your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss this further.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here in Feb 2012 for 2 nights. We booked a 1 bedroom appartment and when we opened the door there was a smell that greated us that wasn't pleasant (smelled like off food or vomit).
Went back to reception, came with me to check and gave us a 2 bedroom appartment without any hassle. The place was clean, good and in a good location. Big props for the staff for fixing us up the way they did.

Upon checkout, they even told us what was wrong with the original appartment: Cleaners found a coffee pod under a couch. That, plus a couple of warm days explained a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnicol, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Winus,

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologise that your stay didn't start how you expected, but I am glad we were able to turn that around for you.

Thanks again for taking the time to post this response. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcoola
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2012

A family group of 5 stayed here for 2 nights in January 2012 to attend a wedding. The location of the apartments is really good, a few minutes walk from the restaurants and shops in Southgate. It was relatively expensive but the stay was in the school holidays and adjacent to the Australian Tennis Open. The apartment was reasonably compact, but did have a balcony with an angled view to the Botanic Gardens and Government House, although the predominant view was of the next apartment block. The 'main' bedroom with ensuite was quite small and awkward but the bed was reasonable. We were kept awake by a very noisy group nearby at 4 am (not surprising given the proximity to the casino) but there was no way of telling where they were so no use complaining. It was a serviced apartment, but the so-called supermarket nearby was a glorified convenience store with limited range and very high prices, seemingly designed to discourage cooking and direct you to the multitude of restaurants

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper99Marcoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#61 of 159 in Melbourne
1,415 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#49 of 159 in Melbourne
438 reviews
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#12 of 159 in Melbourne
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#86 of 159 in Melbourne
122 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank Melbourne

Property: Quest Southbank Melbourne
Address: 16 Kavanagh St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,156 - ₹ 13,234
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Convention Centre, Crown Entertainment complex and Melbourne's CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains/ Trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and CBD/Federation Square. Complimentary Wi-Fi powered by a high speed NBN line, 40inch LED TV's and Foxtel/ Cable TV is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing