We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,606)
Filter reviews
2,606 results
Traveller rating
696
1,016
578
208
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
696
1,016
578
208
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen spa suite locanda restaurant exhibition street her majesty's theatre rooftop pool buffet breakfast close to china town late checkout an upgrade comfy bed bourke street car parking location is excellent central location cbd mcg checkin
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 2,606 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We enjoyed our three night stay at Rydges in Melbourne and were able to walk or free-tram to everywhere we wanted to visit in the city- Southbank, NGV and shopping. We appreciated the green option of choosing not to have clean towels and sheets every day and enjoyed our complimentary drink in the Locanda bar as a 'Thank you' from the motel. Win, win! More hotels should implement this scheme.

Room Tip: lots of choice options given on checkin
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kennethbO7629RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hi Kenneth,
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Rydges Melbourne. As you said our location is very central in getting around Melbourne with ease. It is fantastic to hear that you took us up on our Green Initiative, as you said it is a win for both the environment whilst also rewarding our guests!
Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to see a performance at the theatre or love Asian cuisine - it's right across from China Town.
Rooms are comfortable and well equipped, but just a little tired.
Also the room I had was located right next to the elevator, which meant the noise kept me awake most of the night.
The elevators are incredibly slow, it was nothing to wait 10 minutes for one to arrive at my floor.
I also found the car parking (provided by an external provider) very expensive, even with a discount.
Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Avoid proximity to elevators
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you Wendy for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Rydges Melbourne. I am sorry to hear that the elevator caused you an interrupted sleep, if you come to stay with us again please ask reception and we would be happy to allocate a room further away from the lift. Thank you also for your feedback on the cost of parking as this is something we can look into.
Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Thank you so much for going above and beyond to make our stay super special.
I mentioned it was our 10 year anniversary and Rydges staff organised a lovely surprise .
Location is excellent ( just across the road from 18o6 ) winning .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hello Lisa,
Congratulations again on your 10 year anniversary! I am happy to hear that we were able to make your celebration a memorable one.
Hopefully we will see you again next year!
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Fantastic location, comfy beds, excellent customer service all the staff that we dealt with were very welcoming, friendly and professional. Yummy breakfast and a great happy hour in the local bar that had a great vibe on the Friday :) the hotel is a bit dated and in need of a revamp but the customer service and ease of check in etc outweighed this.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ftb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hello there,
It is great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and very pleasing to hear of the excellent customer service from all staff. We pride ourselves on our customer service standards and I will be share your feedback with all the team here at Rydges Melbourne.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at Rydges Melbourne in a standard king room. On first arrival the hotel presents extremely well, modern and warm and clearly recently refurbished. This changes when you get to the (not so recently refurbished) guest rooms. Rooms are average in size and showing their age and include comfortable king size bed, tv with Foxtel channels and personal device input, Bluetooth speaker and the loudest air conditioning unit I have ever experienced. Ever.

Bathroom was very tight and well and truly due for a refresh.

Breakfast was included in our package and was one of the best presented and best value I have come across in Melbourne. A great array of hot and cold options were available, interestingly barista coffee is available at an additional charge.

Hotel is located close to China town, theatres, shopping and trams. Service was pleasant throughout and whilst only an average experience, would recommend if you can pick it up for a good price.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 5cott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hi there,
Thank you for your honest and candid feedback on your recent stay at Rydges Melbourne. We appreciate any chance we can to improve our service to our guests and your feedback will be instrumental as we plan for the next refurbishment of the hotel. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and I will be sure to pass this feedback on to our food and beverage team.
Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews