We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean rooms, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Lovely clean room, and most importantly it had a big bath! The room was very compact, but perfectly adequate and equipped for two, with plenty of tea/coffee choices, and the staff were wonderful. We only wanted a quick overnight stay but could easily have stayed longer. The food (dinner and breakfast) were excellent and plentiful, the ambience in the dining room was very good, waitresses efficient at clearing tables and friendly. The hotel was only a short walk from malls, Chinatown and coffee shops - an enjoyable stopover. And although I wasn't attending the theatre, I would definitely stay here again if I were to do that - you couldn't get much nearer!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Anne-Marie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hello Anne-Marie,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear it was an enjoyable stay but, as you said, a pity you couldn't stay for longer! Hopefully you can return soon for a theatre production!
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 2,309 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

Fantastic location if city central is what you are looking for, walking distance to everything needed and 15-20 mins taxi from zoo, 30 mins taxi from Airport. Room was extremely clean and housekeeping had the best customer service on the occasion i had to ring them, however most other staff seem to lack even basic customer service skills. Front desk person didn't even look up from computer when greeting me or checking me in. There was a large vacuum cleaner left in the hall way of our floor for the entire time I was there (4 days) and staff very slow to take away dining trays etc from hallway left outside of the rooms which again were there most of the days i was there, one for nearly 24 hours straight and staff had been coming and going without doing anything about it. In room dining menu was very average, lacking any sort of condiments, no glasses provided with drinks, no bread with pasta, cold soup etc food obviously just reheated (i know that's what they do and that's ok but this was not done well, all the food I had (about 4 different times) had hot and cold spots and for the price paid it really was quite surprising. I travel a lot and this is one of the worst hotels for food and coffee in general. The coffee included in the breakfast buffet ($36 is not cheap breakfast so you expect at least decent coffee) was luke warm at best and vile tasting, if you wanted a proper espresso you paid extra for it and it too was only marginally better and took a long time to be bought out to you and was still not hot. There was a minor query with the bill at the end which i noticed after i had left so made an enquiry about it, the accounts person explained it but in quite an aggressive and rude way and dismissed my other queries which I then dropped as it was easier than dealing with this person.
Overall disappointing experience, have stayed in other Rydges Hotels and had great experience

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AussieSuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback from your recent stay at Rydges Melbourne. I appreciate your honest feedback and am quite surprised to hear of the service you received from different staff during your stay. Quality customer service is something we pride ourselves on and is a standard we ask from all our employees, so it is disappointing to hear this was not the case. I sincerely apologise for this and I will be following up with my team and also with the managers from our other departments. I do hope that you will return to Rydges Melbourne in the future to experience the quality service we know we can provide.
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of staying here a few times in the last month. Each time I have booked online so easily and as a member of priority rewards I am able to get a good rate. The day before arriving, n email is sent with a link to check in. Here you can say exactly what time
You will arrive and add any special requirements. I was able to advise of my early arrival due to attending conferences. Each time, my room was ready when I arrived which meant I could go to my room and refresh before heading out. A huge benefit which I truly appreciated. I also advised I needed a Powerpoint near the bed for a CPAP machine. On the first trip they arranged an extension lead. The second time it wasn't necessary and the powerpoint was easily accessible. Staff are friendly and obliging. I couldn't fault anything about my stay. I even thought I had left something there. When I called I was put through to housekeeping. They hadn't found anything but went to the effort of calling the person that cleaned the room to check. They called me back advising that nothing was found. Later I did find what I was looking for (inside a shoe!), and called them back to let them know. We stay here quite a bit but the last two times were exceptional. Great work! Thank you!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank neds0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi there,
It's so pleasing to hear how enjoyable your recent stays at Rydges Melbourne have been, and about how you take advantage of or prior check in email to communicate with the hotel before you arrive! I'm happy to hear you were able to find the lost item, I'll be sure to pass your feedback on to our Housekeeping team.
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback to the hotel, we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We booked two rooms here for three nights for a family of 4, including breakfast, and we were very happy.

The location is right near the theatre district, many restaurants and public transport. It is only a ten minute walk to the city shops.

The rooms were lovely and clean, especially the beds. The beds were comfortable and the block out curtains were great. Thankfully it was even hot enough to swim in the rooftop pool on afternoon!t

We stayed on the 15th floor, in rooms 1522 and 1523. We had a great view of the city.

Breakfast was everything I expected with a great selection of hot food and good service even though things were very busy. We enjoyed omelettes which were made to order.

We would definitely stay here again as it was great value!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Sarahceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 September 2017

Hi Sarah,
Thanks for taking the time to leave your great review. It is really nice to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much. How lucky you were with the weather as well, warm enough to go for a swim in the rooftop pool in September. We're glad you enjoyed the the breakfast buffet and the made to order omelettes and look forward to welcoming the family back next time you are in Melbourne. Thanks, Kumi Melville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Room was great. Restaurant was great. Staff were wonderful. Location was close to Chinatown as well as shopping malls in the CBD and we walked to Queen Victoria Markets as well as the Theatres. We were there for a girlie weekend and had a ball.

Room Tip: We would have been happy to stay in any room as they were all convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelene13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 September 2017

Hi Noelene,
Thanks for your glowing review, it sure sounds like you had a great stay in Melbourne and we are glad to have been the perfect base for your girls weekend away. We look forward to hosting you all again another time. Cheers, Kumi Melville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,408 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 161 in Melbourne
1,601 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
1,816 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₹ 7,535 - ₹ 17,928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing