We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware your booking reviews and photos oversell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Hi.

The reviews and photos were misleading for the room I have. I am guessing there are both refurbished and non-refurbished rooms. We got the later

The bathroom. You can't swing a cat in. The door touches the toilet so you can't even fully open.

The bed is comfy though

Room too small to want to work at the desk provided. I'd definitely say room for one only

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank christine1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 October 2017

Hi Christine, I am sorry that we have not met your expectations on this occasion. It’s good to hear that you had a comfy nights sleep in our Rydges Dream beds.
We do have a variety of room types available, including King rooms and suites, which are larger than the Queen room. It’s exciting to also advise that we have recently
commenced our hotel refurbishment plans and are looking forward to the updates in all areas of our hotel, including the guest rooms, bathrooms and public spaces.
Our guests’ feedback will be instrumental in this process of planning and implementation.
Thanks for taking some time out to post your thoughts. Kind Regards, Kumi Melville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

This property has so much going for it, great location, decent restaurant and bar by hotel standards, super comfortable beds but it's just so inconsistent and as a regular business traveller you notice these things. A three night stay became a week and in that time housekeeping was a lucky dip, some days the room would he spotless others was like they spent 3 minutes straightening the sheets, the service at the restaurant was the same, some nights perfect others they weren't interested, but the attitude of the reception when I was checking out and made the mistake of asking if a jacket had been left in the restaurant the night before was simply jaw dropping... I was literally told off for asking... Told to check with the restaurant who in turn told me to check at reception... It was like a scene out of Faulty Towers ...but real... Never again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank woftam66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Consistent and exceptional customer service is something we strive for, so it is very disappointing to read of your ‘hit & miss’ housekeeping and restaurant service. Obviously no one wants to be likened to faulty towers and I am very sorry that you were sent back and forth to reception in search of your jacket. Ill addresses this with the team. Undoubtedly this simple request could have been handled better. Thanks again for giving us the feedback
Kind Regards, Kumi Melville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Booked here for 3 nights for a city getaway. The location is awesome so close to everything. Breakfast was great. Room was very spacious but we found the bed way too soft as well as the pillows. We asked about firmer pillows and received extra soft pillows. The Bec was the only downfall.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hello,
It is good to read that you enjoyed our location and breakfast, I will be sure to pass that feedback on to the Food and Beverage team. I do apologise that your request for some firmer pillows was not met and I will be passing this on to our Housekeeping team.
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights in a King Spa Suite and stayed on level 3. We were disappointed by the noise and the lack of consistency with the renovations in the room.

First, it was so noisy that I had to sleep with earplugs to get any sleep. It was not only the traffic outside but you can hear the loud flush of toilets and running of showers from the room above and the air conditioner/heater is also noisy.

The bathroom looks like it was recently renovated but the lack of renovation for the rest of the room (the wardrobe, doors and door frames look decades old) really let down the impression made by the room - feels like it's not the premium quality promised on the website.

Finally, just a small but easy to implement piece of feedback: We booked this King Spa Suite especially for the twin spa but there was no bubble bath for the spa. It would be good to provide this for guests.

Otherwise, the green rewards program was great - we enjoyed having the choice of not having our towels washed everyday and the hotel gave us a $10 credit to use at Locanda every day we did this. And we of course enjoyed the location.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bronopoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with some feedback of your recent stay. We appreciate your candid comments in regards to the room. We are currently in the process of planning a renovation to the rooms and this feedback will go a long way to making improvements for our guests. It is also great to hear that you took advantage of our Green Room's offer!
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Lovely clean room, and most importantly it had a big bath! The room was very compact, but perfectly adequate and equipped for two, with plenty of tea/coffee choices, and the staff were wonderful. We only wanted a quick overnight stay but could easily have stayed longer. The food (dinner and breakfast) were excellent and plentiful, the ambience in the dining room was very good, waitresses efficient at clearing tables and friendly. The hotel was only a short walk from malls, Chinatown and coffee shops - an enjoyable stopover. And although I wasn't attending the theatre, I would definitely stay here again if I were to do that - you couldn't get much nearer!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Anne-Marie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hello Anne-Marie,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear it was an enjoyable stay but, as you said, a pity you couldn't stay for longer! Hopefully you can return soon for a theatre production!
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,412 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
1,818 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 161 in Melbourne
1,601 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₹ 7,556 - ₹ 17,977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing