We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value if you get a "deal".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #83 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed at Rydges on a trip to see my son in Melbourne. We got a deal from one of the good deal type websites and stayed for 3 days. The room was a decent size, the bed was very comfortable although a very small bathroom with a somewhat dodgy basin tap. The location is good for a trip to Melbourne with a number of restaurants and bars close by and the trams make the rest of the city very accessible. Given the price we paid for the room (AUD 119/night) it was good value. If I had paid the normal rate I would have been much less impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Pleasing to see the opportunity to stay in Melbourne at the hotel was such great value with the packages and deals available from time to time. It was disappointing to see this was the value you placed on the hotels rooms.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,038 - 2,042 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

I chose to stay at this hotel for a quick overnight visit in Melbourne. I arrived at 8am after being on the red-eye out of Sydney that morning and I wasn't expecting to be able to check-in so early!! But was pleasantly surprised to find out my room was ready. I must admit that I didn't spend that much time in my room but the bed was comfy, the shower was hot! And the hotel was quiet.

My only complaint was that the heater was one of those old ones that stick out of the wall. That was fine but the noise it made wasn't fine and because it was winter I had to have it on. The heater rattled and made a lot of noise I'm not quite sure how to describe the noise it made. But I was unable to sleep due to the noise it made. Therefore I did wake up several times during the night freezing as the temperature dropped outside.

The staff were friendly especially the waiter/ess at breakfast and the food for breakfast couldn't be faulted. I would stay here stay again and overall was happy considering how little I paid!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soloTravellerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

It was pleasing that most of the aspects of your experience were good, that the hotel was able to get you into your room after an overnight flight and the restaurant experience was also positive. The A/C heater units in the rooms sometimes do become noisy from use, it is generally picked up by the housekeeping and maintenance team to rectify if noticed, I apologise this made your stay uncomfortable.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Good central location in the Melbourne CBD. We stayed in a Queen Deluxe Spa Room which was huge. Sadly the decor is very dated and the carpet, lounge suite and curtains were in desperate need of some TLC (specifically stains on carpet and lounge). Nice big bathroom and walk in wardrobe.

Unfortunately we found there was a fair bit of noise that rises from the traffic in the street below + constant humming from what we think is an air conditioning unit across the road on another building. We could also hear a lot of noise on Friday and Saturday night from people on the streets below - even though our room was on the top floor of the Hotel - Level 9). All that aside, the size of the room and the location is a bonus.

Bed linen didn't seem to fit the bed properly (sheets seemed short) and this proved to be a bit annoying as everytime we turned over in bed, the sheets would untuck. It would also be nice to have bigger bath towels (not the postage stamp sized ones that we were given).

As there are fabulous cafes just around the corner, we ate breakfast out (we didn't want the usual hotel fare).

If the property were to undergo a facelift, it would be fine.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyGlobalShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

It was pleasing that the hotels location suited your needs, I apologise the room was not of a good standard and noise from outside disturbed your stay. It is hoped the hotel suites will receive a much needed facelift as you noted in the near future. The towel and sheets sizes mentioned seem unusual as the beds shodl have the correct sheeting that fits normally and the sheets are also of a good quality and size. This will be addressed with housekeeping to ensure they are supplying the correct products.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I chose this hotel because I noticed that the Manager responds to all Trip Advisor reviews. We checked in early (because we were going to a matinee) and had lunch from the bar snacks menu. The club sandwich was magnificent, and my Limoncello Daisy cocktail was great.
Being part of China Town, we chose to eat dinner at a little Chinese restaurant close by; but returned to the hotel for supper/coffee - the Affogato was wonderful.
Our room was on the 19th Floor, it was "petite" especially the bathroom; but very comfortable and well appointed. The bed was lovely and luxurious.
Buffet breakfast the next morning could not be faulted. Poached eggs ordered from the chef were perfectly cooked. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, warm and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble.
Close to theatres and China Town.

Room Tip: Parking next door at reduced rate for hotel guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

It was pleasing to read of your experience at Rydges Melbourne and the location and facilities of the hotel were a good contributor to an enjoyable break, in particular that the restaurant was well received - nothing better than a great club snadwich! The theatre precinct is a popular location for people wanting to have a great weekend away with everything nearby being so convenient.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed at Rydges over the weekend to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. We stayed in the premier spa suite (chosen due to pricing. In comparison to other hotels it appeared better value for money). When I opened the door I was immediately disapointed. The carpet was badly stained and warn in alot of places, the couches in the lounge area looked more like something you would find outside someones house for hard rubbish collection rather then in a premier room of a city hotel. They were faded, very warn and incredibly uncomfortable. They appeared and felt dirty, so we didnt spend time in the lounge. The lounge/dining area felt and looked empty, with little furniture. I was happier, however, when we opened the door to the bedroom. The bed was presented well and very comfortable (except for some very squishy, uncomfortable pillows that we didnt use for the night). The spa bath was in the bedroom, seperated by a glass wall. The view was nice, however the bottom of the bath was discoloured and not very appealing. I found the layout of the bedroom bizaar. The bed faced away from the windows (odd when youre paying good money to stay in a high rise hotel?). I was even happier when we entered the bathroom. Unlike the rest of the suite, it appeared to have been renovated. The layout was open plan, felt inviting and clean. The double shower was fantastic. The pressure and temperature was brilliant.
It may not be very realistic to winge about, however the outside of the windows were incredibly dirty. Rain and dirt marks covered all windows, making it impossible to get a nice photo out of. (Im sure regular cleaning takes place however when youre paying money to have city views and they are blurred by window grime it isnt very pleasing).
Some basic maintanence needs to be done. A few light bulbs were either broken or breaking, some dimmer switches did not work, and we had to use the tip of our car key to click the heater on from cooling to heat as the switch had broken off.
We were however happy with the hotel allowing us extra time in their carpark at no extra charge. We checked out at 11am, however had plans to see a show that night. Staff said it was fine to keep the car in the car park until after the show.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leahlbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Was disappointed to read of your experience with your recent stay at Rydges in the Premier Spa suite. It certainly sounded pretty ordinary and can appreciate that you were left with a poor impression of the hotel. It is hoped these rooms will receive a soft refrubishment in the coming twelve months to ensure the items youhave noted are rectified as the rooms themselves and the bathrooms are very good and good value for money in comparison to other hotels in the city.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
2,414 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
1,818 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 161 in Melbourne
1,602 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₹ 7,784 - ₹ 18,291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing