We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for It's Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for It's Location”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed for 8 nights in 63 Whiteman St. This is just the perfect place to stay if you are attending a conference. I went to Melbourne 4 days before my conference so I can explore and this was also a good place to stay as tram stop is very close (doorstep!). DFO is also a walking distance and tea house spa sauna is just across the street plus IGA store below...

As for my experience, it wasn't really perfect. First, I was given a one bedroom in 15th floor. the room was a little bit crappy. Carpets look tired and kitchen was overcrowded with the 4 sitter table. Room layout was poor. Plus there was an extra chair in the lounge are which was covering the TV! However, bathroom was really new. Refurbished perhaps. Spacious.

I requested to change my room as it was very noise in there. Construction of the new apartment beside it and freeway was just--grrr,, They have accommodated my request so I was transferred to 25th floor. Carpets are more clean and new I think. The same room layout as it was fully booked (acc to receptionist). Kitchen has 2 seater dining which is better so as not to look overcrowded. I was alone so I really don't need 4. Everything went well. However, windows (big, ceiling to floor) was not really covered with proper blinds and curtains. Perhaps it would be more comfortable for guests to have a better curtains that block the morning sun. Please change your blinds and add some curtains. Thanks.

Security is excellent. Cleaning and filling up supplies is done only every week. Cleaning should be every 2-3 days.

Room Tip: Suite A and B probably have better room layout than C and D( corner suites). I'm not pretty sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usuallee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    82
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
49
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The apartments at 63 Whiteman Street (corner Clarendon) are in a brilliant location. Opposite the Crown Complex, Southbank restaurant precinct and only a short tram ride away from the city. We booked 2 apartments through a Wotif Mystery Deal and were very happy with everything. There is a very roomy open plan kitchen/dining/living area with comfortable couches and flat screen tv. Everything was in brand new condition and the apartment was spotlessly clean. The main bedroom was a great size with QS bed, walk through robe and ensuite. The second bedroom was smaller with 2 singles and a large built in robe. The main bathroom was a good size too.

We caught the tram into the city and also to Hi-Sense Arena with the tram stop being just outside the door. There is an IGA supermarket right next door which was very handy for small purchases.

The only negative comment is that it was a bit noisy on the Saturday night but it was the night of the Logies so there were heaps of people around. I didn't notice it so much on the Sunday night. It wouldn't put me off staying there again though.

Overall we loved the apartments and would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location, just across from the Crown Casino, the southbank promenade and the convention centre. The Village cinemas are across the road in Crown also. There is a tram stop almost immediately out front, very handy, or if you prefer the free option about a 5-10 minute walk to the city circle tram. It's a cheaper option with all the things you want around. There is an IGA supermarket and bottle shop just downstairs. The apartment was a good size, one bedroom, no balcony witha proper kitchen, full oven and stove top. Plenty of space. Heater to warm the room too. My only complaint was the bed, it was really uncomfortable and because of it I probably wouldn't stay again. If noise botters you, bring earplugs as you do get a fair bit of noise from the street, even 24 floors up. Melbourne is great though.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jd1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed there in July 2011 (just getting around to the report now- oops!). Went with three friends and we shared a two bed apartment. It was massive. Big kitchen, extra study, good sized bedrooms, two bathrooms. The rooms were about $350 per night - less than $100 each per night which was fantastic value

Close to the city (5 mins walk) and easy to get around Melbourne. Near supermarkets etc too and as they are self contained it's great if you are staying for a few days.

Pool and a pretty decent gym as well. I've stayed in so many hotels with gyms that turn out to be one bike and a fitball. so this was a pleasant surprise.

Only quibble is really the lack of keys (2 between 4 of us). There was a bit of an issue getting the keys; luggage storage is across the road which was a bit irritating. ]

But a non issue overall, the price it was fantastic and it is superclean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My family of four stayed here between Christmas & New Year for 5 nights in a two bedroom apartment. The location is excellent as it is across from the entrance to the Crown Casino & is walking distance to lots of restaurants at Southbank. The tram is directly across the road so it's easy to access the shopping precinct. If your into shopping DFO is a 5 minute walk with plenty of shops & sales at this time of the year. The unit was clean & had everything you needed. The only negative was the carpet was a bit dirty. I would recomend these units however the price is very expensive at this time of the year. I would try to get a deal if possible next time I stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#51 of 160 in Melbourne
445 reviews
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments MP Deluxe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Power Street
Gem Apartments Short Stay
#35 of 137 in Melbourne
102 reviews
Southbank
Experience Bella Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street

Property: Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
Address: 63 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,834 - ₹ 23,017
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe category 4.5 star apartments are in a 35 level landmark residential tower with a choice of 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms configurations, many with spectacular views. Features include floor-to ceiling windows in living areas and most bedrooms, comfortable combined lounge & dining area, fully equipped kitchen with composite stone benchtops, laundry with washing machine and separate dryer, 32" LCD TV (with Foxtel), DVD player, stereo and heating / air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing