We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a Holiday Break Too...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #14 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for a Holiday Break Too...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at the Westin Melbourne for our 30th Anniversary break. It was a great stay. Not that it was perfect... But what made up for the broken circuit breaker & the breakfast that could have been better from our experience in other Starwood establishments, was the service provided by the staff... They were always friendly and obliging, always trying to provide the best. And if you don't get the opportiinity to meet Ian (concierge) then you should seek him out! Ian was a delight and we'd go back in the hope that he was there to meet us.
We loved the spacious bathroom facilities, the comfy bed & the location.
We were told that this etstablishment was more often used for corporate stays. That may be true... But don't disregard the Westin Melbourne for your holiday or short break in the CBD of Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you chose The Westin Melbourne as an escape to celebrate such a special occasion. Thank you for taking the time to recognize the outstanding service our associates and Mr Ian Morrison provides. Ian recently won the 2012 Starwood Pacific award for “caring for our guests” and simply he makes a difference to all he comes into contact with and is a great ambassador for our hotel for which we are truly thankful. May we extend our apologies for the technical issue and dining service you experienced, we would be interested to hear your specific feedback if you would consider contacting the hotel to be directed to our Front Office Manager. On behalf of our associates and Ian, congratulations on 30 years of marriage and wishing you both many more happy years. We look forward to seeing you again. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    481
    126
    49
    29
See reviews for
237
781
131
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed here for four days on business and had an extremely relaxed stay. On arrival at 7 am my room was immediately available allowing me to freshen up for the day ahead. The room was well appointed and extremely spacious. I only had one breakfast which while excellent at the current sterling exchange rate seemed expensive.

During my stay the staff were always helpful and responsive and he calming atmosphere of the hotel made it a great retreat from the hussle of the city outside. The central location of the hotel meant all my meetings were easily accesible by foot and there are great dining options on your doorstep.

Watch out for high laundry charges, but all in all a great stay in this vibrant and cosmopoitain city.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay and are not concerned about a view go for a room overlookig the inner cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for recognizing our personal service, comfortable guest rooms and central location. We were pleased we were able to assist with an early morning check in to start your business stay. We look forward to providing you with instinctive service on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Hi all, just returned from a 2 night stay and the beautifully presented Westin Melbourne on Collins Street! Just like all the great reviews said, I also enjoyed the perfect Melbourne experience thanks to the location of this hotel and amazing Concierge service we received!

I usually am a bit hesitant to let someone else decide where I eat out however this Concierge choose the most amazing Italian restaurant 1 block from the Westin in a very quiet alley way. We were more than impressed by the restaurant and the enthusiasm from all the staff who organised this last minute decision for us.

On the 2nd night my trust was with the staff of Westin and the same Concierge squeezed me into the forever popular Nobu restaurant at Crown within 20 minutes! Amazing service we received and were treated as 'Special guests of the Westin'.

Loved the rooms, free wi-fi in the lobby area of hotel with great city aspect. Rooms were very clean, and the 'Upgrade to city view' was worth every dollar. We didn't choose buffet breakfast, as Melbourne has so many cafes within 1 block of this hotel.

Am looking forward to staying here again, and as a Starwood Guest (free membership) we can continue to enjoy a later checkout and great service!

Thank you again to all the staff who made our experience very memorable!

Room Tip: "Upgrade to city view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcs325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Reviewer. We are pleased you enjoyed our revitalized facilities and personalized service. Our Concierge team will certainly be inspired by your comments and are always delighted to assist in organizing memorable Melbourne experiences to enhance your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
353 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed here twice on this trip, on Saturday 21-22 April and again on Anzac Day, 24-25 April. Both visits were superb, on the first visit, Aaron was so much help with many suggestions on what and where to eat. The first visit was in room 711 and the second in 710 so not much difference between them with the first overlooking Collins Street and the second overlooking the square.

As always, the beds are so soft and luxurious!

Valet parking was A$50 per night but seeign it was raining, I considered, well-worth the small extravagance.

They had a Easter promotion with complementary chocolate martinis and I'd recommend these!

I'll be back here again in a couple of weeks and recommend this inner-city hotel if your budget allows.

Room Tip: Being an inner-city hotel, the view is of the street so nothing special there and I found they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your personalized feedback and for choosing to return to the Westin. Your feedback is certainly appreciated and we will ensure it is shared with our teams including special recognition to Aaron. For future Melbourne stays, please visit our Westin branded website to view our upcoming offers, the only place to earn Starwood Preferred Guest points and benefits. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I'm really sad to be saying this, but I just had my last stay. Those beds, ugh. People seem to love the soft beds, and people in my party did too, so it's probably just people whose backs are aggravated by soft, saggy beds. I love a soft bed BUT I need support too. This time, again, I had to re-arrange the bed (after an hour of the back pinging and zapping) so I was lying across it, where the pillows go. The mattress had some power there. Normal bit, the hips sagged down and pulled everything down with them. ouch.

It's sad because in every other respect, this hotel does it so well (apart from breakfast, I head out for that, too). Wonderful quiet rooms, amazing bathroom, excellent pile of pillows to choose from, quiet fridge, nice rooms, great staff, top location, good attention to detail.... it's a nice grand-ish hotel.

But those dreadful beds have done it for me. A soft mattress has a short life before it becomes a saggy bed. I did ring ahead, and ask if I could be in a room with a non-saggy bed, but evidently they're all the same. I have a soft bed, and it doesn't sag. Theirs do. Goodbye Westin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our signature Heavenly Bed so we were extremely disappointed to read your comments. Please rest assured we take this feedback very seriously and request that you contact our Reservations Manager directly at the hotel for your mattress comfort requirements. We do have a selection of beds for guests who require slightly extra support in a mattress and we will note this in your profile for future stays. We look forward to providing you a more distinctive experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,457 - ₹ 34,759
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions.SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing