We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only more French you get is in France.”

The French Brasserie
Ranked #29 of 4,576 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Instantly welcoming the French Brasserie offers a relaxing sanctuary at the top end of town. Soaring ceilings and vast glass expanses achieve a chic contemporary atmosphere while friendly attentive staff anticipate your every need. Open for lunch Monday - Friday and dinner Monday - Saturday it continues to exceed the expectations of its guests who can choose to sit upstairs in the mezzanine area, inside at intimate tables or relax outside on the terrace. Express Lunch - Mon-Fri - 2 courses with a beverage $35ppPre-Theatre Menu - Tues-Sat - 2 courses with a beverage $39.50pp(Condtions Apply - Must order before 7.pm - Seating Time - 6.00pm-8.00pm)
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Well it’s Tuesday night and we were lucky to get a table for 3!!!
Greeted well and made to feel very welcome. Salmon tartare and chicken liver parfait. This could not have been better. The best salmon tartare I have ever had. Beautifully presented, delicious. As was the pate.
One of my partners had the John Dory and apart from its presentation, it tasted wonderful. The scotch fillet was also delicious and my fillet de boeuf was exceptional.
We had a Savee Sea, Sauvignon Blanc from NZ and a 1664 Kronenburg, which cannot be faulted. A glass of Bordeaux red was also top class.
When can we go again please ...

1  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Bonjour Don M,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here at The French Brasserie. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed visiting with us, and that there are a number of dishes and favourites you enjoyed from our menu.

I'll be sure to pass on your comments and compliments onto our chef and team. You're welcome to visit us any time you please, so we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Merci for your kind words and recommendation, we appreciate it and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Chrissy S
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

I absolutely love the French Brasserie and mainly for their wine list - which is quite impressive. So many wines from Cote Du Rhone! I love the french atmosphere, the food and the staff. I definitely felt like I was in France again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jordanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Merci Jordanna M for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here at The French Brasserie. We're pleased to hear that there are a number of elements you enjoyed and that the wine was a hit. We're very passionate here as is our sommelier and chef in sourcing and providing a beautiful of wines - to compliment our food as well as be enjoyed on their own.

I'll be sure to pass on your feedback, recommendations and thanks onto all of our staff.

Thank you for getting in touch. We appreciate it and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks,

Chrissy S
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

This place is situated down an Alley way off Flinders lane, so its rather secluded. The ambiance is extremely nice, so is the service and most of the staff seem to be French, which is nice.
The food here was amazing, the steak and pork were cooked to perfection, the wine was amazing and the desserts were to die for.

Thank wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Bonjour wendy w,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here at The French Brasserie. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining and that dinner was a hit. I'll be sure to pass on your comments and compliments to our staff and team.

It seems like you enjoyed a real range of items and dishes on our menu, and dessert is a favourite of mine too.

Thanks for your kind words and recommendation, we appreciate it and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Merci,

Chrissy S
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Check this one out - authentic French cuisine with superb, efficient, friendly service! All staff are French, the music played is French - you might as well be in a brasserie in Paris! Wonderful! Our starters of rillettes de canard and escargots were delicious with lots of lovely bread to mop up the highly-calorific garlicky butter. The main courses of filet de boeuf and canard did not disappoint either. Sides of chips and green beans were equally delicious. A lovely bottle of Bordeaux merlot/cabernet washed it all down. All in all, this restaurant is not cheap nut you do get what you pay for! Well worth it! The complimentary digestive was delicious. Try it out - you'll not be disappointed!

Thank MObelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Bonjour MObelf,

Merci for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here at The French Brasserie. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and yes we often are told that we for even if just for a short while have the ability to transport our diners to Paris.

It seems like you enjoyed some of our signature dishes and that there were some stand outs there too. I'll be certain to pass on your comments and compliments to our chef and team.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate it and hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks,

Chrissy S
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

You have to find Malthouse Lane, but that was promising, as it adds to the atmosphere as you enter the high ceilinged restaurant. Well designed in its space and good attentive service as we arrived. Very French in staff, service and food. That was perhaps our problem, as we were visitors to Australia. For example, ideally we wanted Australian wine, but the sommelier admitted the choice was limited. The food was good but not special. And I wouldn't say the service was brilliant. I'm happy to admit this was perhaps not the place for us on our first night in Melbourne. But tourists at least should think carefully as to whether this is the type of restaurant experience they want on a visit to Melbourne.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GeoffNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Bonjour GeoffNicholas,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here at The French Brasserie. I've shared your review with our management team and owners, so my review is taking in your comments and also sharing some of ours.

I'm pleased to read that our staff took great care of you here, our staff are known for their exceptional customer service and knowledge and are very welcoming. In relation to your expectations not being met - We are a French Restaurant and quite clear in communicating that to our visitors - the name in itself indicating that. We don't pretend to be an Australian restaurant or offer modern French Cuisine with a French Twist or the likes.

In relation to cautioning customers or diners about visiting our restaurant, we welcome a lot of international guests and they love it (our reviews state that). We have a variety of Australian wines on our menu, again French wines = French Restaurant.

I think I agree in that it might have not been a great personal pick if you were looking for a more Australis experience and Melbourne has plenty of amazing restaurants to offer that.

For anyone that would love a welcoming, fine dining and friendly experience with great food and dishes please dine and visit with us. We'd love to have you.

Merci

Chrissy Symeonakis
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Brasserie also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Richmond, Yarra
 

Been to The French Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing