We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #18 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I love the Westin hotels, and the Melbourne branch was no exception. The beds are always fantastic, they are called the Westin heavenly beds. The rooms are what you would expect from a top hotel, lovely bathroom, everything pristine and clean. It's in a great location in the city, you are able to walk to Flinders Street Station, and I was able to get an inside room, where you don't hear any street noise. Breakfast was very nice. Staff were friendly and helpful when we wanted to change rooms so we didn't back on to an elevator. The only silly thing is that you have to walk through the lobby to get the pool and spa area, which is annoying, to get up another elevator, but I mean it's not a huge problem. I would highly recommend staying at the westin if you feel like splurging!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for delightful comments. We are sincerely grateful you are also willing to recommend us to others. We are pleased you enjoyed a refreshing stay and you had the opportunity to experience our tranquil Wellness Centre. Please note there is internal access from each guest floor to the Wellness Centre via the lifts at the north end of the hotel – please enquire at Concierge and or through Service express for specific directions on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    498
    128
    51
    32
See reviews for
243
808
132
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

I recommend to get promotion rate so ou can save about 20 percent, please go to starwood website. I usually use starwood, shangila, priority, and accor for hotels. I like sheraton , westin and this westin mel is very good example of their hotel symbol.
Location
Classy look of hotel ( bangkok is not )
Lobby
Smooth checkin checkout I really like the part while you dont need to write a lot for checking in even you have 3 rooms you only need to present your passport. Maybe its different law by country but some hotel let you wait so long while you are not enter the place yet.

Love 24 ours workout look. If you go 11 pm, you dont see anyone. Its not supervised by hotel staff so maybe a little scarly. They have lap pool indoor, other facilities. I like the fact starbucks is located downstair , which open 7 to 11 pm. Also there is chanel boutique. You dont need to go inside but when you want ti explain to your friend about the location, is very easy.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank triptostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you enjoyed our instinctive service and luxurious facilities, and we met your expectations for a distinctive Westin experience. For your next visit to Melbourne, please also feel free to book directly through our in-house reservations team or on our hotel’s website for best rates guaranteed and Starwood Preferred Guest recognition. We look forward to providing another warm welcome when you next return to Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Overall, this is a nice property with a great location. In fact, it would be hard to get a better location in Melbourne. However, they nickel and dime you for everything...from internet to breakfast. It was annoying that the only internet available in room was a hard wired connection and no wi-fi (wi-fi is available in the lobby). I use an iPad when I travel which meant I could not access emails while in my room unless I used my cellular connection. Breakfast buffett is expensive at $40 and did not offer anything special. You are better off running to a local coffee shop and saving $30/day. In general, I will stay here again, but the property will need a refurb in a few years.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomuchtimeintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Reviewer. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location to make the most of your time in the city. Regarding internet access, we are currently in the process of confirming wireless internet for all of our guest rooms. Until then, internet is available by wireless router or as you mentioned, high speed broadband. We also provide complimentary wireless access in our Business Centre and Lobby Lounge. In regards to refurbishment, we have recently refreshed all of our guest rooms and are currently developing plans to some of our public spaces which will ensure long-term viability of the hotel and reaffirm our position as one of the city’s most popular hotels. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Wow! Room upgrade, champagne chocolates and strawberries. Could not be more helpful and everything went wonderfully well with the surprise for my wife. Well done Westin. 6 stars.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for considering our hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary. We are pleased you had a memorable stay with us and hope your special experiences will bring you back to The Westin Melbourne in the future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
364 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Earned two free nights via the Starwood "Be Happy" promotions (it pays to be a SPG member if you enjoy travel, membership is free). We were allocated a room on the SPG floor (3rd floor) overlooking a busy street but we could hardly hear any street noise. Bathroom was quite huge, with two sinks, a separate shower and bathtub. We loved their Sweet Sleeper king sized bed which was for some strange reason much better than the Sheraton beds in Asia. The indoor lap pool and small spa were nice, but the gym was miniscule and claustrophobic. We attended the solemn 11:00 am service at St. Patrick's Cathedral and hurriedly walked back to the hotel to have Easter lunch at their Allegro Restaurant. The entrees and mains although not buffet style but shared platters were delicious and beautifully prepared. Dessert was buffet with all you can eat chocolate eggs. We also had dinner at the Lobby Lounge and saw a few comedians who were in town for the Melbourne Comedy festival. A different but enjoyable way to spend the Easter break.

Room Tip: Test the acoustics in the bathroom, it's so big that it echoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRYMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,410 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,114 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
980 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,550 - ₹ 39,159
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing