We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
US$ 143
US$ 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 179
US$ 174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 142
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 91
US$ 88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Art Series - The Olsen(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 172
US$ 137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 142
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 53
US$ 49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 245
US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,098)
Filter reviews
2,099 results
Traveller rating
782
877
307
87
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
877
307
87
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarts centrecity roadgreat locationbusy roadbedroom apartmentwashing machine and dryersouth bankshort walkbuffet breakfastroom servicegreat place to stayfull kitchengood sizecrown casinowould stay againeasy walkyarra river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,000 - 2,005 of 2,099 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Only stayed one night to attend event in the city. But as there were two of us, mother & adult daughter even for one night I preferred a two bedroom apartment (she snores!). Great price even leading into Aust Open tennis. Located perfectly to walk to venue in the evening, and then dinner in south bank.jog in the morning along the yarra and breakfast in south bank, all great. Left car in car park for 1/2 the day after checkout no dramas, and all front desk staff chirpy and helpful. Swimming pool & gym look great, though not used due to time constraints. Location great for walking to art gallery in morning.Would def stay again. Though agree with other reviews, if your noise sensitive bring ear plugs, I did, had a great nights sleep in lovely comfortable bed...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Can highly recommend making use of the Indoor Heated Pool and Gym which are both located on the 18th floor next time. A fantastic place to relax and unwind or get a fix of exercise while enjoying the great city views.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is an excellent hotel for business travellers. Located in the heart of the city, it is within easy walking distance of Federation Square, the Victoria Arts Centre, the Southbank restaurant strip and only a short taxi ride to the wonderful Victoria Museum and Gallery. The one bedroom apartment was a good size and although it could do with a freshen up, it was comfortable. Free wifi was not available and these days should be included. The food in the restaurant and room service was somewhat ordinary but with such an array of great restaurants and cafes within walking distance it wasn't difficult to find somewhere fabulous to eat and drink at any time of the day or night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazbahWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Many thanks for proving us with feedback following your recent stay with us at Mantra Southbank. I appreciate your comments and will be sure to share these with our team.

We are glad that you found the location to be ideal for your needs, although obviously disappointed that we could not meet your needs with regard to the Free WiFi service and our food quality.

On the 27th March our new chef introduced a refreshed restaurant menu that we feel will better cater to our guests needs with a range of good value, freshly cooked and homestyle meals.

Our aim is to provide high quality and high speed internet access at the hotel and having recenlty changed to a new provider we will continue to work with them to meet the needs of our guests in providing a quality service at good value for money.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage in the near future and hope that you will enjoy the new food on offer in the restaurant.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We recently stayed for a week whilst I was working - husband and baby in tow. The one bedroom apartments are wonderful. I've stayed here before in 2009. The kitchen is well stocked with practical appliances, but there is no oven and in this apartment, there was no peeler. (Annoying, but easily replaced at supermarket.)

For staying with the baby, the apartment was pretty useful. A bath and the internal laundry with both a washing machine and dryer rate highly for working, travelling Mums. We had to move the microwave to the bench out of the reach of baby and we shifted the coffee table with it's sharp edges out of the way, upturned on its side. Otherwise, baby happily walked about in relative comfort and safety. We had no problem getting the pram in and out of the building. Even though we didn't use it, the staff had already set up a cot in our room in preparation for our arrival. (We bring our own.)

Although not huge, the apartment was more than adequate and comfortable for our family this week. We cooked all our meals here. There are two supermarkets in easy reach - an IGA just down the road (relatively expensive but nearby and reasonably well stocked of basics) and a larger Coles just across the river. A slightly longer walk away, an enormous Woolworths on Lonsdale St.

If you are working in the arts precinct, this is definitely the place to stay. Everything is in comfortable and safe walking distance. If you are on holidays here, it is a terrific place to stay as you are extremely conveniently located to many of Melbourne's major sites and public transport.

The staff were, on the whole, super. The only problem we had was after we'd left, trying to extricate a forgotten electrical cord and speaking on the telephone to people who were not confident English speakers. This took some time and was rather frustrating and difficult not to cause offense or be offended. Otherwise, the people on the front desk were outstanding - helpful and smiley.

There is quite a lot of outside noise. The busy road out the front of the hotel is very noisy and there is quite a lot of street noise. The windows do open. You have complete control over the very effective air conditioning. I'd ask for a room which is not on City Road and if you need to sleep with the windows open, perhaps pack a set of earplugs to ensure maximum comfort, especially on the weekends.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As for an apartment which is not on City Road.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinyfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thankyou for your feedback following your stay at the hotel in December. Your comments are very much appreciated and I will be sure that they are shared with the team.

Please accpet our apologies that there were missing items in your kitchen, it is certainly intended that every apartment at the hotel is equipped to cater to guests wishing to cook a full meal.

We are glad that you found the staff service to be of a high standard as it is something that we pride ourselves on so that all travellers and in particular families are made to feel most welcome.

As you have mentioned, we would recommend that anyone who is a light sleeper request a room away frm City Road to ensure that you are protected from any likely traffic noise. Our Reservations and Front Office teams are always keen to fill individual requests for room location where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future when you are next travelling through Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed with Mantra Southbank for two nights on the AFL Grand Final weekend. As you would expect the hotel was near full however we experienced very helpful and friendly staff at all times. On site parking (25 AUD per night) is great if you have a car however from this location you can walk the CBD easily. The rooms were modern and fresh (we had a 2 bedroom citiview apartment) and the beds were close to the most comfortable I have experienced away from home. The hotel has a bar/restaurant but again with proximity to the numerous bars/cafes/restaurants Melbourne has on offer we chose to eat out. We can highly recommend and will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theflyingkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thankyou for your kind feedback following your stay at the hotel during the AFL Grand Final weekend.

The hotel is in a great location for any football travelllers being at the Eastern End of Southbank and a delightful walk along the river to the MCG.

I will be sure to share your comments with the staff and great to hear that you found the beds to be super comfortable. We are in the process of ordering new mattresses for 20 of our rooms as part of the ongoing process to ensure that guests always get a good nights sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed for 5 nights in Mantra while on a business trip. A convenient place close to HWT tower where our office is located. They have friendly staff with the quick response on my short notice request for booking a conference room and I didn't see any of the staff without the smile during my stay. Above all I liked the breakfast and the delicious freshly made egg Benedict which I couldn't resist not to order every morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thankyou for your kind comments following your stay at the hotel and we are very happy to hear that our breakfast was to your satisfaction, and in particular that the eggs benedict were irresistible. Our newly revamped buffet breakfast now includes hot items that can be "made to order" so that they are fresh and hot and delivered to your table.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews