We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #15 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here in April 2012.Had a lovely stay. Room good size, very comfy bed, made use of the pillow menu as I find most hotel pillows a tad soft. There were memory foam pillows available. Flat screen TV as is standard nowadays but nice touch to have surround sound facilitated by 4 small cube speakers at the 4 corners of the room. Liked the Bose CD player/radio/alarm. There's also a DVD player. Sensor lighting in room and bathroom. Old style bathroom with shower over bath. Spotlessly clean. Nice roger & Gallet toiletries. The decor will need updating sometime soon. Room service whe ordered, came quickly & was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doz y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,481
    1,259
    364
    121
    69
See reviews for
598
2,940
334
928
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for A great Hotel in Melbourne this is it. All rooms have great views as the hotel starts at floors 30+. The rooms are well sizes with great technology. If you have a iPad, iPhone or similar device then bring a 1.5mm audio cord to plug into the wall, not USB. There is a surround system which can also play DVDs. The Beds are the biggest bonus and you will want to know where you can buy the underlay as they are AMAZING!!! All in all you must stay here!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Timmy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Room excellent :quite spacious and well appointed.Views exceptional from 40th floor (all rooms located on 37th to 50th floors).Equipment modern ,including a fine Bose radio alarm-particularly welcome since so many hotels have abandoned this useful civilised item.Bathroom fittings all quite new and in good condition.
Good sound insulation in rooms.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Reasonably good value.
Firmly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbuckley43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities.

I am very glad to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This Sofitel needs to refresh their rooms. I have tried a few Sofitel lately and found that unfortunatly, the brand is not a garanty of what you will find. Some Sofitel are great, others really need work. Well situated but not the best it could be. Staff was friendly but nothing out of the ordinary. My flight got in around 9:30 hrs in the morning. My room was not ready, which I understand, but I was not offer to wait for it at the Club Lounge, which would have been a nice touch to have.
Rather far from the airport but so is city center. 50$ AU cab fare.
We were on the highest floor, with access to the Club. The room was rather small for that category. The furniture and bathroom are almost on the " time to change and refresh" category. Domotic everywhere in the room, but wifi at 27$ AU / per day and more, if you exceed a maximum download ( my newspapers exceeded the maximum allowed!) and if you want high speed. The club lounge was excellent, breakfast was good and just what you need to have, no more. The 5-7 wine and hors-d'oeuvres was very good and very popular. The view from the lounge is great. Restaurant " le 35" offers an excellent meal, in taste and in plating, a much too expensive wine list( only one choice under under 60$, and Australian wines amongst the most expensive...!) service in general and specially wine service itself and greetings are disastrous, , even shameful for an hotel of that category.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pourvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, and it is with regret that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to correct these mistakes and meet your expectations if you decide to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in a fabulous corner room on the 41st floor. I'm not one for views but they were amazing. (After arriving at 11.30pm we were initially checked in to a foul smelling smokers room, much to our delight it wasn't any trouble for the polite and helpful staff to change us to another perfect room)
There is nothing better than snuggling down into one of their delicious King size beds. We had full control of the temperature in our room which was great, as some nights were hot and some were cold. All the amenities your could want, fluffy dressing gowns and slippers, plush towels, etc. The inroom dining and mini bar was a little pricey for my taste, and as Accor members we are entitled to 50% discount so we made the most of the delicious breakfast, an egg white omelette was no trouble at all and tasted really nice, all the food in the buffet was beautifully presented and very fresh. We were also given a couple of complimentary drink vouchers for Sofi's which we forgot to use, but we did have dinner in No35. I booked our table on line, we had a window seat with beautiful views of the city lights. We ate 3 courses, the service was faultless, and the courses were delicious, especially the tasting plate and the gnocchi.
Valet was fantastic, it wasn't any trouble at all for the attendant to grab something from our car at 4am, no complaints! Taxi's wait out the front and the Tram stop is directly on the street.
The staff do have this Parisiene thing going on, where they greet you in French which took a while to get used to.
It was such a pleasure to stay at this hotel, we got a fantastic price thanks to our Accor membership, we have stayed here once before, and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiMareeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and thorough review of your recent stay.

It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels.

I was very pleased to learn that you found all our team at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to be friendly and efficient. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.

We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,554 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,681 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,032 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,334 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 160 in Melbourne
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,989 - ₹ 26,721
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing