We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old rooms but good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Walkable distance to Melbourne central
Many restaurants near by and close to happening streets in Melbourne so walking around the streets is fun
Good breakfast
Comfy bed
Being gold elite member I could get free breakfast

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank rambhupal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear rambhupal r,
I was pleased to hear that you found the location of the hotel very central and you took the opportunity to see some of the city 'by foot'. We greatly value the support of our Marriott Elite Gold members and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Merry Christmas!
All the very best,
Kelvin Ramm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

I started my travel from Delhi and was missing blue skies due to smog from last couple of weeks , I booked Marriott , some initial issues with front desk but after the checking in it was little better . the room i got was not having any view (sad) .

I would like to mention name of Manish as he was able to provide me with the good experience during the breakfast ,

over all ok experience .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank surd_banka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear surd_banka,
I was sorry to hear that you experienced some issues on arrival but pleased to know that your visit then improved. Please keep in mind on any future visits that for an additional charge you can upgrade to an Exhibition Street facing room which has a better outlook. Your appreciation will be passed on to our chef, 'Mukesh'. He will be thrilled to know that his efforts were appreciated.
With best wishes for the Festive Season.
Kindest regards,
Kelvin Ramm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Booked an executive suite for a special weekend with my husband. The hotel was fantastic. The valet parking was so convenient as was the location for accessing places around the CBD. Having access to the executive lounge was great from the breakfast to the drinks in the evening. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sunshine3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Sunshine 3844,
Many thanks for choosing the Melbourne Marriott for your special weekend. I was thrilled to hear that everything went well and that you found the location so convenient. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again.
With best wishes for the Festive Season.
Kindest regards,
Kelvin Ramm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Highly recommend the restaurant as they cater for people attending the theatre. The food was excellent and there was an excellent range of choice. The staff were very attentive, professional and faultless.

Room Tip: Unsure about rooms but restaurant definitely worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Sandra G,
Our hotel and restaurant are ideally located for theatre visits and I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant, "Essence-on-Exhibition". (Hope the show was good too!)
With best wishes,
Kelvin Ramm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We stayed 2 nights at the Melbourne Marriott and have to say the staff made the stay. Everyone we talked to were not only friendly, helpful and nice but they were also knowledgeable about the hotel and the city. The location of the hotel was great - central and great for walking everywhere. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. It was also quiet. Our only real disappointment in the hotel was that it could use a make over. Our room was large but only held a queen size bed...no king size bed in the hotel. The bed was a little saggy in the middle. The hallways looked a little tired and so did the executive floor lounge. The pool area looked the worse. Great place just needs a little updating.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj K, Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear CDNTRAVELLERS2,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments with regards to our staff and service. I also note your feedback with regards to the property and can confirm that we are constantly upgrading our facilities to meet our guest requirements. We have just finished replacing the beds and mattresses in all our rooms and upgraded our bathrooms. We are also currently working on the improvements in all public areas. Thank you again for your honest feedback and on behalf of everyone at Melbourne Marriott would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family a brilliant and safe festive season.

Sincerely,
Raj Kakarla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,087 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
8,620 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,975 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,571 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₹ 11,208 - ₹ 28,682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing