We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price and location, but improvements could be made” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Ranked #70 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good for the price and location, but improvements could be made”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in April 2012 with family, and while the price was good for the location, I felt that there are some improvements that could be made. The staff were very friendly and polite on check in, however when we went to our rooms we found that the bedding configuration wasn't what we had requested. I advised the staff and they realised there had been a room mix up and changed the rooms but this did require a bit of waiting around. The rooms are nicely decorated and look as though they have been recently refurbished, but we found the bathrooms to be small by Australian standards and didn't like that the bathrooms only had glass doors (not very private). My biggest issue was that I found the rooms to be very stuffy and because of this I did struggle sleeping, and we had a room on the third floor with windows that couldn't be opened, so we weren't able to let in any fresh air, and I don't really like leaving the air conditioner on while I sleep (especially when it's a cold and rainy Melbourne weekend outside!). We also had an elderly family member with us with reduced mobility issues who is usually in a wheelchair, and as we found there was no ramp at the front entrance of the hotel staff advised that we had to go down to the basement and use the carpark ramp when coming and going with the wheelchair. When checking out they also tried to charge the incorrect price (more expensive) until we corrected them.

Overall we would probably stay here again if it was for a night or two, just based on the price and the location, but if there were other hotels in the area in a similar price range I would probably try them out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessw188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    837
    345
    77
    27
See reviews for
331
693
156
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The rooms have been completely refurbished since my last stay 12 months ago which made my stay more comfortable. Room was very clean and spacious. Minor negatives are the lack of hooks in the bathroom to hang clothing and a lack of overhead lighting in the room which made it a bit dim. Room servicing could be improved a little - tea/coffee was also not adequately replenished and my hand towel was taken away and not replaced.

The staff at reception were helfpul and check-in/check-out process was fast. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Treasury Gardens have the best view. Rooms near elevators/service lifts/laundry can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy_traveller_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The Mercure Treasury Gardens met our needs in a functional way. It was clean, reasonably well located, and we had a good outlook over the gardens. The room was small though, and had only the bare essentials (no drinking glasses, no drawers to put clothes away, had to ask for more coathangers). I don't like the fact that windows can't be opened to get some fresh air. Although being double glazed, the room is soundproof - with aircon providing the ventilation. This is what you often get in a city hotel. We were keen to get into the country after this though - more space and fresh air! But I'll stay there again when next in Melbourne - it's functional.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have stayed at Mercure Treasury Gardens numerous times over the past 5 years when attending sporting events or exploring the city and have always found it to be an excellent location with all the major sporting venues within close proximity either by foot or public transport.

Flinders street railway station is a short tram ride away (including free city circle trams runs that run mid morning to early evenings), or less than 10 minute walk. Great position for exploring the city and shopping and dining areas, including Lygon St Carlton, Acland St St Kilda, Richmond and Fitzroy by tram.

The hotel itself offers value for money and the rooms underwent a complete refurbishment recently. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Room service for meals was utilised on several occasions and the service was prompt and the food was of good quality and reasonable prices.

The room was booked during Accor's room sale and was good value. The only minor issue , if you were to stay more than a few days is the hand basin has very little room around it to place items and there appears to be no area to place the wet soap around the hand basin

The area is usually very quiet at night however on the Saturday night of our 2 night stay loud music could be heard for a few hours from our south facing Level 3 room. I don't think it was coming from the hotel as I am sure management would have arranged for it to be turned down, but more likely from a nearby club.

Overall would highly recommend this hotel as a quality 4 star establishment in a great location with well trained and friendly staff and reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#80 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Mantra on Jolimont
#88 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens

Property: Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Address: 13 Spring St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,610 - ₹ 16,230
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens is in the city centre, near State Parliament, and overlooks picturesque Treasury Gardens. The hotel features 164 rooms, Hop Sing Bar & Food, with an Asian inspired menu designed for sharing, plus conference facilities for up to 200 people. The many boutiques of Collins Street are close by and it is an easy walk to Federation Square, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park and Hisense Arena. The free city circle tram stops right at the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne Spring Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing