We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for business or leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #47 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I love staying at this hotel when I visit Melbourne for business. It's in a great, central location, in a lovely heritage building. The welcome at reception is warm and friendly, the rooms are comfortably and stylishly appointed, with Elemis toiletries in the bathrooms. Room service is punctual and accurate, with a complimentary newspaper in the morning. This place ticks all the boxes, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fmfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Fmfloyd,
Thank you for sharing with me your wonderful and thorough review. I was so happy to read that you have enjoyed all the the aspects of your previous stays with us so much.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,749 - 1,753 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here last weekend and really enjoyed our stay despite a couple of minor issues. I identified myself as an Ambassador member at check in and was provided with the fruit platter (2 apples and a tangerine on a saucer) and the water but was not given an upgrade.

We stayed in the Club Lounge which has a nice ambience, especially at evening drinks, however the supplies were not replenished quickly enough. Often there was very little food available. Quite a few times I had to ask and the staff were always very polite and attended to this immediately (the food was very nice) but having to ask for food to be put out and no offers for coffee refills or having to search for staff to get eggs made at breakfast is something I assume is not the norm, going by previous reviews.

These minor issues aside, the hotel is in a good location, the room and bathroom was very nice with a great, comfy bed and housekeeping can't be faulted. The concierge was very nice and all in all I'll definitely be coming back next time I'm in Melbourne

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Lillias,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your review. Although I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, I was disheartened to read that you experiences some minor issues.
Please be assured that whenever possible our valued InterContinental Ambassador guests will be provided with a room upgrade, however during exceptionally busy time we may not have a room to upgrade members to, and I believe this was the case during your recent stay.
Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience in the Club InterContinental Lounge was less than perfect and please be assured that I will share this feedback with my relevant department heads.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, and the team and I look forward to providing you with the seamless and instinctive five star service that we aim to deliver to all of our guests.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

i just want to express how amazing the IC rialto was the last 2 weeks, my mum and dad who are in their 80s came to Melbourne to experience the Anzac day AFL game and chose the IC as the preferred hotel, my mum is very much 5 star. They have both stayed in amazing hotels all over the world and have nothing but praise for the IC Rialto. My mum who is very fussy said to me today as i was dropping her off at the airport that it was the best hotel experience in her life and thats saying something, trust me! the lounge was fantastic in particular Amy and all the staff absolutely amazing. i can not thank them enough as with elderly parents you worry, however i need not have as they were looked after soooooo well and i can not recommend the Intercontinental Rialto Melbourne highly enough when planning a trip to Melbourne.

it also has one of the best gyms i have seen in a hotel and the pool area is magnificent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DG67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel has it all. I was traveling on business and was impressed with all the services. The restaurant was fantastic for both brunch and dinner. The club lounge is always such a treat. The head Concierge (James?) knows anything and everything. Met a fellow Macedonian porter as well. He ensured my stay was perfect. So much so that I applied for a job the day of checkout! Sad to say I didn't get the job, but boy oh boy I will be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and request a room closer to the elevators. We got the last room and it is a long walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Nathan C,
Thank you very much for sharing with me your glowing review, I will be sure to share your feedback with James and the Concierge team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

All in all another great stay in Melbourne. It's a fun place and the hotel is well located to Melbourne trams which can get you everywhere. Don't forget to see the Concierge for your tram tickets...easiest way. We also always take the Skybus from the airport and walk the 10 minutes to Collins Street but there is also a free shuttle from the Skybus terminal. Don't take a taxi from the airport..it will cost you over $60 and take twice as long!

Would recommend you become an Ambassador with IHG hotels just because you can get a room upgrade and free weekend night stay that pays for membership which is around $200 per year.

We got Room 321 in the Rialto building (much better than the other side of the hotel) and this room was huge. The ceilings must have been 15 feet high which really made the room feel light and airy and very large. Rm 321 is on Collins Street so you will hear noise (trams and a couple of drunks) but not a problem at all...the tram noise made us feel like we were in Melbourne. Another advantage of the room is that you have natural light.

Hotel is in a great location..10 minute walk to CBD and on 2 major tram routes so you can get anywhere with ease (ask the Concierge team for your tram tickets).

Another great stay at this beautiful historic hotel with great staff and great rooms.

Room Tip: try the Rialto building as it has rooms with higher ceilings and a chance of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Megt01,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful feedback. We indeed feel very lucky to be located in a heritage building which means we are able to make the most of the period features of the building, such as high ceilings and other ornate period features which were accentuated during our renovation.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,996 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,697 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 162 in Melbourne
8,275 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 162 in Melbourne
4,386 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₹ 8,079 - ₹ 33,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing