We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't share the same opinion of many others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #46 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Booked the hotel last minute, tried to book online but had an error regarding the IATA code on the web. Tried to book direct with the hotel but no one answered the phone. Eventually got through and was put through I assume to the US. Never received a confirmation email. Arrived at the hotel to be told the rate which included breakfast was for 1 person, not according to the website that I looked at. This was eventually sorted and the receptionist apologised for keeping us waiting. Went out for a few hours, came back to turn the TV on to watch the news, no remote. After waiting more than 20 mins went for a swim. Came back, still no remote called reception was informed they would send another one up! Went out for dinner, on our way out asked reception to send the remote to our room. Also asked housekeeping to turn down our bed and replenish tea bags, never stayed in a 5 star hotel before that this wasn't an automatic procedure.Came back still no remote, no turn down service and no tea bags. My husband went back to reception and asked again. 20 minutes later he called for the 4th time, was hoping to watch a movie but by the time we eventually got the remote 10.10pm had gone past it. Never had a TV guide in the room. Have stayed in several 5 star CBD hotels and have always had fantastic experiences, would rate this hotel as 3 star. Today was a better experience, breakfast was excellent and all staff were friendly....shame yesterday left a bad impression.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FifiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear FifiMelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me the feedback from your recent stay. I was so disheartened to read that your stay was less than perfect and may I apologise in advance for any inconvenience that you experienced.
I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again and would like you to please contact me directly.
I will message you my email address and I encourage you to please make contact.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,804 - 1,808 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

As an Ambassador Club member we had an upgrade to a very large room. Had all the amenities you would expect in this class of hotel.
Due to the construction of the hotel (mostly rooms face into the internal courtyard / reception) you don't actually have a "view". Our room did look to the outside of the building but we were still unable to see the sky.
Bed was very comfortable with good choice of pillows and our room was extremely quiet. Breakfast was on the expensive side at around $44 so we chose not to eat there. Gym and pool were nice. Check in and out was very smooth and all staff very friendly and professional. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustraliaKangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear AustraliaKangaroo,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was so happy to read that you had such a wonderful time with us.
I would like to take this opportunity to advise that our full buffet breakfast is $38 per person in Alluvial Restaurant, our main restaurant on the Flinders Lane level of the hotel, and we consider this to be competitive with other five star hotels in Melbourne.
I will still be sure to pass your feedback onto our food and beverage manager for consideration.
The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at the intercontinental Rialto on 10th feb 2012,from the valet parking to the check in staff,buffet breakfast,and the free bottle of wine for my birthday,was totaly the best hotel we have stayed in across the world.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Jane G,
Thank you for sharing with me your wonderful feedback about your recent stay and may I also say happy birthday to you!
The kind words that you shared truly made my day and I hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

A romantic weekend, last minute booking. Wow. From the moment we pulled up, all staff were just wonderful. The room was really clever for a multi storey inner city hotel. The bars/restaurants were great, but there are many amazing Melbourne restaurants very close as well. The pool is open til 10 which was an added bonus. Breakfast was something else. You'd think all these five star hotel breakfast buffets would all be good but this one had some lovely touches that made it worth coming back for.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeavingsoonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear LeavingsoonMelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful review. It made me so happy to read that you had such a great romantic stay. We are indeed very lucky to have some wonderful Melbourne restaurants very close to the hotel in addition to the restaurant, bar and wine lounge that we have inside the hotel.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

we stayed at the Intercontinental on 23 December 2011 and had a great experience. Like other intercontinental we have stayed in the service was very efficient and courteous. Whilst a little out of the shopping precinct it was an easy walk to the Bourke Street mall which is close to the geographical centre of shopping in Melbourne. It was also within easy walking distance of the Crown complex and Southbank also. If you are not a walker the location is easily accessible by tram as is the rest of Melbourne City from this location. By the way the breakfast was fantastic and we highly recommend. For work ot pleasure we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear pmh3,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful review. It made me so happy to read that you had such a great experience during your stay in December and that you enjoyed your breakfast in Alluvial Restaurant also.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,996 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,697 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 162 in Melbourne
8,275 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 162 in Melbourne
4,388 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₹ 8,141 - ₹ 33,214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing