We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I would NOT recommend to anyone” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I would NOT recommend to anyone”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We booked the R60 Room.
1) It was meant to have "Panoramic Views of Port Phillip Bay". The first room looked out on a carpark. We were moved to a room that if you looked thru several large apartment buildings justified "Views of Port Phillip Bay" but they were not Panoramic. Misleading? Yes.
2) The room at $520 had no bath. Call me old fashioned but I reckon at that price you get a bath. Indeed none of the rooms (other than suites) have a bath. Rubbish.
3) The hotel has a damp issue. The first floor we went to smelt very stale. The next floor we went to had a series of dehumidifiers running along the corridor. Stinks.
4) The Spa and Pool photographs well. What was missing was the weekend traffic. After finding we had no bath we went up to relax in the Spa/Pool. It was a creche.
5) This is NOT a hotel for a couple weekend. The mix is family and bucks/hens nights. On Sunday morning I got in the elevator to find people in their bikinis dripping in the lift. Very Nice.
In fairness if you are looking for a location close to the One Armed Bandits this is pretty good but the travel lodge around the corner will be a fraction of the price and you will get a bath. If you want a romantic weekend, spend your money in one of the hotels on Collins Street.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timetraveller1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarleyMoraitis, General Manager at Crown Metropol Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide me with your feedback regarding your stay at Crown Metropol.

I was certainly disappointed to read of your comments and would welcome the opportunity to discuss these at length.

Please feel free to contact me on 9292 8888 at your convenience.

Harley Moraitis
General Manager
Crown Metropol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,036
    1,052
    300
    111
    66
See reviews for
602
1,436
120
772
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

What can I say, this hotel is great to stay at, especially for first-time visitors to Melbourne.
Very contemporary hotel, and the staff (OMG) was soooooo nice and helpful with information. They were so wonderful.
The rooms were great with a contemporary decor. The bed was soooooooo plush and comfortable, I could have slept for days.
The gym was adequate and loved the indoor pool overlooking the city. The locker room also had a sauna, which was great.
The hotel is connected to a mall, so you are connected to a whole lot of shopping, clubbing, and dining. Very much a hangout for the locals. The hotel gave us VIP tickets to a club in the mall (upstairs at the casino level). It is within walking distance to the river as well as other great areas in downtown Melbourne.
And, the breakfast, OMG, best buffet and coffee ever. The quality of food was outstanding (everything). Usually, at most hotels, even 5-stars, something is off about the food, but not this place. We looked forward to breakfast every single day.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepingYOUInformed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

You pay for what you get and you mostly get it here.

PROS
Brilliant location attached via walkway to Crown Casino and over the road from the convention centre.
Floor to ceiling glass with spec. views
Gorgeous decor, excellent bedding.
Asked for and received extra luggage rack to accomodate 2 suitcases.
Lovely lounge in room and good sized desk.
Ample wardrobe space with hangers.
Full length mirror.


CONS
They do not use fitted sheets, so when you want to go to bed all the bedding comes out when you untuck the top sheet. Had to remake the bottom sheet of my bed everyday....really bugged me.
I keep waiting for the staff to open my car door on arrival and whisk my luggage away, and it just doesnt happen.
Hallways very dark.
Need to move makeup mirror to bedroom as bathroom lighting not adequate. But they do have a moveable mirror.
Shower is lovely but water pressure is only average....kept wanting more.
Reception is slow and tend towards queues which was annoying when we approached the desk for help during our stay and had to line up with check ins and outs.

Summary
If I was paying slightly less I would have been over the moon, but at five star rates I want the whole box and dice. So room for improvement.
Will def. stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Lovely hotel. Lovely rooms. Very comfortable sleep.
$38.50 for a cold breakfast that's meant to be hot is not so good. Go else where for breakfast but definitely stay here you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulyCMelbAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice and it is my favourite in Melbourne.
As it is a new hotel everything is modern and trendy - the rooms are large and luxurious and the bathroom is amazing - even the toiletries are fantastic.
New magazines are left in the room for you to read and you get a complimentary newspaper in the morning.
Staff are really friendly.
The first time we had a great view towards Port Phillip Bay - the second time we had a view of the carpark. Unfortunately I can't remember the room number with the better view.
The only negative is that the first time we stayed at Metropol (shortly after it opened) we went in to our room and there was a horrible smell. We checked the bathroom and there was a giant sickly looking poo floating in the toilet. Obviously the cleaner was feeling ill and just decided to go. We just flushed it but I wished we told reception and asked to get free entry to the top floor bar!
This isn't what you would expect from a luxury hotel but I didn't hold it against them.

Room Tip: Try to get one looking out towards the bay, rather than a room on a lower level that looks over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#26 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#5 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,740 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Property: Crown Metropol Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,502 - ₹ 35,098
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ostrovok and Prestigia so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing