We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great service and welcoming Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #12 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great service and welcoming Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband and I and an adult daughter stayed for four nights mid April and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Room was spotlessly cleaned and beautiful linen and great Tv and comfy beds.I would like to especially say the welcome on arrival was exceptional and all staff friendly.I particular we found a porter Jovan very nice.we have stayed in many four star and five star hotels but this staff member really went the extra mile.Personally coming in after dropping bags and chatting and offering advice on tourist attractions and even sent up some bubbly on his last night working.We could only assume this was because we were very friendly to him?Overall position very handy to all you want to see in Melbourne.I do recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    442
    94
    33
    14
See reviews for
290
402
78
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Let's start with the service, because we have read reviews from a few years ago that suggested this hotel was struggling with their service quality. Our experience suggests that Marriott has read those same reviews and taken decisive action to fix any problems. From our greeting at check-in through our check-out the service and helpfulness of the staff was excellent. We are accustomed to being able to get what we ask for (and pay for) in Marriott Hotels. What pleased us in Melbourne was that the staff seemed to want to make our stay enjoyable, even after we left the hotel on our excursions. We received excellent advice on tours, shopping and getting around in the city.

The accommodations were standard Marriott: rooms well appointed but small; beds comfortable; room service prompt, good quality, but expensive. We stayed on Marriott rewards points and upgraded to the Executive level which gave us lounge access and "free" parking. The upgrade was worthwhile given the costs saved in parking, breakfasts and evening cocktails/hors d'oeuvres.

If you are new to the city, as we were, consider taking the free tourist bus that departs every 30 minutes from a stop near the hotel. It stops near most of the tourist venues and will give you a good overview of Melbourne without having to face the challenging traffic yourself.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_roc_doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

great hotel well up to Marriott's high bedroom and service standards. Excellent check-in by attentive staff. Hotel on edge of CBD but within walking distance of most of central Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Copey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have stayed in many hotels around Melbourne and this is by far the best. The Marriott has recently been refurbished and is perfectly located in the CBD. A glass of champagne is offered on arrival and the staff are very attentive. This hotel is two blocks from Bourke Street mall if you are interested in shopping, 20 metres from Her Majesty's Theatre and one block from China Town. The hotel was very clean and had spacious modern rooms. I didnt try any food from the restaurants but would highly recommend Trunk wine bar next door, The Aylesbury rooftop across the street and Seamstress. This will be the hotel i stay at from now on when i visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,159 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have stayed many times at this hotel and it has always been a good experience. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are well insulated so you should expect a quiet night's sleep. On this stay we were on 1st floor facing street, very effective double windows kept all noise out. The hotel is near live theatre district and there is a large range of quality restaurants nearby, plus plenty of cheap eats, and you are only a block away from Melbourne's excellent Chinatown cuisine. The health club gym has a small heated indoor swimming pool, fine for young kids, and a small workout area with selection of cardio and free weights but only enough room for 2 people to exercise at a time. Ovreall good value for money if looking for a city quality hotel stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,832 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,107 - ₹ 28,351
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing