We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crossley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 246
US$ 212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 109
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$ 175
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,041)
Filter reviews
2,041 results
Traveller rating
791
951
231
43
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
791
951
231
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationheart of china townher majesty's theatrecontinental breakfastsuperior roombourke streetparliament stationvalet parkingtop endfree wifiwithin walking distancestay there againshort walkstreet noisecentral locationpublic transportgood size
Filter
Updating list...
1,733 - 1,738 of 2,041 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I found this hotel to be in a perfect location - just minutes from the train station and the venue I was going to that night. The staff were super friendly and sweet. Rooms very clean and comfortable. My only complaint was that we had a card that turned the lights on and off , but we could not just turn one light on at a time., we had to turn them all on. So this was a bit annoying , trying not to disturb each other when getting up in the dark.
My friend could hear TVs from other rooms very early too.
Staff member accidentally woke us too early, and compensated by giving us an hour extra till check out time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catwic57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. I appreciate you highlighting the Hotel's great location and the friendly and helpful service offered by all staff. I am also glad you found the rooms clean and comfortable. All the lights in the room can be controlled individually as they all have their own switch. The room key controls the overall lights and power in the room.
I apologise that you were accidently woken on your last morning and am glad you were able to enjoy a later check out.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We returned to this hotel, having found it satisfactory on our last visit to Melbourne. It is well located for public transport (train and trams) but in a fairly quiet street, yet still a short walk from the shops and riverside.
Our room on the first floor was bright, clean, comfortable and a good size, although the noise of the sliding entrance doors to the hotel was quite intrusive in the late evening and overnight.
The restaurant is very small and can get congested at breakfast, although it can overspill into the bar area if necessary. It has a rather limited menu in the evening, and we preferred to eat locally when not visiting friends or relatives.
The staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful, and despite the above reservations we would probably return next time as well.

Room Tip: The upper floors would get you away from the noise of the entrance doors.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your return visit and found the room bright, comfortable and clean. I was also delighted to read you enjoyed the location once again and found the staff pleasant and helpful. I will certainly pass on your thanks and appreciation to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed for one night whilst in Melbourne for a show. Fast check in, courteous staff, just were not told that they take out $100 per night security, which still hasn't got back in my account a few days later. Don't understand why they do this as we'd paid in full at time of booking. Other than that clean rooms, decent bathroom, just won't stay there again because of the $100 deposit issue.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Didi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review and for highlighting the efficient check in and friendliness of our staff. I will certainly pass this onto the team.
I am sorry to hear you were not aware of our deposit requirements. This information is included in our confirmation letter and also highlighted on our website. The pre-authorisation can take up to 3-7 working days to be released. Unfortunately, the Hotel does not have control over the release time of pre authorisations as this is set and controlled by your bank. We also accept a cash deposit on check in if this is preferred.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at the Crossley for 1 night towards the end of April on a Sunday night. We stayed on the 5th floor and the room was a good size, very functional and clean. Was very impressed with the water pressure in the shower! Check in was fast and efficient and the staff were very pleasant to deal with. As per other people's comments, we too were woken up by the garbage/recycling collection early Monday morning, however this is just part of staying in the CBD. I would ask for a room towards the back of the hotel. This hotel is good value for money and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandy9919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I appreciate you highlighting the many positive aspects of the room and its facilities. I was also pleased to read your comments regarding the service offered by our pleasant and friendly staff and am glad you found it good value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a quaint brilliant and classy boutique style accomodation close to all cbd services, friendly, quiet, clean and welcoming and accomodating staff. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

I was really pleased to read your comments, especially regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and service offered by all the staff. We certainly pride ourselves on setting and achieving high standards in both of these areas throughout the Hotel. I am glad you also found the Hotel fantastic value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews