We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #93 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
victoria australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Family room 1 x qs 2xsingles
Although adequate for a one nite stay rooms were quite small & bathroom was very small. On arrival shower was not clean but this was rectified fairly quickly
Beds & bedding were great, clean etc. room was quiet & away from the street .There was no view from the room but that was stated at booking. Continental buffet breakfast was included & quite good. Good gym, great heated pool. Great location for city experience for a family @ a ressonable price. Inadequate cleaning was rather off-putting especially as we have stayed there before in a bigger cleaner room @ the same price .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mckstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    822
    372
    124
    73
See reviews for
190
738
262
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

If you're in Melbourne and looking for little more than a bed, a shower and close proximity to the CBD, then the Best Western Atlantis Hotel is all you need! With facilities including an underground pool and basic breakfast restaurant, it's ideal for those on a budget. With countless cafe's surrounding the area, we skipped the breakfast of cereals, eggs and beans and enjoyed a full big breakfast for about $15 at Insieme Cafe which was pretty darn good!
The hotel room was basic and standard. Our view was of a brick wall, but thats what we paid for. Our stay was for three nights, and the housekeeping had to be prompted to vacuum the floor which was annoying. The glasses weren't clean either. It's certainly not a four star hotel, more so a 3 star hotel. But as I said, it's centrally located, the staff friendly and accomodating with a modern interior and mostly all we need. Our lamps weren't plugged in for some reason, which was just weird.
Overall, not a bad hotel. For those budget conscious and not wanting to spend the earth, Atlantis is great. With a tram stop on the corner outside, the Docklands within walking distance and the train station only a few metres down the road, it's in a great position. The only improvement would be to the housekeeping to stay on top and do a more thorough job.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are more expensive, but from the experience from friends, the light penetration fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

When visiting Melbourne on a business trip, I always book at the Best Western Atlantis Hotel on Spencer Street. The location is excellent. Just diagonally across Southern Cross Train and Airport Shuttle Bus terminals. A stay of usually 3-4 days. Each time I requested a quiet room, I was well accommodated and this last time, it was sheer bliss. Not a sound considering busy streets. I first ring the Hotel for tariffs and then book online. I discuss room location etc. Reservation staff has always been helpful and polite. When checking in, the receptionists have always been friendly, helpful and efficient even in chaotic situations when groups of people are checking out at the same time. Service always excellent. Last year, I reported a desk chair missing and in no time, it was delivered followed by a visit from the Manager to insure that I was happy with the chair. Rooms have always been very clean. Fridge mostly empty and not stocked with overpriced items. Free newspapers. No hesitation to store your luggage before or after check-in/out.

Directly opposite, Coles Supermarket and the free City Circle tram. Pass the corner of Spencer and La Trobe Streets is the William Angliss Culinary Institute where snacks and lunch can be bought at a reduced price or A la Carte Lunch and Dinner. Walk further to Swanston St and you will find a huge Shopping Centre with Cinemas, etc. Trams on Spencer Street will take you to the South Melbourne Markets or fashionable Collins Street. Everything is within reach. For the price, this is really value for money. I have not been disappointed after more than 5 visits and plan to return in the near future.

Room Tip: There are quieter rooms at the rear in a second building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marinic2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed four nights here. The guest guide book made was inaccurate. It said there was a safe in every room, a cupboard beside the fridge containing a hair drier and a laundry bag, and an adjacent restaurant for meals. None of these statements was true - there was no safe, there was no cupboard and the concierge found this difficult to believe. I was offered the use of the safe in reception but that did not help when a large number of people were checking in or out when I need access.
The reception staff were patient and efficient in remedying the faults. The room was not cleaned after the first night. Again, reception gave us fresh towels etc but the room could not be cleaned because the housekeeping staff had all gone by 4.40 pm when we returned to the hotel.
The breakfast for $11 was cheap but it was also awful with very little choice - four cereals, toast, beans, scrambled egg and in theory strawberry and plain yoghurts ( but only if they did not run out).

Room Tip: Do not choose a room without a view, they face a brick wall and are extremely gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Nothing special here except price and location.. Rooms very bare without even a glass provided. Tea and coffee but no milk and fridge was locked. Windows covered in what looked like old paint. Excellent location for bus, trains and trams and price was right but will be seeking a little extra next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borntotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
Address: 300 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,482 - ₹ 11,566
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing