We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family stay in melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #87 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had a two night stay at Rydges and our family enjoyed their lovely staff throughout the hotel. Breakfast was scrumptious with the friendly chef cooking eggs to your request.Front of house in the restaurant organised the meals and there was a lovely selection of food at reasonable prices. location was great for the theatre all walking distance into the city and plenty of things to see close by.The staff all helped where needed and made our stay a treat for the holidays, we would stay there again, thanks.Julie&family

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

It was very pleasing to read your comments on your stay, the location does lend itself to guests visiting Melbourne to see a show, the Locanda Steakhouse is prepared for the rush for pre-theatre dinners to ensure guests eat prior to curtain raising. Good to see you enjoyed the breakfast we have made a number of positive changes to the breakfast spread and the egg station is stiil there as a bonus! Hope we see you back again soon.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,931 of 2,394 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

I just stayed on my own for 3 nights from Monday till today (Thursday). Prior to booking the trip, I took some sounding through internet reviews and conversation with staff at the hotel.

After getting some confirmed information, and gauging there's more positive feedback than negative on the site, I decided to take the plunge to book.

I booked the Superior Suite, given there was a special on at the time and I was able to pay for it the usual price of a standard room.

I was excited about the trip and on Saturday (2 days prior to check in), I made a confirmation with the hotel. At the time, I asked about a special request I made through the iOS app, which was if possible, to be placed as high a floor as possible. The man on the phone confirmed this and said that I was already assigned to level 22, which is the highest floor. This was reflected in the app as well. To say the least, I was ecstatic, thanked the man and hung up.

I arrived at the hotel on Monday and the staff were friendly when checked in. However, I was checked in to room 1004 (Level 10) so I questioned it. They explained they have already assigned the room on level 22 to another customer. When I explained that I had already confirmed with them on Saturday that I would get level 22, all they said was they had already checked in another customer. There was no apology but excuses.

I was disappointed, but I ploughed on. I asked about the parking. When I booked I was told that it was $20 per exit. I was sure I was not mistaken as I asked this several time when I made sounding calls. However I was then told that it was still $20 a night as well as $20 per exit.

The good thing is that after I expressed my disappointment the manager decided to just charge me $20 for the entire parking.

The service of the staff and the price of the room is what kept this review from 1 (terrible). However, I would still say that the staff service is not perfect and may be a training problem.

When I walked into the room, a room which is supposedly recently renovated, I was less than impressed. The paint on the walls were chipped and looked poorly applied, looking like the painter did not bother to sand, cut in nor put in multiple layers. Curtains had holes in it. Doors were falling off the hinges on a couple of cupboards and furniture looked old and tired. The cleanness of the room is a bit dubious - black oil/mould? is found behind shower screen hinges, grout was dirty, stains were on the bath (how do they even manage that?!), chips on the wooden furniture and there is this stain on one of the dining chairs that I seriously hope is food, not something else.

Not to mention there is not real gym (a treadmill and a training bike is not a gym) on site and depend on the local Fitness First partnership and the corridors outside the rooms look tired too. Also there is no centralised heating system and, instead, there is one heater for the lounge and one in the bedroom. Both are extremely noisy, making being in the same room with one, e.g. sleeping, is near impossible.

While the rooms were cheaper than most for a suite, the condition of the room and the hotel facilities does not warrant 'good' value.

I have seen 3 star motel rooms in much better nick than this supposedly renovated room. They claim, on their TV information page, that they're 4.5 stars. I seriously doubt this...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Was very disappointing to read of your experience at the hotel that initially looked like you were so excited about your getaway. I can imagine having confirmed your requests the frustration that this had been changed by someone prior to arrival - which has been addressed with the front office since. I apologise also that you found the room quality and cleanliness of a poor standard and will be inspected and rectified. The rooftop fitness equipment is not a gym and we certainly dont advise people it is, we have complimentary access for guests to platinum fitness first a couple of blocks away which has extensive gym equipment. We have provided these few items on the roof top pool area purely as a convenience for our guests wanting a bit of cardio exercise. We unfortunately do not have space for a full gym and generally guests enjoy using the fitness first benefit as they are obviously the experts in this field. I havenot stayed in many 3 star motels to make comment on the note about your comparison to our rooms, but am sure readers get the picture you are trying to portray. I assure you the hotel takes all these constructive comments very seriously and will fix this issue.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is truely a good priced and quality hotel in an excellent location in Melbourne. The rooms are comfortable and are fitted with the famous "Rydges Beds" which are so nice to sleep in. The only fault of the rooms is the bathroom which is so small and at times inconvenient, and as it was a very cold time we had to use the heater which was extremely noisy. Plenty of lighting via spotlights and a working desk. I found the room clean, quiet and check in was very efficient. A very satisfactory hotel for the price and prefer this over some others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Was very pleased that our hotel met your requirements on your recent stay and although the bathroom and heating not 100% you enjoyed the location and other aspects of the property. It is certainly rewarding to see someone who has made 48 reviews and stayed in 20 odd cities provide a positive report on the experience here.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

we arrived from a very long London via Singapore flight at 6am and managed to kill few hours before becoming so tired we decided to make our way to the hotel early (well before the official 2pm check-in) and the front desk staff were just Wonderful.
Quick, efficient, no questions aksed or problems, so the nanna-nap on the comfy bed was just perfect before we had to attend the early evening Opening of the conference i was attending.
Overall, the room was fine - a decent quality for a very cheap price in a handy location in the city - and the staff were terrici overall.
Breakfast is REALLY GOOD - fresh and good quality - and comparatively cheap (and i do a LOT of these hotel eggs n bacon breakfasts!) PLUS, as i was my partners birthday we had a delightful glass of champagne with our brekky - which I am sure made everythign taste even better.
The only downside - it is very frustrating having to pay an extra $29/day for internet access (and only initially connectable in the room via a cable).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparklarkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Was really pleasing and I must say quite humbing to read your great experience in particular from a senior reviewer who has obviously lots of experience in hotel stays. I have shared this with the team and my Directors to impress on them how good it is to be rewarded from their efforts! I am glad they ensure you got a room when you got it in, I can imagine what a relief it would have been to get into your room and put the feet up. Hope we may see you back with us again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Ive travelled the world, best hotels- but this one is the standout. Staff are incredible especially Stephanie and ian. Theyre outstanding ! enough said

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csob85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Really appreciate the comments on the team, they certainly make the difference for our guests and in particular our regulars who get to know them so well. Location, services and facilities in hotels are always important but it's the human factor that will ensure a guest returns.....

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
2,593 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,934 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#51 of 161 in Melbourne
4,903 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 161 in Melbourne
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₹ 8,166 - ₹ 17,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing