We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,545)
Filter reviews
4,545 results
Traveller rating
655
1,856
1,362
435
237
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
1,856
1,362
435
237
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location the cocoon david jones rooms are small bourke street central location the heart of the city buffet breakfast valet parking public transport federation square tram stop myer emporium concierge convenience eateries
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 4,545 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We only stayed here one night and it is well located for shopping and exploring Melbourne. Staff were very friendly and were happy to store our case while we went off exploring. The rooms are well laid out and very comfy. Breakfast was good, there is something there for every ones taste. You can hear noise from the other rooms, but this didn't affect us sleeping

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Karen D,
Thank you for your recent patronage and your time to provide a review. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your brief visit to Melbourne because of the Hotel's location. Appreciate your kind words on the service provided by our team.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This is our hotel of first choice when we come up from Gippsland to attend the F1 Grand Prix at Albert Park. We checked-in on the Thursday and checked-out on the Sunday. The hotel willingly stored our bags until we arrived back after the Grand Prix Sunday night. The best thing is how quiet and restful the hotel is after coming back late at night from meals after the days activity. We also enjoy the complimentary drink and the $20 Buffet Breakfast is a great way to start off the day.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kevvyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear kevvyj,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We feel honoured to read that Mercure Welcome Melbourne is your first choice for accommodation when you travel to Melbourne to attend the F1 Grand Prix. It is lovely to hear you continually enjoy your stay with us, and found our location perfect for your time in Melbourne. Our buffet breakfast indeed is a great way to start a day.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town!
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Even though it was a bit more pricey and the rooms are smaller compared to the ones i have stayed before in Melbourne, i would still recommend it with the good location in CBD. Walking distances to many places and one can NEVER go hungry with so many food options nearby including 24 hours eateries. Staffs are really accommodating and attentive. Keep up the good work. Would consider coming back next time

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Jennifer L,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, as well as the attentive service provided by our team.
Thank you for your recommendation too and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights it’s very noisy at night and you can literally hear everything going on in the adjacent rooms, from people using the bathroom to conversations they’re having,

This was booked months ago for two adults and one child at fairly steep prices only to be asked upon checking in ‘Did we know about the extra charge on he roll away bed?’ And did we get an email from the place we booked through to say there was an extra charge?

This was news to me as it stated that we’d booked for three people and not mentioned anywhere that we were required to pay more.

The receptionist was helpful and pleasant but seemed to have explained this all before.
The cost was an extra $60 per night for the extra bed but they reduced it to $40 as I had questioned it.

Otherwise we could have all shared a bed so we had no other option but to pay the extra for a top out bed.

It should be stipulated clearly in the email on booking for multiple people there is an extra charge as paying well of $300 per night we could have easily stayed at the Crown Casino.

Interesting though, checking prices for following weeks they were basically cut in half which would be the price I would be prepared to pay usually.

Definatley not value for money!

Room was old but clean, bathroom very small/ newish, aircon noisy and fan setting stuck on high which we had to turn off as it was very loud.

No soft closing doors as neighbouring rooms could hear them slamming every time someone left or entered their rooms.

The only positive is the central location in CBD.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Vanessa T,
We are sorry to read of your disappointed stay with us.
Our policy in regards to child (or children) are they stay for free on condition that the child use the existing bed (or beds). Most families would have booked the rooms with 2 x Double beds to avoid the cost of the rollaway bed.
The terms and conditions of child staying for free using existing beds is clearly noted on every booking channels.
I am sorry that the accommodation provided was below your expectations. And in regards to our rate, our rates are dynamic and change depending on day of the week, special events and seasonality.
Once again, we thank you for your feedback.
Regards,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Don’t expect the front desk staff to be of any help at all. Was locked out of my room during day (Australian working hours), and staff were unauthorized to help me unlock my door. Needed to access the mailroom to retrieve my parcel/letters but was given the same excuse. Had to travel out of the city to their HQ office just to collect my room key. What’s worse, female front desk staff doesn’t possess polite disposition to speak to you like a decent human being. I wouldn’t even give this place 1 star if the app allowed it. Hotel needs to review the job scope of their staff and the attitude of staff working there.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank liong_yuanwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear liong_yuanwen,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am saddened to read of your experience and the poor customer service you experienced during your stay with us. This certainly doesn’t reflect our hotel’s usual standards of service and has been forwarded to our management team to be investigated to ensure the incident remains isolated.
Once again, please accept our most sincere apologies.
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews