We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Real Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Tempo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Tempo
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

After reading all of the breathless reviews, we approached this place with more than a little skepticism. How can a place on the outskirts of the Melbourne CBD be as good as everyone claims? Well, we can attest to the fact that it deserves all of the kudos that it has garnered on TripAdvisor.

We are a well travelled couple who have stayed at many different accommodations ranging from 2-star to 5-star all over the world. Since we live in a world where you get what you pay for, I have sometimes given 5-star reviews to some 2-star places because they have greatly exceeded what a person would expect to get from a cheap-and-cheerful stay. I have also given one-star ratings to some 5-star places because they completely failed to deliver on what they so expensively charged me for. On this scale, City Tempo deserves the highest rating that TripAdvisor awards.

Melbourne is an expensive city to begin with, so one would normally be resigned to either spending too much for mediocre lodgings, or having to stay a long way out of the CBD for a reasonable rate. It is therefore rare to get the level of value that City Tempo represents at a location that is not out in the boonies.

We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment unit that was not only clean and bright, but exceptionally well-designed. It is small, but its good layout makes its size quite acceptable. Sense of space is enhanced by the floor to ceiling windows which makes the unit seem much bigger than it is. The unit is fully equipped with dishwasher, washer/dryer, fridge, glass-top stove and convection-microwave, along with a decent assortment of plates, utensils and pots & pans. If you like to cook, this setup not only saves you a great deal of money from Melbourne's expensive restaurants, but allows you to buy some of the freshest and tastiest meats, seafoods and produce from Queen Victoria Market, which is only five minutes' walk away. If you don't want to cook, Queen Vic Market has some incredible deli takeaway, or take the free City Circle Tram into the heart of the CBD and eat until you have to roll back to the apartment. We ate out one evening at the far opposite end of the CBD and walked back to the apartment just for the exercise in 20 minutes.

We were pleasantly surprised to receive daily maid service, especially for the price. Many apartment hotels do not provide such service. We were also surprised at how easy it was to go just about anywhere. The free City Circle Tram is only half a block down the street, and the paid tram service departs from the same station and will either take you or connect you to just about anywhere.

There were a few niggling issues. The air conditioner is of the wall-shaker variety and quite noisy. We were able to get around this problem by leaving the living room a/c on overnight while turning off the bedroom a/c. There is also no on-site restaurant, and the classical hotel-style facilities are quite limited. Remember, this is an apartment-style and not a hotel-style stay. But City Tempo delivers a lot of value for money. In our case, we felt like we had received a four-star stay for a three-star price, which is what makes for a five-star experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at back facing away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank duckh00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    477
    121
    23
    16
See reviews for
94
583
133
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Everything was new and in excellent condition. I would have prefered a higher room, street noise, particularly on garbage collection day was disruptive to sleep and I would prefer a king bed but otherwise nothing but very good.

Room Tip: Studio really only for a single traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We weren't too sure of what we were going to find when the driver dropped us off at the side of the building. It didn't look too appealing and we thought perhaps we had the wrong place. No worries, we went round and found reception and the receptionist was charming. The apartment was a very pleasant surprise, very clean with a kitchenette, (microwave, sink, fridge, crockery and cutlery and more....) a shower and loo and a bedroom with a good radio set up tv etc.
Shower between the loo and the bed area has a kind of thick perspex wall which is almost see through, no problem tho'. All in all a very nice apartment. Victoria market just around the way is fantastic, everything you can think of there and had we been staying longer we would have bought all our needs there.
We were recommended an eating area a couple of blocks down the road which was extremely buzzy (Saturday night we were there) a really good atmosphere and a street so long we had too much choice almost. A definite place to people watch etc.
We also loved Melbourne city itself and this apartment was a perfectly located place to be.

Room Tip: We only looked out on the street below which wasn't a problem as we were not in the room too muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

After studying accommodation in Melbourne, we discovered City Tempo and what a find. This place was just awesome, in every way. We requested a one bedroom apartment on a higher level and possibly with a view, when making our booking. On arrival our request was granted and we had the perfect apartment, with views looking out to the Yarra River and Docklands. The staff were more than helpful, throughout our 7 night stay, right down to the lady who serviced our room. The apartments were close to everything, from restaurants, shops, transport, supermarkets and a hop, skip & a jump to the Queen Victoria Markets. We highly recommend this place and would not hesitate to stay here again. Thanks City Tempo for everything.

Room Tip: Request a one bedroom apartment, rather than a studio, it's worth the extra cost, as you have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here for around a week recently and it was well appointed and comfortable.

The reception staff were helpful but I can't say the same for some staff:

1) When I had difficulty with the foxtel channels, I asked the lady who delivered some towels about it only to be told "no foxtel". Thankfully it just took another call to the reception to send someone else.

2) I sustained a fall in front of the concierge desk due to the floor being a little slippery and being sorta inclined once you walk past the sliding glass doors. As a result, my foot was sprained too and whilst a chair was offered to me to sit down on, when I asked for some ice the guy behind the counter suggested I walk across the road to buy some. Clearly, it would have been a shorter walk/easier to hobble to the lifts and get ice from the fridge in the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Tempo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Tempo

Property: City Tempo
Address: 353 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,585 - ₹ 13,554
Hotel Class:4 star — City Tempo 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our stylish Studio & One Bedroom Compact Apartments offer all the essentials for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Melbourne's exciting CBD. Furnished with a compact kitchen, the latest audio/visual appliances and WiFi internet. On site is a well equipped gymnasium, sauna and business centre. Ideal for both leisure and corporate guests, enjoy easy access to cafes, convenience stores, Melbourne Central and only metres to Queen Victoria Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your City Tempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Tempo Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing