We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff , basic hotel”
Review of The Crossley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crossley Hotel
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff , basic hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and stayed for a long weekend. The staff were great but the rooms not so great. The mattress was awful and the air conditioning didn't work

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. I was disappointed to read you did not find the mattress on the bed comfortable, as we regularly receive reviews highlighting how comfortable our beds are. I do hope you advised Reception, so we could have our Housekeeping team look into this immediately.
I was pleased to read your comments which highlighted the great service offered by all staff. We certainly do understand the importance and pride ourselves on offering a high standard of service to all our guests.

I hope we are able to welcome you back to Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    777
    191
    40
    21
See reviews for
371
632
157
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I found this hotel to be in a perfect location - just minutes from the train station and the venue I was going to that night. The staff were super friendly and sweet. Rooms very clean and comfortable. My only complaint was that we had a card that turned the lights on and off , but we could not just turn one light on at a time., we had to turn them all on. So this was a bit annoying , trying not to disturb each other when getting up in the dark.
My friend could hear TVs from other rooms very early too.
Staff member accidentally woke us too early, and compensated by giving us an hour extra till check out time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwic57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. I appreciate you highlighting the Hotel's great location and the friendly and helpful service offered by all staff. I am also glad you found the rooms clean and comfortable. All the lights in the room can be controlled individually as they all have their own switch. The room key controls the overall lights and power in the room.
I apologise that you were accidently woken on your last morning and am glad you were able to enjoy a later check out.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We returned to this hotel, having found it satisfactory on our last visit to Melbourne. It is well located for public transport (train and trams) but in a fairly quiet street, yet still a short walk from the shops and riverside.
Our room on the first floor was bright, clean, comfortable and a good size, although the noise of the sliding entrance doors to the hotel was quite intrusive in the late evening and overnight.
The restaurant is very small and can get congested at breakfast, although it can overspill into the bar area if necessary. It has a rather limited menu in the evening, and we preferred to eat locally when not visiting friends or relatives.
The staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful, and despite the above reservations we would probably return next time as well.

Room Tip: The upper floors would get you away from the noise of the entrance doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your return visit and found the room bright, comfortable and clean. I was also delighted to read you enjoyed the location once again and found the staff pleasant and helpful. I will certainly pass on your thanks and appreciation to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed for one night whilst in Melbourne for a show. Fast check in, courteous staff, just were not told that they take out $100 per night security, which still hasn't got back in my account a few days later. Don't understand why they do this as we'd paid in full at time of booking. Other than that clean rooms, decent bathroom, just won't stay there again because of the $100 deposit issue.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Didi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review and for highlighting the efficient check in and friendliness of our staff. I will certainly pass this onto the team.
I am sorry to hear you were not aware of our deposit requirements. This information is included in our confirmation letter and also highlighted on our website. The pre-authorisation can take up to 3-7 working days to be released. Unfortunately, the Hotel does not have control over the release time of pre authorisations as this is set and controlled by your bank. We also accept a cash deposit on check in if this is preferred.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at the Crossley for 1 night towards the end of April on a Sunday night. We stayed on the 5th floor and the room was a good size, very functional and clean. Was very impressed with the water pressure in the shower! Check in was fast and efficient and the staff were very pleasant to deal with. As per other people's comments, we too were woken up by the garbage/recycling collection early Monday morning, however this is just part of staying in the CBD. I would ask for a room towards the back of the hotel. This hotel is good value for money and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy9919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I appreciate you highlighting the many positive aspects of the room and its facilities. I was also pleased to read your comments regarding the service offered by our pleasant and friendly staff and am glad you found it good value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
1,057 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossley Hotel

Property: The Crossley Hotel
Address: 51 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,589 - ₹ 15,116
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, boutique style accommodation ranging from Standard rooms to Executive Suites with kitchenette and microwave. Located in the heart of the entertainment precinct of Melbourne, the hotel is synonymous with comfort and convenience whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crossley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing