We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Sit Back and Enjoy the Day

Excellent day out from start to finish. Highly recommend for a day of variety from wildlife to... read more

Reviewed 13 April 2020
Pamela P
,
Brisbane, Australia
Pingus Pingus EVERYWHERE!

My friend & I went on this tour with David, who is a wonderful guide... very informative, funny and... read more

Reviewed 6 January 2020
dannikeeping
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 241 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Melbourne
from US$ 78.44
More Info
from US$ 101.68
More Info
from US$ 105.31
More Info
from US$ 105.31
More Info
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
171
47
5
4
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
47
5
4
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

I booked a Groupon deal with the Extragreen tours on a day tour along the Great Ocean Road which was a 7:45am pick, 8pm drop off.
The pick up was a good half an hour late which was a disappointing start as I could have slept an extra half an hour instead of waiting in line! But luckily the tour got heaps better as the day continued.
It is a mainly commentary based tour so its not for the sleepers on the bus ride along the way. I learnt lots about Melbourne on this trip! :)
It was a billingual tour with Chinese commentary too which I was prepared for. I got the two seats on the bus to myself which was a bonus!
First stop was the Great Ocean Road Chocolaterie and Creamery in Belbrae. It was good fun exploring the chocolate variety and taste some as well! Next we went to Apollo Bay for lunch where we had a couple of options to choose from at the George Food Court. We got an hour for lunch which was decent. The 12 Apostles were just breathtaking :) Admit the weather was overcast along the way but the places we saw and the ride was well worth it even with the gloomy weather. What I liked was how the views were everchanging along the way; the beautiful coasts, to the evergreen forests we rode through.
Lastly we stopped at the Loch Gorge for a walk and some final stretching before the non-stop ride back to Melbourne. For NZ$49, it was a reasonable tour with only extra I paid for was my chocolate shopping and lunch :)
A MUST DO, and this company was an affordable way to do so :)

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank 841s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Great tour. Our tour guide Khalid, was a lot of fun, very knowledgeable and attentive. The ride on the train is delightful & all the staff at the station are very friendly and helpful.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank CFLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 September 2017

This tour took in the Mornington Peninsula cheese, chocolate, and wine tasting areas.
Places included Main Ridge Dairy,Mock Redhill ciders,Green Olive at Redhill,T Gallant winery,Chocolate tasting, Dromana Beach, Murray's Lookout and more.
From pick up to drop off its a 10hour day but well worth it. Our driver was Rob and he did a fantastic job, his thorough knowledge of the area and the place we visited was excellent.
We enjoyed so many wine, cider, cheese strawberry tasting samples till we could have no more. A delightful lunch was had at the Peninsula chocolate factory/shop.
Many purchases we made and one can't forget the friendly baby goats, pigs and ducks along the way.
This tour was booked through Viator/Wildlife tours Australia and was well worth the money $145...

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Savage714
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Great Ocean Road is the #1 thing to do in Melbourne. It's absolutely stunning, beautiful sights all along the road. However, what made the tour absolutely most memorable experience is our tour guide Khalid. We had in fact selected this tour only because of Khalid's glowing reviews, and man was he awesome! He's the most knowledgeable and passionate and sincere tour guide ever. You could see loved his job, loved sharing his knowledge all along the journey, but also giving us ample silent time to just soak in the grandiose of the GOR. He can seem a bit strict in terms of time at each stop, but at the end of the tour you realize without that time restriction, we'd miss the beautiful sunset at Loch Ard Arch. He also voluntarily offered to take wonderful photos of everyone at Loch Ard Arch, and shared those beautiful pics with us later. Also, the tour had a very sumptuous lunch, which is so rare in such group tours. The lunch was a huge portion, and very very delicious. Absolutely loved everything about the tour, and we'll highly recommend it to anyone visiting Great Ocean Road.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Saptak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2017

What an adventure! We are a young couple who have never been to Melbourne before and had such a beautiful time on the tour of the Great Ocean Road and the Twelve Apostles. The sights were monumental and jaw-dropping. Even with the dark clouds every scene was dramatic and beautiful!

Our tour guide/bus driver Khalid was so friendly and accommodating, and he had a wealth of information to tell us. He even went out of his way (literally) and drove us to feed the birds and get up close to kangaroos. He took photos for everyone and emailed them out.

Thanks for a great experience Khalid!

Klara and Dan

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Gough89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews