We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,594)
Filter reviews
2,594 results
Traveller rating
695
1,012
575
205
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
695
1,012
575
205
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen spa suitelocanda restaurantexhibition streether majesty's theatrerooftop poolbuffet breakfastclose to china townlate checkoutan upgradecomfy bedbourke streetcar parkinglocation is excellentcentral locationcbdmcgcheckin
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 2,594 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to see a performance at the theatre or love Asian cuisine - it's right across from China Town.
Rooms are comfortable and well equipped, but just a little tired.
Also the room I had was located right next to the elevator, which meant the noise kept me awake most of the night.
The elevators are incredibly slow, it was nothing to wait 10 minutes for one to arrive at my floor.
I also found the car parking (provided by an external provider) very expensive, even with a discount.
Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Avoid proximity to elevators
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you Wendy for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Rydges Melbourne. I am sorry to hear that the elevator caused you an interrupted sleep, if you come to stay with us again please ask reception and we would be happy to allocate a room further away from the lift. Thank you also for your feedback on the cost of parking as this is something we can look into.
Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Thank you so much for going above and beyond to make our stay super special.
I mentioned it was our 10 year anniversary and Rydges staff organised a lovely surprise .
Location is excellent ( just across the road from 18o6 ) winning .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hello Lisa,
Congratulations again on your 10 year anniversary! I am happy to hear that we were able to make your celebration a memorable one.
Hopefully we will see you again next year!
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Fantastic location, comfy beds, excellent customer service all the staff that we dealt with were very welcoming, friendly and professional. Yummy breakfast and a great happy hour in the local bar that had a great vibe on the Friday :) the hotel is a bit dated and in need of a revamp but the customer service and ease of check in etc outweighed this.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ftb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hello there,
It is great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and very pleasing to hear of the excellent customer service from all staff. We pride ourselves on our customer service standards and I will be share your feedback with all the team here at Rydges Melbourne.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at Rydges Melbourne in a standard king room. On first arrival the hotel presents extremely well, modern and warm and clearly recently refurbished. This changes when you get to the (not so recently refurbished) guest rooms. Rooms are average in size and showing their age and include comfortable king size bed, tv with Foxtel channels and personal device input, Bluetooth speaker and the loudest air conditioning unit I have ever experienced. Ever.

Bathroom was very tight and well and truly due for a refresh.

Breakfast was included in our package and was one of the best presented and best value I have come across in Melbourne. A great array of hot and cold options were available, interestingly barista coffee is available at an additional charge.

Hotel is located close to China town, theatres, shopping and trams. Service was pleasant throughout and whilst only an average experience, would recommend if you can pick it up for a good price.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 5cott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F, Front Office Manager at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hi there,
Thank you for your honest and candid feedback on your recent stay at Rydges Melbourne. We appreciate any chance we can to improve our service to our guests and your feedback will be instrumental as we plan for the next refurbishment of the hotel. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and I will be sure to pass this feedback on to our food and beverage team.
Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Tim Fitzgerald -
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We recently stayed and held a national conference here with over 180 people in attendance. We chose this hotel as we have a great relationship and experience with Rydges in Sydney, and not being local in Melbourne, went with what we knew, or so we thought. The room was great, but with our numbers and set up, we were quite packed in. The breaks were to be held in Bobby McGees, which is a gaudy nightclub and for a group of professionals, the smell of stale alcohol at morning tea was not pleasant. The lighting in this area was also quite dingy, which added to the overall feel of the venue.

The AV equipment provided was substandard in our opinion to the equipment we have used at many other venues running events of a similar size. The staff continued to make excuses as to why it wasn't working, but when you have speakers fly in to key note an event and waive their hefty speaking fee to do so, then the mics don't work, it's not a good look.

Feedback from our attendees was that the accommodation was average, though my room was quite good. During our event the lifts from the conference room area were out of order, but also being used by staff at peak times (they knew our start and finish time) to move trolley etc, as the kitchen was also on our level. On the Saturday, some of our guests waited over 45 minutes for the lift to their rooms.

We will not book another event at this venue, as the running of this event was far from smooth. I'm also still waiting on the staff to get back to me about a charge on our credit card for accommodation booked.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2017

Hi Fiona,
I am to understand that your concerns listed above have been previously raised directly with our conference team and that these issues have been addressed. Although Bobby MeGees was the agreed upon space for the refreshment breaks of your conference, we are sorry that in hindsight you did not find this area suitable.
Our hotel was fully booked on the Saturday and during peak periods there are occasionally some delays whilst waiting for a lift, however 45 minutes is certainly unheard of and we are sorry for any delays experienced. All comments, good and bad, provided by our guests, assist us in our continuous review of our product and services, so we thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Kumi Melville Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews