We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 129
US$ 94
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 193
US$ 169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 138
US$ 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 137
US$ 124
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
US$ 65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 217
US$ 198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
US$ 78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 177
US$ 129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 145
US$ 118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (2,581)
Filter reviews
2,581 results
Traveller rating
692
1,009
572
202
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
692
1,009
572
202
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen spa suitelocanda restaurantexhibition streether majesty's theatrerooftop poolbuffet breakfastclose to china townlate checkoutan upgradecomfy bedbourke streetcar parkinglocation is excellentcentral locationcbdmcgcheckin
Filter
Updating list...
2,299 - 2,304 of 2,581 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I chose to stay at this hotel for a quick overnight visit in Melbourne. I arrived at 8am after being on the red-eye out of Sydney that morning and I wasn't expecting to be able to check-in so early!! But was pleasantly surprised to find out my room was ready. I must admit that I didn't spend that much time in my room but the bed was comfy, the shower was hot! And the hotel was quiet.

My only complaint was that the heater was one of those old ones that stick out of the wall. That was fine but the noise it made wasn't fine and because it was winter I had to have it on. The heater rattled and made a lot of noise I'm not quite sure how to describe the noise it made. But I was unable to sleep due to the noise it made. Therefore I did wake up several times during the night freezing as the temperature dropped outside.

The staff were friendly especially the waiter/ess at breakfast and the food for breakfast couldn't be faulted. I would stay here stay again and overall was happy considering how little I paid!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soloTravellerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

It was pleasing that most of the aspects of your experience were good, that the hotel was able to get you into your room after an overnight flight and the restaurant experience was also positive. The A/C heater units in the rooms sometimes do become noisy from use, it is generally picked up by the housekeeping and maintenance team to rectify if noticed, I apologise this made your stay uncomfortable.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Good central location in the Melbourne CBD. We stayed in a Queen Deluxe Spa Room which was huge. Sadly the decor is very dated and the carpet, lounge suite and curtains were in desperate need of some TLC (specifically stains on carpet and lounge). Nice big bathroom and walk in wardrobe.

Unfortunately we found there was a fair bit of noise that rises from the traffic in the street below + constant humming from what we think is an air conditioning unit across the road on another building. We could also hear a lot of noise on Friday and Saturday night from people on the streets below - even though our room was on the top floor of the Hotel - Level 9). All that aside, the size of the room and the location is a bonus.

Bed linen didn't seem to fit the bed properly (sheets seemed short) and this proved to be a bit annoying as everytime we turned over in bed, the sheets would untuck. It would also be nice to have bigger bath towels (not the postage stamp sized ones that we were given).

As there are fabulous cafes just around the corner, we ate breakfast out (we didn't want the usual hotel fare).

If the property were to undergo a facelift, it would be fine.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyGlobalShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

It was pleasing that the hotels location suited your needs, I apologise the room was not of a good standard and noise from outside disturbed your stay. It is hoped the hotel suites will receive a much needed facelift as you noted in the near future. The towel and sheets sizes mentioned seem unusual as the beds shodl have the correct sheeting that fits normally and the sheets are also of a good quality and size. This will be addressed with housekeeping to ensure they are supplying the correct products.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I chose this hotel because I noticed that the Manager responds to all Trip Advisor reviews. We checked in early (because we were going to a matinee) and had lunch from the bar snacks menu. The club sandwich was magnificent, and my Limoncello Daisy cocktail was great.
Being part of China Town, we chose to eat dinner at a little Chinese restaurant close by; but returned to the hotel for supper/coffee - the Affogato was wonderful.
Our room was on the 19th Floor, it was "petite" especially the bathroom; but very comfortable and well appointed. The bed was lovely and luxurious.
Buffet breakfast the next morning could not be faulted. Poached eggs ordered from the chef were perfectly cooked. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, warm and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble.
Close to theatres and China Town.

Room Tip: Parking next door at reduced rate for hotel guests
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

It was pleasing to read of your experience at Rydges Melbourne and the location and facilities of the hotel were a good contributor to an enjoyable break, in particular that the restaurant was well received - nothing better than a great club snadwich! The theatre precinct is a popular location for people wanting to have a great weekend away with everything nearby being so convenient.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed at Rydges over the weekend to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. We stayed in the premier spa suite (chosen due to pricing. In comparison to other hotels it appeared better value for money). When I opened the door I was immediately disapointed. The carpet was badly stained and warn in alot of places, the couches in the lounge area looked more like something you would find outside someones house for hard rubbish collection rather then in a premier room of a city hotel. They were faded, very warn and incredibly uncomfortable. They appeared and felt dirty, so we didnt spend time in the lounge. The lounge/dining area felt and looked empty, with little furniture. I was happier, however, when we opened the door to the bedroom. The bed was presented well and very comfortable (except for some very squishy, uncomfortable pillows that we didnt use for the night). The spa bath was in the bedroom, seperated by a glass wall. The view was nice, however the bottom of the bath was discoloured and not very appealing. I found the layout of the bedroom bizaar. The bed faced away from the windows (odd when youre paying good money to stay in a high rise hotel?). I was even happier when we entered the bathroom. Unlike the rest of the suite, it appeared to have been renovated. The layout was open plan, felt inviting and clean. The double shower was fantastic. The pressure and temperature was brilliant.
It may not be very realistic to winge about, however the outside of the windows were incredibly dirty. Rain and dirt marks covered all windows, making it impossible to get a nice photo out of. (Im sure regular cleaning takes place however when youre paying money to have city views and they are blurred by window grime it isnt very pleasing).
Some basic maintanence needs to be done. A few light bulbs were either broken or breaking, some dimmer switches did not work, and we had to use the tip of our car key to click the heater on from cooling to heat as the switch had broken off.
We were however happy with the hotel allowing us extra time in their carpark at no extra charge. We checked out at 11am, however had plans to see a show that night. Staff said it was fine to keep the car in the car park until after the show.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leahlbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Was disappointed to read of your experience with your recent stay at Rydges in the Premier Spa suite. It certainly sounded pretty ordinary and can appreciate that you were left with a poor impression of the hotel. It is hoped these rooms will receive a soft refrubishment in the coming twelve months to ensure the items youhave noted are rectified as the rooms themselves and the bathrooms are very good and good value for money in comparison to other hotels in the city.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Why oh why is wifi such a problem in Australian hotels?

Book breakfast and meet Gerard the chef who is about the best recommendation for this hotel. A professional great chef who injects life into the boring nature of this business hotel.

The rest of the staff are efficient but they need to realize tourists are not indispensable to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valken2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

It was pleasing to see our colourful Irish breakfast chef made your stay enjoyable. The hotel certainly does not try to be a stuffy hotel, if anything other than the decor it is our endevour to make it more lively for everyone, hence the uptempo bar and restaurant culture and ambience we have. The foyer could be more lively and is something that needs attention to not have the impression that you have described. Will certainly take this on board and look for ways to freshen things up.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews