We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price but thats it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #63 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, good price but thats it!”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This hotel is in a very good location, walking distance to the stadiums and southbank and city. The price is good but there were a couple of things that would prevent me staying there again.
First, the sofa bed sheets seemed like they hadnt been changed, the spare blanket had holes in it and the airconditioning was terrible. Second, reception staff seem to have been trained to have a condescending tone especially one with a hideous Kiwi accent who insisted on speaking down at me loudly for everyone to hear. Soooo annoying!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at the hotel in January. I appreciate your comments and will be sure to share these with the team.

It is disappointing to read that although you enjoyed both the location and the price we were not able to meet your expectations with our service and our linen quality. Please accept our sincere apologies with regard to these issues and can assure you and others that we will continue to review our processes to ensure that we make improvements in both of these areas.

We hope that if you are back in Melbourne at some point that you may give us another opportunity to see for yourself the ongoing improvements that continue to be made at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    584
    235
    66
    29
See reviews for
474
317
28
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bright, victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Only stayed one night to attend event in the city. But as there were two of us, mother & adult daughter even for one night I preferred a two bedroom apartment (she snores!). Great price even leading into Aust Open tennis. Located perfectly to walk to venue in the evening, and then dinner in south bank.jog in the morning along the yarra and breakfast in south bank, all great. Left car in car park for 1/2 the day after checkout no dramas, and all front desk staff chirpy and helpful. Swimming pool & gym look great, though not used due to time constraints. Location great for walking to art gallery in morning.Would def stay again. Though agree with other reviews, if your noise sensitive bring ear plugs, I did, had a great nights sleep in lovely comfortable bed...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Can highly recommend making use of the Indoor Heated Pool and Gym which are both located on the 18th floor next time. A fantastic place to relax and unwind or get a fix of exercise while enjoying the great city views.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is an excellent hotel for business travellers. Located in the heart of the city, it is within easy walking distance of Federation Square, the Victoria Arts Centre, the Southbank restaurant strip and only a short taxi ride to the wonderful Victoria Museum and Gallery. The one bedroom apartment was a good size and although it could do with a freshen up, it was comfortable. Free wifi was not available and these days should be included. The food in the restaurant and room service was somewhat ordinary but with such an array of great restaurants and cafes within walking distance it wasn't difficult to find somewhere fabulous to eat and drink at any time of the day or night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazbah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Many thanks for proving us with feedback following your recent stay with us at Mantra Southbank. I appreciate your comments and will be sure to share these with our team.

We are glad that you found the location to be ideal for your needs, although obviously disappointed that we could not meet your needs with regard to the Free WiFi service and our food quality.

On the 27th March our new chef introduced a refreshed restaurant menu that we feel will better cater to our guests needs with a range of good value, freshly cooked and homestyle meals.

Our aim is to provide high quality and high speed internet access at the hotel and having recenlty changed to a new provider we will continue to work with them to meet the needs of our guests in providing a quality service at good value for money.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage in the near future and hope that you will enjoy the new food on offer in the restaurant.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We recently stayed for a week whilst I was working - husband and baby in tow. The one bedroom apartments are wonderful. I've stayed here before in 2009. The kitchen is well stocked with practical appliances, but there is no oven and in this apartment, there was no peeler. (Annoying, but easily replaced at supermarket.)

For staying with the baby, the apartment was pretty useful. A bath and the internal laundry with both a washing machine and dryer rate highly for working, travelling Mums. We had to move the microwave to the bench out of the reach of baby and we shifted the coffee table with it's sharp edges out of the way, upturned on its side. Otherwise, baby happily walked about in relative comfort and safety. We had no problem getting the pram in and out of the building. Even though we didn't use it, the staff had already set up a cot in our room in preparation for our arrival. (We bring our own.)

Although not huge, the apartment was more than adequate and comfortable for our family this week. We cooked all our meals here. There are two supermarkets in easy reach - an IGA just down the road (relatively expensive but nearby and reasonably well stocked of basics) and a larger Coles just across the river. A slightly longer walk away, an enormous Woolworths on Lonsdale St.

If you are working in the arts precinct, this is definitely the place to stay. Everything is in comfortable and safe walking distance. If you are on holidays here, it is a terrific place to stay as you are extremely conveniently located to many of Melbourne's major sites and public transport.

The staff were, on the whole, super. The only problem we had was after we'd left, trying to extricate a forgotten electrical cord and speaking on the telephone to people who were not confident English speakers. This took some time and was rather frustrating and difficult not to cause offense or be offended. Otherwise, the people on the front desk were outstanding - helpful and smiley.

There is quite a lot of outside noise. The busy road out the front of the hotel is very noisy and there is quite a lot of street noise. The windows do open. You have complete control over the very effective air conditioning. I'd ask for a room which is not on City Road and if you need to sleep with the windows open, perhaps pack a set of earplugs to ensure maximum comfort, especially on the weekends.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As for an apartment which is not on City Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinyfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thankyou for your feedback following your stay at the hotel in December. Your comments are very much appreciated and I will be sure that they are shared with the team.

Please accpet our apologies that there were missing items in your kitchen, it is certainly intended that every apartment at the hotel is equipped to cater to guests wishing to cook a full meal.

We are glad that you found the staff service to be of a high standard as it is something that we pride ourselves on so that all travellers and in particular families are made to feel most welcome.

As you have mentioned, we would recommend that anyone who is a light sleeper request a room away frm City Road to ensure that you are protected from any likely traffic noise. Our Reservations and Front Office teams are always keen to fill individual requests for room location where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future when you are next travelling through Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed with Mantra Southbank for two nights on the AFL Grand Final weekend. As you would expect the hotel was near full however we experienced very helpful and friendly staff at all times. On site parking (25 AUD per night) is great if you have a car however from this location you can walk the CBD easily. The rooms were modern and fresh (we had a 2 bedroom citiview apartment) and the beds were close to the most comfortable I have experienced away from home. The hotel has a bar/restaurant but again with proximity to the numerous bars/cafes/restaurants Melbourne has on offer we chose to eat out. We can highly recommend and will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theflyingkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronBond31, General Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thankyou for your kind feedback following your stay at the hotel during the AFL Grand Final weekend.

The hotel is in a great location for any football travelllers being at the Eastern End of Southbank and a delightful walk along the river to the MCG.

I will be sure to share your comments with the staff and great to hear that you found the beds to be super comfortable. We are in the process of ordering new mattresses for 20 of our rooms as part of the ongoing process to ensure that guests always get a good nights sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Aaron Bond
General Manager
Mantra Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#47 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#51 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#97 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Property: Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,899 - ₹ 16,815
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's vibrant arts and entertainment district which includes the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre, Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne is also within walking distance of most of the major sporting venues including both the MCG and Hisense Arena to the east; and Crown Casino and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre to the west. Whether arriving by public transport or car the hotel is easily accessible! Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city and nearby Melbourne Botanical Gardens. All rooms feature a lounge and dining area, Foxtel and digital channels including Fox Footy, fully-equipped kitchen with full-size cook top, oven, refrigerator and dishwasher, laundry with washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board, wireless internet access (charges apply), ISD/STD direct dial phones, air-conditioning, sound system with CD player, some rooms with an ipod dock, pay movies, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel offers excellent facilities for both leisure and corporate guests and is ideal for families. Mantra Southbank Melbourne facilities include a 15 metre indoor heated pool and spa, well appointed gym, Restaurant and Bar and Conference and Meeting facilities; which will accommodate between 20 and 60 delegates. Our Swan Lake room offers an outdoor area with spectacular city views. All-inclusive half-day, full-day and residential conference packages are available with the flexibility to tailor specific catering and audio-visual needs to suit all requirements. Mantra Southbank Melbourne is the perfect choice for your next Melbourne getaway. WHAT ARE WE CLOSE TO: * Victorian Arts Centre- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Concert Hall- 5 minute walk * Hammer Hall- 5 minute walk * Sidney Myer music bowl- 5 minute walk * National Gallery of Victoria- 5 minute walk * Australian Centre for moving images- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Aquarium- 10 minute walk * Botanical gardens- 5 minute walk * Crown Casino- 10 minute walk * Flinders St Station- 5 minute walk * Southern Cross Station- 15 minute walk * Federation Square- 5 minute walk * Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit & Golf Course- 20 minute walk * Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre- 10 minute walk * MCG - 15 minute walk * Rod Laver Arena, Olympic Park, Hisense Arena- 15 minute walk * Etihad Stadium- 25 minute walk * Southgate restaurants & boutiques, 5 minute walk * Tullamarine Airport - 40 minutes by road * Avalon airport- 1 hour by road * Free City Circle trams- 10 minute walk * Eureka tower- 5 minute walk * DFO South Wharf- 15 minute walk * Williamstown ferry- 5 minute walk * St Kilda- 15 minute by tram * St Kilda Beach- 15 minutes by tram * Luna park- 15 minute tram * Regent Theatre-15 minute walk * Lygon St- 15 minutes by tram ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing